UPA Rules Quiz

From Ultipedia

Jump to: navigation, search

[edit] Introduction

  • While this is a quiz based on the UPA_Rules_of_Ultimate, it is in no way officially affiliated with the UPA organization.
  • There are ~16 questions and it should take less than 10 minutes or so.
  • References to the rules in question are provided after you finish your quiz.
  • For more background, here is an extensive discussion related to this quiz on RSD.

[edit] Quiz

1. It is legal to contest a 'Pick' call.

true
false
The 11th edition explicitly acknowledges that any infraction can be contested - see XVI.B (Note: Unless the Defensive Player retracts their call the outcome of the play remains the same, contested pick or uncontested pick.

2. A defensive player is marking an offensive player with the disc. The defensive player gets to 'Five' in the stall count when the offensive player calls out 'disc space'. The defensive player agrees with the call and should :

step back and continue counting from 'One'
step back and continue counting from 'Four'
step back and continue counting from 'Five'
step back and continue counting from 'Six'
see section XIV.B.3 and XIV.B.7 - "When a marking violation is called, play does not stop. The violation must be corrected before the marker can resume the stall count with the number last uttered before the call minus one".

3. The disc stops on the sideline after an incomplete pass. A player for the team to play offense stretches out so his feet are five feet apart then picks up the disc. The offensive player has a choice of which foot to use as a pivot when bringing the disc back into play.

true
false
False. XIII.A.2. "If possession is gained at the spot where the disc is to be put into play, the thrower must establish a pivot at the spot of the disc."

4. A handler throws a very low pass to a receiver who manages to snag the disc. A defensive player calls the disc 'down' since she saw the disc brush the grass before possession was gained. The offensive player states that he was watching the disc the whole time and adamantly denies the disc brushed the grass, suggesting perhaps the wind from the low pass moved the grass. None of the other players had a good view of what happened. What is the correct resolution when an agreement cannot be reached ?

do it over again (back to the player who threw the disputed pass).
defensive calls override offensive when it comes to disc up/down.
the offensive player was closer to the disc, therefor had best perspective and makes the call.
XVI.D "If a dispute arises concerning an infraction or the outcome of a play (e.g., a catch where no one had a good perspective), and the teams cannot come to a satisfactory resolution, play stops, and the disc is returned to the thrower and put into play with a check (VIII.D), with the count reached plus one or at six if over five."

5. The receiver of a pass has final say on whether she is in or out of bounds on a reception.

true
false
The player with the best perspective makes the call. See II.A, XI.C, XV.E, and XVI.D

6. An offensive player cuts down the field and makes a diving bid for the disc. She catches the disc and her feet land in the endzone before she slides out of bounds. Near the end of her slide, her opponent's bag (off the field) knocks the disc out of her hands before she gets up.

Point
Receiver gets the disc on the goal line
Incomplete pass
see sections are II.O.2 "Loss of possession due to ground contact related to a catch negates that player’s possession up to that point.", XI.A "A goal is scored when an in-bounds player catches any legal pass in the end zone of attack, and retains possession of the disc throughout all ground contact related to the catch." In II.F 'Ground Contact' is defined as "All player contact with the ground directly related to a specific event or maneuver (e.g., jumping, diving, leaning or falling), including landing or recovering after being off-balance. Items on the ground are considered part of the ground".

7. The offense (team A) sends a striker deep and the handler hucks the disc to them. The deep defender (team B) manages to sky the offensive player and catch the disc. The defender then puts the disc on the ground and sprints to get into cutting position.

the D stands - team B keeps possession
double turnover - team A gets the disc where the team B player dropped it
see section II.T.2 An intentionally dropped disc is considered a thrown disc.

8. Any uncontested foul committed by a defender that affects an attempted reception in the endzone results in a point.

true
false
Only an uncontested defensive foul that results in loss of possession is a point. see XI.A.2

9. When initiating a stall count there must be a full second between announcing 'Stalling' and 'One'.

true
false
There must be a second between each number in the count, but not after the initial 'Stalling' see XIV.A

10. It is valid for a thrower to call a 'Fast Count' violation if their marker did not initiate the stall count with the word 'Stalling'.

true
false
see XIV.B.1.a If the marker does not say 'stalling' to initiate or resume a stall count, counts at intervals of less than one second, or skips a number in the count, it is a fast count.

11. Offensive player receives the disc while running at high speed, does not change direction but fakes a throw then delivers a quick pass before his third step after catching. Can 'travel' legitimately be called?

yes
no
see section II.M and XV.C - Normally a fake requires a player with the disc to commit to a pivot, but XV.C explicitly makes an exception If a player catches the disc while running or jumping the player may release a pass without attempting to stop and without setting a pivot, provided that..

12. It is a violation to not verify that one's reception was in bounds when an opposing player calls "Check Feet".

true
false
"Check Feet" is not a call in Ultimate. If a player believes that the reception was out of bounds and believes they had best perspective, they should simply call the player "out".

13. A dead disc is when play has stopped. Is there possibility of turnover?

yes
no
see section II.R.3

14. An offensive player catches a disc while heading towards the sideline at full sprint. Her momentum takes her out of bounds where she falls. After regaining her composure, she jogs back to the sideline and establishes a pivot. A player on defense, waiting at the sideline where the offensive receiver went out, had started counting and is at stall 'six' when the offensive player establishes her pivot.

The offensive player may call 'fast count'.
The defensive player is playing according to the rules.
A defensive player can start the stall count as soon as the offensive player gains possession. There are two key sections of the rules that come into play here - sections XIV.A.2 "Only the marker may initiate or continue a stall count, and may do so anytime a thrower has possession of a disc that is live or in play.." and II.K "Marker: The defensive player within three meters of the thrower’s pivot or of the thrower if no pivot has been established. If the disc is not in play, a defensive player within three meters of a spot on the field where the disc is to be put into play is considered the marker."
This is actually not correct. The rule XIV.A.2 does not apply because the disc may be "live", but is not "in play". When the player does out of bounds the disc is no longer in play (i.e. he cannot make a throw from there). The disc must be checked and a pivot established for it to be "in play". II.R.1 clearly states "A disc is in play when play may proceed without the defense's acknowledgment. An in-bounds disc on the playing field is in play."
The rules state that the marker may stall if "the thrower has possession of a disc that is live OR in play" so in this case, though the disc is not in play, it is live and according to the rules the marker may begin stalling. So this answer is correct.

15. If you commit a foul, you should always call it yourself.

true
false
A player should never call a foul on themselves. See XVI.A "An infraction may only be called by a player on the infracted team who recognizes that it has occurred.." though XIX.A (Etiquette) states "If an infraction is committed and not called, the player committing the infraction should inform the infracted player or team of the infraction."

16. A huck goes up to a receiver who was at midfield when the throw was released, the disc floats over the endzone and the receiver and a defender go up for it, but miss. The receiver calls foul, and the defender contests. The disc returns to the thrower. Where do the receiver and defender set up before the disc is put back into play by the thrower?

At the spot of the foul.
At the goal line.
Where they were when the throw went off.
Players should return to where they were at the earlier of the foul call or the throw. In this case, they should return to midfield (keeping the same relative distance to each other) where they were when the throw went off. See XVI.C.4.b.1. "Positioning after a call: If a pass is thrown or attempted before the thrower acknowledges the call or the call is made after the throwing attempt, and if possession reverts to the thrower, all players return to the locations they occupied at the earlier of: the time of the throw, or the time of the call. If the result of a play stands, players return to the locations they occupied when play stopped."

Your score is 0 / 0
Personal tools