

Ottawa Tourism Awards honour industry leaders

Embargoed for release until 8:00 p.m. EDT on Thursday, April 24, 2014

OTTAWA, April 24, 2014—Ottawa Tourism presents the 2014 edition of the **Ottawa Tourism Awards** on **Thursday, April 24** at **7:00 p.m.** at the <u>Ottawa Conference and Event Centre</u> on Coventry Road.

DETAILS

Thursday, April 24, 2014 Ottawa Conference and Event Centre, 200 Conventry Road

6:00 p.m. — Reception

7:00 p.m. — Awards presentation begins

8:15 p.m. — Dinner

A crowd of 250 tourism industry leaders, including special guest Jim Watson, Mayor of Ottawa, will attend this event. Tickets were available for \$169.50 each.

Winners were chosen among 19 finalists in five major award categories:

New Company of the Year

- National Capital Craft Beer Week Inc.
- *** WINNER *** Pumpkinferno
- The Albion Rooms

Innovation of the Year

- *** WINNER *** Calypso Theme Waterpark Kongo Expedition
- Canadian Museum of Nature <u>Nature Nocturne</u>

Community Spirit

- Buffet des Continents
- Capital Cruises
- Funhaven Family Entertainment Centre
- *** WINNER *** Ottawa International Airport Authority

Partnership of the Year

- Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum with One World Dialogue
- Downtown Rideau BIA with 11 Members & Partners
- *** WINNER *** The Haunted Walk with the Diefenbunker: Canada's Cold War Museum, the Bytown Museum and the Ottawa Jail Hostel

Event of the Year

- 2013 IIHF Women's World Championship
- Music and Beyond
- National Arts Centre: Northern Scene
- RBC Royal Bank Bluesfest
- Rendez-vous Canada: Ontario Night
- *** WINNER *** Star Wars Identities: The Exhibition
- TD Ottawa Jazz Festival

The **Tourism Volunteer of the Year** is **Daniel Laliberté**, General Manager of Ottawa Marriott Hotel. With over 30 years in the hospitality business, he's devoted his time to various Industry associations including as Director and President of Regroupement des Gens d'affaires and as both Vice President and President of the Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association. He has been on the Board of Directors of Ottawa Tourism for many years, including as Chairman from 2006 to 2009, and currently sits as an advisor on the Tourism Development Counsel.

The **Tourism Leader of the Year** is **Mark Monahan.** As founder and Executive Director of the RBC Royal Bank Bluesfest, Mark has grown the festival from a one-stage, three-day event to a multi-staged, two-week music extravaganza featuring some of the best talent available on the planet. He also co-founded Ottawa's Festival Network and more recently took on a supervisory role and the artistic direction of the Ottawa Folk Festival. To this day, Mark continues to champion local festivals and events, and plays a vital leadership role in ensuring the health of Ottawa's festival, tourist and music scene.

Three other award winners will be recognized at the event:

- **Karan Smith** won the Ottawa Tourism Travel Writing Award for her article, <u>Canadian War Museum a moving reminder</u>, which appeared on vacay.ca.
- Amanda Thomas and Paul Reid of the Holiday Inn & Suites Ottawa Kanata will be congratulated for being named the <u>2013 Star of the City</u>.
- Mandy De Geit, a student in Algonquin College's School of Hospitality & Tourism, will receive the annual Tourism Scholarship.

Embargoed for release until 8:00 p.m. EDT on Thursday, April 24, 2014

The Ottawa Tourism Awards are coordinated by Ottawa Tourism and celebrate the individuals, organizations and events that have set high standards and demonstrated outstanding achievement, contributing to the growth and development of tourism in Ottawa and Canada's Capital Region.

Ottawa Tourism provides industry leadership and destination marketing to service the travel media and attract visitors, tours and conventions to Ottawa and Canada's Capital Region. Visit Ottawa Tourism at www.ottawatourism.ca

-30-

For more information, please contact:
Jantine Van Kregten
Director of Communications, Ottawa Tourism
613-237-5150, ext. 116
media@ottawatourism.ca