Home Locations Glossary

Welcome to the website for the Superior Court of Madera County.
Madera Superior Court 






Madera County lies just south of Yosemite Valley and is comprised of 2,147 square miles. The population is approximately 132,000 people. The county includes four areas that have their own distinct cultures as well as needs. These areas include the incorporated cities of Madera and Chowchilla. Madera County also includes the unincorporated communities of Madera Ranchos in addition to those of the eastern section of the county, including Oakhurst, Coarsegold, and North Fork . The geography of the county encompasses high, rugged country in the Sierra Nevada Mountains to level farming and industrial land on the valley floor.

The Superior Court of California, Madera County is a unified superior court, served by nine judges and one family support commissioner. The court employs 100 court staff.

The Honorable Ernest J. LiCalsi is the court's Presiding Judge. The Honorable Joseph A. Soldani is the court's Assistant Presiding Judge. The Court Executive Officer is Ms. Bonnie L. Thomas. Each judge is assigned a particular type of legal proceeding for each year on a rotating basis as determined by the presiding judge.

The original Madera County Courthouse was built of granite in the year 1900. The building has been preserved and is now the home of the Madera County Museum.

The mission of the Madera Superior Court is to ensure equal and fair access for all in the judicial system, and provide public service in an efficient and impartial manner.




Did you know that you can fill out your own forms with the help of using I-CAN! software? I-CAN! asks you a series of questions and based on your answers fills in your forms for you in the areas of:

  • Family Law, Marriage, Divorce
  • Small Claims
  • Housing
  • Guardianship and Probate.

To get started, visit our I-CAN! website.







© 2004 - Superior Court of California     Our Privacy Policy