ASSEMBLY OF EXPERTS ELECTION RESULTS BY PROVINCE, MARCH 2016

Note: Italics indicate incumbents

East Azerbaijan: 5 seats. 6 approved candidates. 2,909,208 eligible voters. 1,790,789* ballots cast.

- 1. Mohsen Mojtahed Shabestari 743,811 votes
- 2. Ali Malekuti 688,700
- 3. Mohammad Taqi Pour Mohammadi 570,445
- 4. Hashem Hashemzadeh Harisi 476,888
- 5. *Mohammad Fizi* 415,041

West Azerbaijan: 3 seats. 3 approved** candidates. 2,296,591 eligible voters. 1,511,652 ballots cast.

- 1. Sayyed Ali Akbar Qureshi 822,027 votes
- 2. *Asghar Dirbaz* 397,407
- 3. Javad Mojtahed Shabestari 247,240

Ardabil: 2 seats. 2 approved candidates. 998,499 eligible voters. 612,320 ballots cast.

- 1. Sayyed Hassan Ameli Kalkhoran 382,854 votes
- 2. Mirfakhredini Mousavi Neneh Karan 257,462

Esfahan: 5 seats. 14 approved candidates. 3,445,298 eligible voters. 1,976,061 ballots cast.

- 1. Ayatollah Yusef Tabatabainejad 1,041,564 votes
- 2. Sayyed Abu al Hassan Mahdavi 840,238
- 3. Morteza Megtedai 825,371
- 4. Abdul Alanbi Namazi 822,961
- 5. Abdul Ahmad Abdullahi 491,974

Alborz: 2 seats. 6 approved candidates. 1,480,131 eligible voters. 800,275 ballots cast.

- 1. Mohammad Bagher Bagheri 348,431 votes (previously represented Tehran)
- 2. Mohsen Kazrunbarz 282,856 (previously represented Tehran)

Ilam: 1 seat. 2 approved candidates. 434,636 eligible voters. 323,811 ballots cast.

1. Sayyed Mohsen Saiidi Golpayegani 136,919 votes

Bushehr: 1 seat. 1 approved candidate. 691,406 eligible voters. 467,945* ballots cast.

1. Sayyed Hashem Husseini Bushehri 374,137 votes

Tehran: 16 seats. 33 approved candidates. 8,475,077 eligible voters. 4,178,524 ballots cast.

- 1. Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani 2,301,492 votes
- 2. Muhammad Emami Kashani 2,286,483
- 3. *Hassan Rouhani* 2,238,166
- 4. Mohsen Qomi 2,229,759
- 5. Muhammad Ali Muvahedi Kermani 2,134,963 (previously represented Kerman)
- 6. Qorbanali Dorri Najaf Abadi 2,056,427
- 7. Sayyed Abu al-Fazl Mir Mohammadi 1,962,944 (previously represented Markazi)
- 8. Mohammad Mohammadi Reishahri 1,952,563 (was in 2nd and 3rd assemblies)
- 9. Ebrahim Haj Amini Najaf Abadi 1,904,524
- 10. Sayyed Mahmoud Alavi 1,706,855
- 11. Nasrallah Shah Abadi 1,445,142

- 12. Mohammad Ali Taskhiri 1,442,224
- 13. Mohsen Esmaili 1,422,935
- 14. Mohammad Hassan Zali 1,354,756
- 15. Sayyed Hashemi Bethai 1,324,344
- 16. Ahmad Jannati 1,321,130

Runners-up

- 1. Mohammad Yazdi
- 2. Sayyed Mohammad Sejadi Eta Abadi
- 3. Taqi Mesbah Yazdi
- 4. Mohammad Bagher Bagheri
- 5. Ali Mumen Pour
- 6. Ghulam Reza Mesbahi Mugadam
- 7. Ali Reza Erafi
- 8. Abbas Ali Ekhtari
- 9. Sayyed Mohammad Reza Modaressi Mesali

Chaharmahol and Bakhtiari: 1 seat. 3 approved candidates. 702,623 eligible voters. 472,536 ballots cast.

1. Ali Reza Eslamiyan 250,746 votes

South Khorasan: 1 seat. 2 approved candidates. 598,205 eligible voters. 430,930 ballots cast.

1. Sayyed Ebrahim Raisi al-Sadat 325,077 votes

Razavi Khorasan: 6 seats. 10 approved candidates. 4,420,718 eligible voters. 2,780,639* ballots cast.

- 1. Mahmoud Hashemi Shahroudi 1,499,109 votes
- 2. Hassan Alemi 1,285,990
- 3. Sayyed Ahmad Alam al-Hoda 1,235,565
- 4. Sayyed Ahmad Hosseini 1,180,249
- 5. Sayyed Mojtaba Hosseini 897,028
- 6. Mohammad Mehdi Abad al-Khodai 873,143

North Khorasan: 1 seat. 1 approved candidate. 624,300 eligible voters. 448,355* ballots cast.

1. Habibollah Mehman Navaz 176,136 votes

Khuzestan: 6 seats. 7 candidates. 3,447,959 eligible voters. 1,993,259 ballots cast.

- 1. Seyed Mohammad Ali Mousavi 784,004 votes
- 2. Abbas Kaabi 713,521
- 3. Mohsen Heidari al-Kaisari 668,417
- 4. Sayyed Ali Shafii 609,294
- 5. Abdul Karim Farhani 551,502
- 6. Mohammad Hussein Ahmadi Shahroudi 448,825

Zanjan: 1 seat. 4 approved candidates. 775,820 eligible voters. 525,458* ballots cast.

1. Mohammad Haji Abul Qassem Dulabi 193,558 votes

Semnan: 1 seat. 1 approved candidate. 494,712 eligible voters. 325,049 ballots allowed.

1. Sayyed Mohammad Shah Cheraghi 224,215 votes

Sistan and Baluchestan: 2 seats. 3 approved candidates. 1,685,760 eligible voters. 1,117,261 ballots cast.

- 1. Ali Ahmad Salami 732,289 votes
- 2. Abbas Ali Soleimani 417,867

Fars: 5 seats. 8 approved candidates. 3,374,243 eligible voters. 2,151,847 ballots cast.

- 1. Sayyed Ali Asghar Dastgheib 1,537,081 votes
- 2. Ahmad Beheshti 1,023,064
- 3. Asadullah Aimani 955,206
- 4. Sayyed Mohammad Ali Faqih 560,614
- 5. Ali Akbar Kelantari 555,939

Qazvin: 2 seats. 3 approved candidates. 887,164 eligible voters. 539,925 ballots cast.

- 1. Ali Eslami 291,046 votes
- 2. Mujid Talkhabi 209,739

Qom: 1 seat. 3 approved candidates. 768,730 eligible voters. 470,013* ballots cast.

1. Mohammad Daneshzadeh Momen 331,149 votes

Kurdistan: 2 seats. 4 approved candidates. 1,161,537 eligible voters. 620,458 ballots cast.

- 1. Faiq Rostami 142,954 votes
- 2. Sayyed Mohammad Husseini Shahroudi 133,376

Kerman: 3 seats. 5 approved candidates. 2,830,878 eligible voters. 1,310,234 ballots cast.

- 1. Sayyed Ahmad Khatami 701,972 votes
- 2. Mohammad Bahrami Khoshkar 672,608
- 3. Aman-allah Alimoradi 559,656

Kermanshah: 2 seats. 4 approved candidates. 1,507,595 eligible voters. 899,981 ballots cast.

- 1. Aman Narimani 384,788 votes
- 2. Mohammad Mohammadi 270,904

Kohgiluyeh and Boyer-Ahmad: 1 seat. 2 approved candidates. 518,811 eligible voters. 400,617 ballots cast.

1. Sayyed Sharaf al-Din Malek Husseini 327,864 votes

Golestan: 2 seats. 3 approved candidates. 1,288,536 eligible voters. 916,357* ballots cast.

- 1. Sayyed Kazem Nurmufidi 514,572 votes
- 2. Abdul Hadi Morteza Shahroudi 394,920

Gilan: 4 seats, 7 approved candidates. 1,861,370 eligible voters. 1,173,241* ballots cast

- 1. Seyed Ali Hosseini Eshkevari 354,918 votes
- 2. Zine al-Abedin Qorbani 331,283
- 3. Reza Ramazani 330,606
- 4. Ahmad Parvai Rik 305,073

Lorestan: 2 seats. 3 approved candidates. 1,409,036 eligible voters. 884,144 ballots cast.

- 1. Ahmad Mablaghi 400,732 votes
- 2. Hashem Niazi 382,523

Mazandaran: 4 seats. 8 approved candidates. 2,235,636 eligible voters. 1,618,263* ballots cast.

- 1. Sadeq Larijani 682,817 votes
- 2. Nurullah Tabressi 612,673
- 3. Ali Moalemi 556,750
- 4. Sayyed Rahim Tavakol 488,817

Markazi: 2 seats. 5 approved candidates. 1,047,670 eligible voters. 634,545 ballots cast.

- 1. Mohsen Mohammadi Iraqi 242,146 votes
- 2. Ahmad Mohseni Gerkani 207,655

Hormozgan: 1 seat. 1 approved candidate. 1,119,093 eligible voters. 763,152 ballots cast.

1. Sayyed Ruhollah Sadr al-Saadati 420,699 votes

Hamedan: 2 seats. 4 approved candidates. 1,505,279 eligible voters. 845,253 ballots allowed.

- 1. Sayyed Mustafa Mousavi-Faraz 441,321 votes
- 2. Ghias al-Din Teh Mohammadi 319,656

Yazd: 1 seat. 3 approved candidates. 665,504 eligible voters. 493,970 ballots cast.

1. Abul-Qasem Vafi 328,206 votes

- * Indicates where Fars News and provincial news agency sources were used to correct obvious errors in the Ministry of Interior's data.
- ** Approved candidate figures are based on information provided by the Interior Ministry's original approved candidate list, published February 10, 2016. In some provinces, candidates were added to the race beyond those on the ministry's list; in West Azerbaijan, for example, Shabestari won a seat despite not appearing on the original list.

Copyright 2016 The Washington Institute for Near East Policy