Teachers' Retirement System of the State of Illinois



2815 West Washington Street | P.O. Box 19253 | Springfield, Illinois 62794-9253 Richard W. Ingram, Executive Director http://trs.illinois.gov (800) 877-7896 | for the hearing impaired: (866) 326-0087

MINUTES Rules and Personnel Committee May 28, 2014

A meeting of the Rules and Personnel Committee of the Board of Trustees of the Illinois Teachers' Retirement System was held on May 28, 2014 at the Springfield office of the Illinois Teachers' Retirement System, 2815 West Washington Street. Sharon Leggett, Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:28 p.m. A quorum was present.

Roll call attendance was taken with the following committee members present: Sharon Leggett (Chair), Mike Busby (Vice Chair), Cinda Klickna, and Sonia Walwyn. Absent: Rainy Kaplan

Trustees present: Marcia Campbell, Mark Bailey, and Cynthia O'Neill.

Others present: Dick Ingram, Executive Director; Greg Turk, Director of Investments; Deron Bertolo, Director of Investment Operations; Tom Gray, General Counsel; Cynthia Fain, Senior Assistant General Counsel; Gina Larkin, Director of Human Resources; Jana Bergschneider, Director of Administration; Kathleen Farney, Director of Research; Stacy Smith, Director of Internal Audit; Tassi Maton, Sr. Internal Auditor; Christina Baker, Internal Auditor; Dave Urbanek, Director of Communications; Tammy Green, Assistant to the Executive Director; Sue Billington, Executive Assistant; and Pat O'Hara, Cavanagh & O'Hara (Fiduciary Counsel).

Visitors present: Don Davis, IRTA Rep.; Dennis Murfin, IRTA Rep.; Shirley Dodds, IRTA Rep.; and Gayla Dial, IEA-R.

Approval of Minutes

A draft of the minutes from the October 24, 2013 Rules and Personnel Committee meeting was sent to committee members for review. On a motion by Mike Busby, seconded by Sonia Walwyn, and by unanimous voice vote, the minutes were approved as printed.

Minutes – Rules and Personnel Committee May 28, 2014 Page 2

Standing Committees 2014-2015

The committee proposed no changes to the current standing committee roster. A motion was made by Sonia Walwyn, seconded by Mike Busby, that the committee recommend to the Board to accept the FY 15 standing committee roster, as presented. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Vice President: Sharon Leggett

Investment Committee: All trustees; Cynthia O'Neill, Chair; Mike Busby, Vice Chair

Audit Committee: Bob Lyons, Chair; Enrique Vasquez, Vice Chair; Mark Bailey, Marcia Campbell, and Cynthia O'Neill

Legislative Committee: Marcia Campbell, Chair; Cinda Klickna, Vice Chair; Rainy Kaplan, Bob Lyons, and Enrique Vasquez

Rules & Personnel Committee: Sharon Leggett, Chair; Mike Busby, Vice Chair; Rainy Kaplan, Cinda Klickna, and Sonia Walwyn

Claims Hearing Committee: Sonia Walwyn, Chair; Cynthia O'Neill, Vice Chair; Mark Bailey, and Marcia Campbell (alternate)

TRS Administrative Rules

Staff presented revisions to TRS Administrative Rules, Section 1650.410 Return of Contributions for Duplicate or Excess Service. The revisions remove all sections of the rule that involve an alternate refund calculation for members retiring with more than 34 years of service credit. Under the revised rule, staff will calculate all excess service refunds using the 2.2 upgrade refund amount, and no longer calculate the optional service refund for that purpose. Years of service would no longer be reduced and there is no impact on the retirement annuity. Documentation is on file. A motion was made by Sonia Walwyn, seconded by Mike Busby, that the committee recommend to the Board promulgate the proposed revisions to Section 1650.410, as presented. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Minutes – Rules and Personnel Committee May 28, 2014 Page 3

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Cinda Klickna, seconded by Mike Busby, and by unanimous voice vote, the meeting adjourned at 2:48 p.m.

Richard Sugar

Richard W. Ingram, Executive Director

Approved: 8/25/14