In observance of the Thanksgiving holiday, the TBVME
will be closed beginning at noon on Wednesday, November 23rd and
will reopen at 8:00 am on Monday, November 28th.
everyone a Happy Thanksgiving!
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration Information and Violation Matrix
Board rule 573.43 becomes effective on September 1, 2016. This rule requires a veterinarian to hold a Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration if such registration is required by other law.
Generally, DEA regulations require a veterinarian who administers or dispenses controlled substances to hold a registration. This matrix, adopted by the Board on July 19, 2016, sets out Board guidelines for evaluating violations of rule 573.43.
Drug Log Violation Matrix
Board rule 573.50 contains record keeping requirements for a veterinarian's use of controlled substances, including a record of the total balance on hand of each scheduled drug. This matrix, adopted by the Board on July 19, 2016, contains Board guidelines for evaluating violations of rule 573.50.
Notice to all Controlled Substances Registration Registrants:
Senate Bill 195 (84th Legislative Session), eliminates the requirement for a practitioner to have a Controlled Substances Registration with the state of Texas, effective Sept. 1, 2016. To implement this change, all active/current Controlled Substances Registrations (CSR) expired on Aug. 31, 2016. The Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) has been transferred to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP). In order to establish and maintain this new program, the TSBP will need to assess a $7.85 fee to all individuals licensed by this board and authorized to prescribe or dispense controlled substances. The $7.85 fee was added to the active DVM license renewal fees effective September 1, 2016. Official prescription pad ordering information as well as additional information about the PMP may be found on the Texas State Pharmacy Board website.
The mission and performance of the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners are under review by the Legislature as required under the Texas Sunset Act. Click here for information about the process and how you can be involved.
New! Changes to the Renewal Process Effective January 1, 2016
On January 1, 2016 we will be transitioning to a birth-month renewal process. This means that your license will not expire on March 1st, as it has in previous years. Instead, your license will expire on the last day of your birth-month. During the transition, we will need to pro-rate your renewal fees for 2016.
Please see the Renewal Page for more information about how this process will work.
New! The Licensing and Renewal Fees Have Changed.
Please see Licensing and Renewal Fee amounts here.
Notice to Military Veterans, Active Service Members, and Military Spouses
Senate Bill 807 (84th Legislative Session) eliminates the application and examination fees for military veterans, active military service members, and military spouses. To implement this change, the application instructions have been changed to reflect the type of documentation required to claim the military fee waiver. The fee waiver applies only to applications received after September 1, 2015. Please see the application instructions for more information. All license types are eligible for this fee waiver.