Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission (ASHSC) - Mission

The Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission is charged by statute (AS 44.37.067) to recommend goals and priorities for seismic risk mitigation to the public and private sectors and to recommend policies to the governor and legislature to reduce the state's vulnerability to earthquakes. The Commission consists of eleven members appointed by the Governor from the public and private sectors for three-year terms. It is administered by the Department of Natural Resources, Division of Geological & Geophysical Surveys (DGGS).

Annual Reports to the Governor

The Annual Report to the Governor and Legislature from the Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission (ASHSC) reiterates the priority issues and goals of the Commission and identifies its accomplishments each year.

Earthquake Hazards in Alaska

Alaska is the most seismically active region of the United States and is at risk of economic and societal losses due to large damaging earthquakes. The second largest instrumentally recorded earthquake in the world occurred along the eastern Aleutian subduction zone, the Mw9.2 Great Alaskan earthquake of 1964. The largest on-land earthquake in North America in almost 150 years occurred along the Denali fault in 2002 and was a powerful reminder of the seismic hazards and risk in Alaska.


Upcoming Meeting

  • November 17, 8:00AM-4:00PM; Robert B. Atwood Building, 550 W 7th Ave, Anchorage, AK