

Crossbench Hereditary Peers' By-election, May 2008: Result

In the by-election following the death of Baroness Darcy de Knayth, a total of 26 valid votes were cast. There were 0 spoilt ballot papers. 29 Crossbench hereditary peers were eligible to vote. Of the 33 candidates, 8 received one or more first-preference votes. After 5 transfers of votes, the voting for the final 2 candidates was as follows:

Earl of Clancarty	10
Earl of Stair	14

The successful candidate was therefore the Earl of Stair.

Overleaf are details of the votes cast for each candidate at each stage of the count. The lefthand column lists all 33 candidates. The next column shows the number of first-preference votes for each candidate. Subsequent columns (which are numbered) show the number of votes for each candidate after each transfer of votes from excluded candidates. An **X** in a column shows that the candidate concerned was excluded at that stage. The penultimate row shows the total number of votes at each stage, i.e. after excluding any votes which could not be transferred because no further preference was marked. The last row shows the number of votes required at that stage for a candidate to be elected, i.e. half the total (rounded up).

A note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the alternative vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- If the vote for any one candidate equals or exceeds the votes of all the other candidates combined, that candidate is elected.
- Otherwise the votes for the candidate or candidates with fewest votes are transferred to whichever of the continuing candidates is marked by that voter as their next available preference, and the votes thus transferred are added to the first preference votes of those candidates. The process is repeated until one candidate has as many votes as all the other remaining candidates combined.
- Any paper on which no further preference is marked is set aside as non-transferable.

The poll was supervised and the count was conducted by Electoral Reform Services. Lord Williamson of Horton acted as scrutineer.

22 May 2008

MICHAEL POWNALL Clerk of the Parliaments

Candidate	1st-preference votes	Votes after transfers				
		1	2	3	4	5
L. Aberdare	4	4	4	4	5	Х
E. Alexander of Tunis	0X					
L. Cadman	0X					
L. Carew	0X					
E. Clancarty (V. Clancarty)	7	8	8	9	9	10
L. Clifford of Chudleigh	0X					
E. Cromer	0X					
L. Cromwell	2	3	3	Χ		
L. Darcy de Knayth	2	2	Х			
V. Devonport	3	3	3	3	Х	
E. Effingham	0X					
L. Harlech	0X					
V. Hill	0X					
E. Iveagh	0 X					
E. Kimberley	0 X					
L. Margadale	0X					
V. Massereene and Ferrard (L. Oriel)	0X					
L. Milford	1	Х				
V. Monckton of Brenchley	0X					
L. Napier of Magdala	0X					
L. Oranmore and Browne (L.						
Mereworth)	0 X					
L. Poole	0 X					
L. Revelstoke	0 X					
D. Rutland	0X					
V. Samuel	0 X					
E. Shaftesbury	0X					
E. Stair (L. Oxenfoord)	6	6	7	9	11	14
E. Stockton	0 X					
L. Sudeley	0 X					
L. Terrington	1	Х				
L. Tryon	0 X					
L. Vernon	0X					
L. Wharton	0X					
VOTES EXCLUDED AT EACH STAGE		0	1	0	0	1
		0		0	0	I
TOTAL CONTINUING VOTES AT EACH STAGE	26	26	25	25	25	24
VOTES NEEDED IN ORDER TO BE ELECTED	13	13	13	13	13	12

Viscount Combernere withdrew his candidature after the deadline. His name appeared on the ballot paper but is excluded from the above list.