

Hereditary Peers' By-election, March 2011: Result

In the by-election following the death of Lord Strabolgi, a total of 414 valid votes were cast. There were 2 spoilt ballot papers. 769 Members of the House were eligible to vote. Of the 24 candidates, 20 received one or more first-preference votes. At the first count, Viscount Hanworth received over 50% of the total vote.

Viscount Hanworth

233

The successful candidate was therefore **Viscount Hanworth**.

Overleaf are details of the votes cast for each candidate. The left-hand column lists all 24 candidates. The next column shows the number of first-preference votes for each candidate.

A note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the alternative vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- If the vote for any one candidate equals or exceeds the votes for all the other candidates combined, that candidate is elected.
- Otherwise the votes for the candidate or candidates with fewest votes (or, in the
 event of a tie, fewest first-preference votes) are transferred to whichever of the
 continuing candidates is marked by that voter as their next available preference, and
 the votes thus transferred are added to the first preference votes of those
 candidates. The process is repeated until one candidate has as many votes as all the
 other remaining candidates combined.
- Any paper on which no further preference is marked is set aside as non-transferable.

The poll was supervised and the count was conducted by Electoral Reform Services. Lord Cobbold, Lord Geddes and Lord Tunnicliffe acted as scrutineers.

23 March 2011

Michael Pownall Clerk of the Parliaments

	lst- preference
Candidate	votes
Addison, V. (Conservative)	2
Alexander of Tunis, E. (Conservative)	5
Birdwood, L. (Conservative)	I
Carlisle, E. (Liberal Democrat)	26
Cromer, E. (Crossbench)	I
Cromwell, L. (Crossbench)	8
De Ramsey, L. (Conservative)	24
Gainford, L. (Conservative)	0
Hacking, L. (Crossbench)	24
Hanworth, V. (Labour)	233
Harrowby, E. (Conservative)	17
Hill, V. (Crossbench)	0
Killearn, L. (Conservative)	6
Kinnoull, E. (L. Hay) (Crossbench)	4
Limerick, E. (L. Foxford) (Conservative)	7
Margadale, L. (Conservative)	5
Monkswell, L. (Labour)	21
Ogmore, L. (Liberal Democrat)	4
Parmoor, L. (Crossbench)	0
Rowallan, L. (Conservative)	3
Stockton, E. (Conservative)	20
Sudeley, L. (Conservative)	1
Tryon, L. (Crossbench)	2
Vivian, L. (Conservative)	0
VOTES EXCLUDED AT EACH STAGE	-
TOTAL CONTINUING VOTES AT EACH STAGE	414
VOTES NEEDED IN ORDER TO BE ELECTED	207