Conference Agenda

The conference agenda includes links to videos and pdfs of the presentations.

View the Agenda

Conference Overview

Multipartite Entanglement in Spin System


Q oscillator

Quantum phase transitions

Despite a comprehensive and rapid advance of quantum technologies in recent years with several breakthrough areas emerging there has been no in-depth systematic discussion so far on how the quantum revolution can benefit National Aeronautics Space Administration (NASA) missions and objectives. This conference aims to bring together NASA scientists with the best quantum technology experts from academia, government and industry to identify the areas and challenges in Space Exploration, Aeronautics, Earth and Space Science where quantum technologies can have the greatest impact. The conference will focus on 3 areas: Quantum Measurement (QM), Quantum Computing (QC) and Quantum cryptography and key distribution (QK).

The conference topics will include theoretical understanding of measurement precision bounds offered by quantum correlations under realistic conditions of noise and decoherence; the development of next generation quantum instruments for measurements of time and distance, navigation, field sensing, and gravity wave detection, including the challenges of moving beyond laboratory prototypes.

The conference will also focus on quantum algorithms and scalable quantum computing architectures to address the need for a dramatic increase in computational power and data storage at low energy and spatial scales to address challenges in Space Exploration, Aeronautics and Space and Earth Science. The target application areas for NASA include software and hardware validation and verification, image processing, pattern recognition, anomaly detection, data mining, automation, planning, and scheduling and system diagnostics in fully autonomous regime for Deep Space and planetary missions, robot navigation, precision landing, aviation safety, air traffic control and others.

The final topic area, Quantum Cryptography, specifically Quantum key distribution protocols based on both discrete and continuous variables, encompasses technologies that promise completely secure communication. The motive for NASA is practical and secure transmission over long distances, including fiber channels and Earth-Satellite links through a turbulent atmosphere.

Invited Speakers

    • Rana Adhikari
    • Mohammad Amin
      (D-Wave Systems)
    • Alan Aspuru-Guzik
      (Harvard University)
    • Nicholas Brunner
      (University of Bristol, UK)
    • Carlton Caves
      (University of New Mexico)
    • Andrew Childs
      (University of Waterloo)
    • Susan Coppersmith
      (University of Wisconsin)
    • Rafal Demkowicz-Dobrzanski
      (University of Warsaw, Poland)
    • Jonathan Dowling
      (Louisiana State University)
    • Mark A. Eriksson
      (University of Wisconsin)
    • Edward Farhi
    • William Farr
    • Frank Gaitan
      (Laboratory of Physical Science)
    • Stephen Jordan
    • Mark Kasevich
      (Stanford University)
    • Andrew Landahl
      (Sandia National Laboratories)
    • Daniel Lidar
    • Daniel Loss
      (University of Basel)
    • Alfredo Luis
      (University of Madrid, Spain)
    • Lorenzo Maccone
      (University of Pavia, Italy)
    • David Meyer
    • Alan Migdall
      (NIST, Gaithersburg)
    • Cristopher Moore
      (University of New Mexico & Santa Fe Institute)
    • Eamonn Murphy
      (European Space Agency)
    • Hartmut Neven
    • Jeremy O'Brien
      (University of Bristol, UK)
    • Matteo Paris
      (Milan University, Italy)
    • Geoff Pryde
      (Griffith, Australia)
    • Jérémie Roland
    • Geordie Rose
      (D-Wave Systems)
    • Mark Saffman
      (University of Wisconsin)
    • Roman Schnabel
      (Max-Planck, Hannover, Germany)
    • Ralf Schutzhold
      (Duisburg-Essen, Essen, Germany)
    • Vikram Sharma
    • Peter Shor
    • Irfan Siddiqi
      (UC Berkeley)
    • Rolando Somma
      (Los Alamos National Labs)
    • Rupert Ursin
      (Austrian Academy of Science)
    • Wim van Dam
    • Paolo Villoresi
      (University of Padua)
    • Andrew White
      (University of Queensland)
    • Colin Williams
    • Howard Wiseman
      (Griffith, Queensland)
    • Peter Young
    • Nan Yu