

Office of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, MT 59620-2501
406.444.3095
888.231.9393
406.444.0169 (TTY)
opi.mt.gov

September 23, 2016

Nominations for K-12 Task Force

The Office of Public Instruction is seeking applicants for its K-12 Data Task Force. The task force, established in 20-7-104, MCA, is made up of 29 individuals who serve in an advisory capacity to the Office of Public Instruction. The task force met once in 2014 and the OPI is re-forming the task force. All of the members appointed in 2013 were contacted to see if they still represented their category and wished to continue to serve on the task force. As a result the OPI is seeking to fill the following ten positions:

- School Board Trustee, Class 1 District
- · School Administrator, Class 1 District
- School Administrator, Class 2 District
- School Administrator, Class 3 District
- Teacher, Class 1 District
- Technology Staff, Class 1 District
- Technology Staff, Class 2 District
- Parent, Elementary, Class 3 District
- Parent, High School, Class 2 District
- Parent, High School, Class 3 District

The first meeting of the task force will be held on November 16, 2016 from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM in Helena. Task force members will be paid \$50 for each day in which the member is engaged in the performance of task force duties and reimbursed for travel expenses. Members who are full-time salaried officers or employees of this state or of a political subdivision of this state are not entitled to be compensated for their service as members but are entitled to be reimbursed for travel expenses.

The task force includes eight legislators from the House and Senate Education Committees and the Joint Appropriations Subcommittee on Education. The eight legislators are:

Senator Taylor Brown (R) – Huntley

- Senator Mark Blasdel (R) Kalispell
- Senator Jill Cohenour (D) Helena
- Representative Sarah Lasloffy (R) Billings
- Representative Edie McClafferty (D) Butte
- Representative Debra Lamm (R) Livingston
- Senator Llew Jones (R) Conrad
- Representative Roy Hollandsworth (R) Brady

The continuing appointed members are:

- School Board Trustee, Class 2 District Sabrina Steketee Boulder
- School Board Trustee, Class 3 District Ann Hokanson Norris
- Teacher, Class 2 District Sam Tudor Bigfork
- Teacher, Class 3 District Elizabeth Campbell Rudyard
- Technology Staff, Class 3 District Vicki Baker Bynum
- Parent, Elementary, Class 1 District Kevann Campbell Helena
- Parent, Elementary, Class 2 District Tim Ley Huntley
- Parent, High School, Class 1 District Greg Trangmoe Stevensville
- School District Clerk, Class 1 District Laurie Noonkester Billings
- School District Clerk, Class 2 District Jacklyn Young Fairview
- School District Clerk, Class 3 District Emily Hansmann Pendroy

Applications will be accepted through October 21, 2016. The application form is posted at

http://opi.mt.gov/pdf/K12DataTaskForce/16K12DataTaskForce_NominationForm.pdf

Application forms may be:

1) Mailed to:

Office of Public Instruction PO Box 202501 Helena, MT 59620-2501

Attention: Ken Bailey

- 2) E-mailed to kbailey2@mt.gov or
- 3) Faxed to Office of the State Superintendent, 406-444-2893.

Please contact Ken Bailey, (406) 444-2562, if you have any questions.