Iodice, Kristina. "Teens win scholarhsip with innovative backpack chair". The Gazette. October 30, 2010. 

Delgado, Lisa. "New Program Probes Intersection of Architecture and Sculpture". Architectural Record. Departments; Pg. 42 Vol. 198 No. 9. September 2010. Available at LexisNexis.

Blake, Peter. "Architecture: plain or fancy? collaboration between contemporary architects, painters and sculptors". Design Quarterly no. 30 (1954) p. 23-8. Available at Wilson Web. 

"Art Forms in Architecture - to be, or not to be?" Architectural Record. Trends; Pg. 80-85 Vol. 87. May 1940. Available in bound journals at E/A Library (NA1 .A67). 

"Art: Architects' Furniture". TIME. Monday, Feb. 18, 1957.

CUArch

CUA Libraries Home Page

Mullen Stacks Map

Campus Map

RefWorks

Library Tutorial

What is this Guide about?

Architects don't just design buildings they work in all types of art mediums in order to create design aesthetics.  Users will find resource recommendations that focus on other aspects of art that influence architectural design.  Additionally, this guide focuses on resources that highlight other creations developed by known Architects. 

For instance, did you know that Frank Lloyd Wright designed stained glass?  Or that Zaha Hadid is a fashion designer for shoes?  What about Eames and their sculptures and chairs? Or Le Corbusier with his paintings?  And did you know that Mies van der Rohe is well known for his furniture collections and designs? 

What can I expect to find in this Guide?

The "home" tab of this guide provides a general overview, highlights articles that focus on art and architecture, provides general library information, definitions, and much more!  Make sure you leave a comment or suggestion so we can continually add great resources to share.

The "reference resources" tab walks you through a search for information regarding art and architecture as well as provides information regarding the catalog, databases, eJournals and more that is housed or hosted by the CUA Libraries.  Also, this section has a drop down menu of resource formats such as: Books & E-Books, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Databases, Journals, and Internet Resources.

The  "Beyond Buildings" tab highlights other areas of design that influences architecture.  Some of these areas include landscaping, light, interior/exterior design, color and more.

The next next five tabs are "Architect Spotlights" which include: Charles and Ray Eames, Frank Lloyd Wright, Le Corbusier, Zaha Hadid, and Mies van der Rohe. You will find a biography, pictures, art mediums, and more on each page.  These tabs are intended to extend your knowledge about the Architect and browse the many dimensions in which each person has created art and architectural designs.

Defining Design!

aesthetic: "pertaining to sensuous perception, received by the senses or pertaining to the appreciation" or "criticism of the beautiful"

beauty: "combined perfection of form and charm of colouring as affords keen pleasure to the sense of sight"

composition: "art of disposing or arranging in due order the parts of a work of art...of a drawing or painting, so as to form a harmonious whole"

depiction: "action of depicting; painted representation, picture; graphic description"

conception: "which is conceived in the mind; an idea, notion"

perspective: "senses relating to light, vision, and visualization"

figure: "form of anything as determined by the outline; external form; shape generally"

form: "shape, arrangement of parts"

illustration: "action of making or fact of being made illustrious, brilliant, or distinguished; distinction"

objective: "senses relating to objects, their function, and perception"

creation: "action of making, forming, producing, or bringing into existence"

contrive: "invent, devise, excogitate with ingenuity and cleverness "

sense: "faculty of perception or sensation"

*definitions found in the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) on-line

"The Robotic Chair (1984 - 2006) is a generic-looking wooden chair with the capacity to fall apart and put itself back together. With shuddering force the chair collapses to the floor then with persistence and determination proceeds to seek out its parts and upright itself. The Robotic Chair is distinguished in the world of objects for its capacity to elicit empathy, compassion and hope."