CHRONOLOGY OF THE CHIEF JUSTICES OF FLORIDA

Compiled by Agatha Thursby Revised by Jo Dowling & The Public Information Office

Updated June 30, 2014

COURT OF APPEALS, TERRITORY OF FLORIDA January 3, 1825 - February 13, 1845

Presiding Judges:

Joseph L. Smith Henry M. Brachenridge Thomas Randall Richard C. Allen Isaac H. Bronson Dillon Jordan William Maurie

CHIEF JUSTICES, SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Terms of Service

(Numerals after names indicate successive terms of service by the same Justice)

1.	Thomas Douglas	January 1846 to 1851	St. Johns
2.	Walker Anderson	January 1851 to May 4, 1953	Escambia
3.	Benjamin D. Wright	May 24, 1853 to 1853	Escambia
4.	Thomas Baltzell	January 1854 to 1859	Leon
5.	Charles H. DuPont	January 1860 to 1868	Gadsden
6.	Edwin M. Randall	January 1869 to January 7, 1885	Duval
7.	George G. McWhorter	January 8, 1885 to July 1, 1887	Santa Rosa
8.	Augustus E. Maxwell	July 1, 1887 to January 1889	Escambia
9.	George P. Raney	January 1889 to June 30, 1894	Leon
10.	Benjamin S. Liddon	July 1, 1894 to December 1894	Jackson
11.	Milton H. Mabry	January 1895 to 1896	Lake
12.	R. Fenwick Taylor	January 1897 to January 10, 1905	Alachua
13.	James B. Whitfield	January 10, 1905 to June 12, 1905	Leon
14.	Thomas M. Shackleford	June 12, 1905 to January 4, 1909	Hillsborough
	James B. Whitfield ²	January 6, 1909 to January 1913	Leon
	Thomas M. Shackleford ²	January 1913 to January 1915	Hillsborough
	R. Fenwick Taylor ²	January 1915 to January 2, 1917	Alachua
15.	Jefferson B. Browne	January 2, 1917 to January 1923	Monroe
	R. Fenwick Taylor ³	January 9, 1923 to February 28, 1925	Alachua
16.	Thomas F. West	February 28, 1925 to December 3, 1925	Santa Rosa
17.	Armstead Brown	December 4, 1925 to January 1927	Dade
18.	William H. Ellis	January 11, 1927 to January 8, 1929	Gadsden
19.	Glenn Terrell	January 8, 1929 to January 13, 1931	Sumter
20.	Louie W. Strum	January 13, 1931 to March 5, 1931	Duval
21.	Rivers H. Buford	March 5, 1931 to January 10, 1933	Leon
22.	Fred H. Davis	January 10, 1933 to January 8, 1935	Leon
	James B. Whitfield ³	January 8, 1935 to January 1937	Leon
	William H. Ellis ²	January 1937 to November 1, 1938	Gadsden
	Glenn Terrell ²	November 1, 1938 to January 1941	Sumter
	Armstead Brown ²	January 1941 to January 1943	Dade
	Rivers Buford ²	January 1943 to January 9, 1945	Leon
23.	Roy H. Chapman	January 9, 1945 to January 1947	Columbia
24.	Elwyn Thomas	January 1947 to January 1949	St. Lucie
	-	· · ·	

25.	Alto Adams
26.	Harold L. Sebring
27.	T. Frank Hobson
28.	B. K. Roberts
29.	John E. Mathews
30.	E. Harris Drew
	Glenn Terrell ³
	Elwyn Thomas ²
	B. K. Roberts ²
	E. Harris Drew ²
31.	Campbell Thornal
32.	Stephen C. O'Connell
33.	Millard F. Caldwell
34.	Richard W. Ervin
	B. K. Roberts ³
35.	Vassar B. Carlton
36.	James C. Adkins, Jr.
37.	Ben F. Overton
38.	Arthur J. England, Jr.
39.	Alan C. Sundberg
40.	James E. Alderman
41.	Joseph A. Boyd, Jr.
42.	Parker Lee McDonald
43.	Raymond Ehrlich
44.	Leander J. Shaw, Jr.
45.	Rosemary Barkett
46.	Stephen H. Grimes
47.	Gerald Kogan
48.	Major B. Harding
49.	Charles T. Wells
50.	Harry Lee Anstead
51.	Barbara J. Pariente
52.	R. Fred Lewis
53.	Peggy A. Quince
54.	Charles T. Canady
55.	Ricky Polston
F (т т 1

56. Jorge Labarga

January 1949 to January 1951 January 1951 to January 1953 January 1953 to March 14, 1953 March 14, 1953 to January 11, 1955 January 11, 1955 to April 30, 1955 May 6, 1955 to January 8, 1957 January 8, 1957 to July 14, 1959 July 14, 1959 to July 1, 1961 July 1, 1961 to July 1, 1963 July 1, 1963 to July 1, 1965 July 1, 1965 to July 1, 1967 July 1, 1967 to September 5, 1967 September 5, 1967 to January 7, 1969 January 7, 1969 to January 5, 1971 January 5, 1971 to January 1, 1973 January 1, 1973 to February 28, 1974 March 1, 1974 to March 1, 1976 March 1, 1976 to June 30, 1978 July 1, 1978 to June 30, 1980 July 1, 1980 to June 30, 1982 July 1, 1982 to June 30, 1984 July 1, 1984 to June 30, 1986 July 1, 1986 to June 30, 1988 July 1, 1988 to June 30, 1990 July 1, 1990 to June 30, 1992 July 1, 1992 to April 21, 1994 April 21, 1994 to May 31, 1996 June 1, 1996 to June 30, 1998 July 1, 1998 to June 30, 2000 July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2002 July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2004 July 1, 2004 to June 30, 2006 July 1, 2006 to June 30, 2008 July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2010 July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2012 July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2014 July 1, 2014 to

St. Lucie Alachua Pinellas Leon Duval Palm Beach Sumter St. Lucie Leon Palm Beach Orange Broward Leon Putnam Leon Brevard Alachua Pinellas Dade Pinellas St. Lucie Dade Orange Duval Duval Palm Beach Polk Dade Duval Orange Palm Beach Palm Beach Dade Hillsborough Polk Jackson Palm Beach