Appendix E-9: Work Structure and Member Organization

Work Group Structure

Work structure from inception through fall 2013.

Work Group 1: Environmental Determinants of Food, Diet, and Health

Miriam Nelson (Lead) Steven Abrams Lucile Adams-Campbell Mary Story

Work Group 2: Dietary Patterns and Quality and Optimization through Lifestyle Behavior Change

Rafael Pérez-Escamilla (Lead) Cheryl Anderson Gary Foster* Frank Hu Anna Maria Siega-Riz

Work Group 3: Foods, Beverages, and Nutrients and Their Impact on Health Outcomes

Alice H. Lichtenstein (Lead)

J. Thomas Brenna

Wayne Campbell

Steven Clinton

Marian Neuhouser

^{*} Dr. Gary Foster assumed a new position shortly after being appointed as a member of the 2015 DGAC. Due to the significant demands of the new position, it became necessary for Dr. Foster to resign his appointment to the 2015 DGAC (August 2013).

Subcommittee Structure

Work structure from fall 2013 through completion of the report.

Science Review Subcommittee (In place from inception through completion of the report.)

Barbara Millen (Chair)

Alice H. Lichtenstein (Vice Chair)

Miriam Nelson (2010 and 2015 DGAC member)

Rafael Pérez-Escamilla (2010 and 2015 DGAC member)

SC 1: Food and Nutrient Intakes, and Health: Current Status and Trends

Marian Neuhouser (Chair)

Alice H. Lichtenstein (Chair/Vice Chair Representative)

Steven Abrams

Cheryl Anderson

Mary Story

SC 2: Dietary Patterns, Foods and Nutrients, and Health Outcomes

Anna Maria Siega-Riz (Chair)

Alice H. Lichtenstein (Chair/Vice Chair Representative)

Cheryl Anderson

Tom Brenna

Steven Clinton

Frank Hu

Rafael Pérez-Escamilla

Marian Neuhouser

SC 3: Diet and Physical Activity Behavior Change

Rafael Pérez-Escamilla (Chair)

Barbara Millen (Chair/Vice Chair Representative)

Wayne Campbell

Steven Clinton

Anna Maria Siega-Riz

Lucile Adams-Campbell

Michael Perri (Consultant)

SC 4: Food and Physical Activity Environments

Mary Story (Chair)
Barbara Millen (Chair/Vice Chair Representative)
Lucile Adams-Campbell
Wayne Campbell
Mim Nelson

SC 5: Food Sustainability and Safety

Mim Nelson (Chair)
Barbara Millen (Chair/Vice Chair Representative)
Steven Abrams
Tom Brenna
Frank Hu
Michael Hamm (Consultant)
Tim Griffin (Consultant)

Working Group Structure

Work structure developed as need identified from spring 2014 through completion of report.

Added Sugars Working Group

Miriam Nelson (Co-Lead)

Mary Story (Co-Lead)

Cheryl Anderson

Wayne Campbell

Frank Hu

Alice H. Lichtenstein

Barbara Millen

Marian Neuhouser

Sodium Working Group

Cheryl Anderson (Lead)

Wayne Campbell

Steven Clinton

Alice H. Lichtenstein

Saturated Fat Working Group

Frank Hu (Lead)

Tom Brenna

Alice H. Lichtenstein

Barbara Millen

Physical Activity Writing Group

Miriam Nelson (Lead)

Wayne Campbell

Alice H. Lichtenstein