



## Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement

#### **Award Profile:**

The Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement is the highest scientific award of the American Diabetes Association. Given in memory of Sir Frederick Banting, a medical scientist, doctor and Nobel laureate who is noted as one of the key investigators in the discovery of insulin, the Banting Medal is awarded annually to honor highly meritorious career achievement in the field of diabetes research.

#### **Criteria for Selection:**

- Nominee will have demonstrated highly original, sustained and reproducible scholarship that has made major contributions to the understanding of diabetes, its treatment and/or prevention
- Nominee must have MD, PhD, MD/PhD degree or equivalent.
- Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
- Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.

### **Lecture/Publication of Lecture:**

- Recipient will deliver the Banting Lecture at the 77th Scientific Sessions in San Diego, California; June 9-13, 2017.
- Recipient will be offered the opportunity to publish their lecture in an American Diabetes Association scientific journal.

## Honorarium/Travel/Registration:

- The recipient receives a \$20,000 honorarium.
- Award includes two round-trip coach airfares and hotel accommodations for up to 7-nights and other travel related expenses.
- Includes two complimentary registrations to Scientific Sessions for recipient and guest.

#### **2017 Nomination/Submission Process:**

- 2017 nominations must be submitted using the <u>electronic nomination form</u>. All submissions must be received on or before 8pm ET, August 26, 2016.
- Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.

### All Banting nominations must have the following documents uploaded as one .pdf file:

- Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted. Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
- o Nominee's biography.
- o Nominee's CV with career and publication highlights.
- Annotated list of the nominee's 10 most significant publications.

Questions? Contact Mary Merkin, Senior Manager, Scientific and Medical by email at mmerkin@diabetes.org or call 703-549-1500, ext 1371.

## **Selection:**

The recipient is chosen by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee and approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association, February 2017.

# **Previous Banting Medal Recipients and Lecturers:**

	Elliott P. Joslin, MD	1969	Earl W. Sutherland, MD	2016 Barbara B. Kahn, MD
	William Muhlberg, MD		Robert L. Jackson, MD	
	Fred W. Hipwell, MD		Paul E. Lacy, MD	
	Leonard G. Rowntree, MD	1971	George F. Cahill, Jr., MD	
1946	25 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Insulin		William R. Kirtley, MD	
	Program		Dorothy C. Hodgkin, PhD	
	Bernardo A. Houssay, MD		Arnold Lazarow, MD, PhD	
	H.C. Hagedorn, MD		Albert E. Renold, MD	
	R.D. Lawrence, MD		Roger H. Unger, MD	
	Eugene Opie, MD		Donald F. Steiner, MD	
<b>_</b>	University of Toronto		David M. Kipnis, MD	
	G.H.A. Clowes, PhD		Stefan S. Fajans, MD	
	Rollin T. Woodyatt, MD		Charles R. Park, MD	
1949	Herbert M. Evans, MD		Norbert Freinkel, MD	
40.70	Frederick M. Allen, MD		Lelio Orci, MD	
	F.G. Young, DCs		Jesse Roth, MD	
	C.N.H. Long, MD		Arthur H. Rubenstein, MD	
	R.R. Bensley, MD		Daniel W. Foster, MD	
1953	Shields Warren, MD		Bjorn Nerup, MD	
	Walter R. Campbell, MD		Albert I. Winegrad, MD	
1051	A. Almon Fletcher, MD		Joseph Larner, MD, PhD	
	Sir Henry H. Dale		Gerald M. Reaven, MD	
1955	Carl F. Cori, MD		Ora Rosen, MD	
1056	Eugene F. DuBois, MD		Daniel Porte, Jr., MD	
	William C. Stadie, MD		M laden Vranic, MD	
1957	DeWitt Stetten, Jr., MD, PhD		Gian Franco Bottazzo, MD	
1050	John R. Murlin, PhD, DSc		C. Ronald Kahn, MD	
1938	Jerome W. Conn, MD		Philip E. Cryer, MD	
1050	William H. Olmsted, MD		Franz M. Matschinsky, MD, PhD	
1939	George W. Thorn, MD E.T. Bell, MD		Peter H. Bennett, MB, PhD Alan D. Cherrington, PhD	
1060	Priscilla White, MD		Jerrold M. Olefsky, MD	
1700	J.P. Collip, MD		Anthony Cerami, PhD	
1061	Rachmiel Levine, MD		Michael P. Czech, PhD	
	A. Baird Hastings, PhD		J. Denis McGarry, PhD	
	Bernardo A. Houssay, MD		Samuel W. Cushman, PhD	
1703	Garfield G. Duncan, MD		Aldo A. Rossini, MD	
1964	Francis D.W. Lukens, MD		Michael A. Brownlee, MD	
1701	Moses Barron, MD		Jeffrey S. Flier, MD	
	Professor Joseph P. Hoet		Richard N. Bergman, PhD	
	Leland S. McKittrick, MD		Robert S. Sherwin, MD	
	Peter J. Maloney, PhD		Ralph A. DeFronzo, MD	
	David A. Scott, PhD		George S. Eisenbarth, MD, PhD	
	Ernst Wertheimer, MD		Robert A. Rizza, MD	
1965	Solomon A. Berson, MD		Barbara E. Corkey, PhD	
	I. Arthur Mirsky, MD		Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD	
1966	Robert H. Williams, MD		Graeme I. Bell, PhD	
	Alexander Marble, MD		Daniel J. Drucker, MD	
	Arthur R. Colwell, MD		Philipp E. Scherer, PhD	