National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity

NSABB Voting Members

Chair

Samuel L. Stanley, Jr., M.D. (Chair)

President, Stony Brook University Office of the President Stony Brook University

Other Voting Members

Craig E. Cameron, Ph.D.

Eberly Chair in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The Pennsylvania State University

Andrew (Drew) Endy, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor Stanford Bioengineering Stanford University

Marie-Louise Hammarskjöld, M.D., Ph.D.

Charles H. Ross Jr. Professor and Professor of Microbiology, Immunology and Cancer Biology, Associate Director, Myles H. Thaler Center University of Virginia School of Medicine

Joseph Kanabrocki, Ph.D., NRCM(SM)

Associate Vice President for Research Safety Professor of Microbiology University of Chicago

Theresa M. Koehler, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Distinguished Professor in Biomedical Science University of Texas Medical School at Houston

Marcelle C. Layton, M.D.

Assistant Commissioner Bureau of Communicable Disease New York City Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene

Jan Leach, Ph.D.

University Distinguished Professor Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management Plant Sciences Colorado State University

James W. LeDuc, Ph.D.

Director, Galveston National Laboratory and Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology University of Texas Medical Branch

Margie D. Lee, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Professor of Population Health Poultry Diagnostic and Research Center College of Veterinary Medicine The University of Georgia

Francis L. Macrina, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research and Innovation Virginia Commonwealth University

Joseph E. McDade, Ph.D.

Deputy Director (Retired)
National Center for Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Stephen S. Morse, Ph.D.

Director, Infectious Disease Epidemiology Certificate Program Professor of Epidemiology Mailman School of Public Health Columbia University

Jean L. Patterson, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Virology and Immunology Texas Biomedical Research Institute

I. Gary Resnick, Ph.D.

President, IGR Consulting Guest Scientist Global Security Directorate Los Alamos National Laboratory

Susan M. Wolf, J.D.

McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy Faegre Baker Daniels Professor of Law Professor of Medicine Faculty Member, Center for Bioethics University of Minnesota

David L. Woodland, Ph.D.

Chief Scientific Officer Keystone Symposia on Molecular and Cellular Biology

Ex Officios

Department of Commerce

Jason Boehm, Ph.D.

Director, Program Coordination Office Office of Program Analysis and Evaluation National Institute of Standards and Technology

Department of Defense

David Christian Hassell, Ph.D.

Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Chemical and Biological Defense

Department of Energy

Sharlene Weatherwax, Ph.D.

Associate Director of Science for Biological and Environmental Research U.S. Department of Energy

Department of Health and Human Services

Sally Phillips, R.N., Ph.D.

Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of Policy and Planning
Office of the Assistant Secretary for
Preparedness and Response
Health and Human Services

Anthony S. Fauci, M.D.

Director
National Institute of Allergy and
Infectious Disease
National Institutes of Health

CAPT Carmen Maher

Deputy Director
Office of Counterterrorism and Emerging
Threats (OCET)
Office of the Commissioner
Food and Drug Administration

Michael W. Shaw, Ph.D.

Senior Advisor for Laboratory Science
Office of Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Department of Homeland Security

Wendy Hall, Ph.D.

Special Senior Advisor for Biological Threats Office of Chemical, Biological, and Nuclear Policy Department of Homeland Security

Department of the Interior

Anne E. Kinsinger

Associate Director for Biology U.S. Geological Survey Biological Resources Discipline

Department of Justice

Edward You

Supervisory Special Agent FBI Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate Federal Bureau of Investigation

Department of State

Christopher Park

Director, Biological Policy Staff Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation

Department of Veterans Affairs

Brenda A. Cuccherini, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Special Assistant to the Chief Research and Development Officer Office of Research and Development Veterans Health Administration

Environmental Protection Agency

Gregory Sayles, Ph.D.

Acting Director, National Homeland Security Research Center

Executive Office of the President

Gerald Epstein, Ph.D.

Assistant Director for Biosecurity and Emerging Technologies National Security and International Affairs Division Office of Science and Technology Policy

Intelligence Community

Amanda Dion-Schultz, Ph.D.

Office of the Chief Scientist

Robert M. Miceli, Ph.D.

Biological Issue Manager and Advisor to the Director
Office of the Director of National Intelligence

National Counterproliferation Center

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

David R. Liskowsky, Ph.D.

Director, Medical Policy & Ethics
Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Steven Kappes, Ph.D.

Deputy Administrator
Animal Production and Protection