No.C-12017/48/2008-CS-III Government of India Ministry of Environment & Forests CS Division

Paryavaran Bhavan C.G.O.Complx, Lodi Road New Delhi-110003

Dated: 11.03.2013

OFFICE ORDER

Subject: Reconstitution of the Genetic Engineering Appraisal Committee (GEAC)

In accordance with Section (4), sub section (i) to (iv) of the notification No.GSR 1307 (e) dated 5th December, 1989 of the 'Rules for the Manufacture, use/Import/Export and Storage of Hazardous Microorganisms/Genetically Engineering Organisms or Cells, 1989' (known as Rules, 1989), notified under the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, the Ministry of Environment and Forests hereby, reconstitutes the GEAC as follows:

1.	Shri Hem Pande Additional Secretary Ministry of Environment & Forests CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003 Prof. Sudhir Kumar Sopory,	Chairman Co-Chairman	
	Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi -110067		
3.	Joint Secretary in Charge (Bio-safety) Ministry of Environment & Forests CGO Complex, Lodhi Road New Delhi-1100003	Vice Chairman	
Independent Outside Experts			
4.	Prof. C. R. Babu, Centre for Environmental Management of Degraded Ecosystems, School of Environmental Studies, University of Delhi, Delhi-1100007	Member	
5.	Dr. B. Sesikeran, Former Director, National Institute of Nutrition, Flat# 105, Sumeda Apartments, Kakathiya Nagar, Street # 2, Habsiguda Hyderabad - 500007	Member	
6.	Dr. S. S. Banga, National Professor (ICAR), Department of Plant Breeding & Genetics, Punjab Agriculture University, Ludhiana–141004	Member	
	Member – Ministerial/Departmental Nominee		
7.	Shri K. K. Sinha, Industrial Advisor, Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion, Ministry of Commerce &	Member	

	Industry, Udyog Bhawan, New Delhi -110107.	
8.	Representative of Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology Block-2, 7th Floor, C.G.O. Complex, Lodi Road, New Delhi—110 003	Member
9.	Dr. S. K.Apte, Associate Director, Bio-Medical Group and Head, Molecular Biology Division, Baba Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai 400 086.	Member
	Expert Members—Institutional Nominee	
10.	Dr. Swapan Kumar Datta, Deputy Director General (Crop Science) Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.	Member
11.	Dr K Satyanarayan, Scientist G, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) Ministry of Health and Family Welfare V Ramalingaswami Bhavan, Ansari Nagar New Delhi 110029	Member
12.	Dr. Ramesh V. Sonti, Chief Scientist, CSIR Centre for cellular & Molutar Biology (CSI-CCMB), Uppal Road, Hyderabad-500007.	Member
13.	Mrs. Swati Srivastava, Assistant Drugs Controller (India), Central Drugs Standard Control Organization, FDA Bhawan, Kotla Road, New Delhi-110002.	Member
14.	Dr. A K Sinha, Plant Protection Advisor, Directorate of Plant Protection Quarantine & Storage (DPPQS), N.H-IV,FARIDABAD 121 001	Member
15.	Chairman, Central Pollution Control Board, Parivesh Bhawan, CBD-cum-Office Complex, East Arjun Nagar, DELHI - 110 032	Member
	Member Secretary	
16.	Dr. Ranjini Warrier, Director, Ministry of Environment & Forests, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road New Delhi-11003	Member Secretary

2. The Terms of Reference of the GEAC are:

i) The Committee shall function as a Statutory Body under the Ministry of Environment & Forests for approval of activities involving large-scale use of hazardous living microorganisms and recombinants in research and industrial production from the environmental angle as per the provisions of rules 1989.

- ii) The Committee shall also be responsible for approval of proposal relating to release of genetically engineered organisms and products into the environment including experimental field trials as per the provisions of Rules, 1989.
- iii) The Committee shall be responsible for approval of proposals involving the use of living modified organism falling in the risk category III and above in the manufacture/import of recombinant Pharma products or where the end product of the recombinant Pharma products per se is a living modified organism.
- iv) The Committee may co-opt other members/experts to the GEAC in accordance with the provisions of Section 4, para 3 of the Rules, 1989 as necessary.
- v) The Committee may also appoint subgroups/sub-committees/expert committee to undertake specific activities related to compliance of biosafety.
- vi) One third members of the GEAC will constitute the quorum for convening the meeting.
- vii) The members of the GEAC will be required to sign a 'Statement of Declaration of Independence' and 'Statement of Confidentiality' (as per enclosed proforma).

3. Tenure

The Committee shall function for a period of three year from the date of issue of this notification.

4. Other Experts

With the approval of the Chairman GEAC, if required, representative of other Ministries and other experts may be invited as 'Special Invitees' to participate in the meeting of the GEAC depending on the issues to be discussed.

5. Entitlement to non-official Members

The non-official members of the GEAC will be entitled for TA/DA including air fare as per their entitlement as per SR 190 and sitting charges of Rs. 1000/per day for attending the meeting.

This is issued with the approval of the Competent Authority in the Ministry of Environment and Forests and with concurrence of Internal Finance Division (IFD) vides their F.No.I-43/2012-IFD dated 18th January, 2013.

(Dr. Ranjini Warrier)
Director

All Members of the GEAC

Copy to:

- 1. Pay and Account Officer, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Paryavaran Bhavan, CGO Complex, Lodi Road, New Delhi.
- Cash Section, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Paryavaran Bhavan, CGO Complex, Lodi Road, New Delhi.

- 3. Accounts Section, Ministry of Environment & Forests, Paryavaran Bhavan, CGO Complex, Lodi Road, New Delhi.
- Director of Audit, Commerce, Works and Miscellaneous to AGCR building, IP Estate, New Delhi-110002
- 4. PPS to MOS (I/C) E&F/ PPS to Secretary E&F
- 5. Sanction File.
- 7. Sanction Register

(Dr. Ranjini Warrier) Director