NEW HAVEN, Conn. -- The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of 40 players to watch for its 2011 Walter Camp Award, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade which goes to the FBS player of the year.

Two players from the Pac-12 who were finalists for the 2010 Player of the Year award – Oregon running back LaMichael James and Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck – lead this year’s Walter Camp watch list. James, who rushed for 1,731 yards and 21 touchdowns as a sophomore, was a Walter Camp first-team All-American last season, while Luck was named to the second team after passing for 3,338 yards and 32 touchdowns.

In addition to James and Luck, nine players who have been previously selected a Walter Camp All-American are included on the 2011 watch list, including a pair of Big 12 wide receivers in Justin Blackmon (Oklahoma State) and Ryan Broyles (Oklahoma).

“We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,” Foundation president John Marks said. “This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.”

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2011 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 120 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced Dec. 8. The winner will then receive his trophy at the foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Jan. 14.

Walter Camp, known as the father of American football, first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to 11 men per side.

2011 Walter Camp Award Watch List
Player Position School Player Position School
Matt Barkley QB USC Landry Jones QB Oklahoma
Justin Blackmon WR Oklahoma State Case Keenum QB Houston
Ryan Broyles WR Oklahoma Luke Kuechly LB Boston College
Vontaze Burfict LB Arizona State Marcus Lattimore RB South Carolina
Tank Carder LB TCU Robert Lester DB Alabama
Quinton Coples DE North Carolina Brandon Lindsey DE Pittsburgh
Kirk Cousins QB Michigan State Andrew Luck QB Stanford
Jared Crick DT Nebraska Jonathan Massaquoi DE Troy
Knile Davis RB Arkansas Bryant Moniz QB Hawaii
Michael Egnew TE Missouri Kellen Moore QB Boise State
Michael Floyd WR Notre Dame Aaron Murray QB Georgia
Jeff Fuller WR Texas A&M; Eric Page WR/KR Toledo
Robert Griffin III QB Baylor Dan Persa QB Northwestern
Chandler Harnish QB Northern Illinois Chris Polk RB Washington
Ronnie Hillman RB San Diego State Trent Richardson RB Alabama
Jayron Hosley DB Virginia Tech Denard Robinson QB Michigan
LaMichael James RB Oregon Geno Smith QB West Virginia
Alshon Jeffery WR South Carolina Darron Thomas QB Oregon
Brandon Jenkins DT Florida State Brandon Weeden QB Oklahoma State
Damarais Johnson WR Tulsa James White RB Wisconsin