

Supreme Court of Kentucky

John D. Minton, Jr. Chief Justice of Kentucky Chambers, State Capitol Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 502-564-4162

www.courts.ky.gov

Contact: Jamie Neal, Public Information Specialist, Administrative Office of the Courts 502-5732350 ext. 50033, jamieneal@kycourts.net

For Immediate Release

Justice Lisabeth T. Hughes named deputy chief justice of Supreme Court of Kentucky



FRANKFORT, Ky., Feb. 3, 2017 – Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. has named <u>Justice Lisabeth T. Hughes</u> as deputy chief justice of the Supreme Court of Kentucky. Justice Hughes has served as a justice since 2007 and as a judge for 20 years. The deputy chief justice fills in when the chief justice recuses in a case or an administrative matter.

"Justice Hughes and I have served on the Supreme Court together for 10 years and I'm pleased she's taken on the role of deputy chief justice," Chief Justice Minton said. "In addition to outstanding legal scholarship, she contributes significant legal and practical experience to our court, drawing upon her years as a practicing lawyer and a judge on both the Circuit Court and the Court of Appeals."

Justice Hughes succeeds Deputy Chief Justice Mary C. Noble, who retired in 2016.

Justice Hughes serves the 4th Supreme Court District, which is Jefferson County. She was appointed as a justice in 2007 to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of the late Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. In November 2008, the voters of Jefferson County elected her to serve as the justice from their district. She was re-elected in November 2014.

Prior to taking the Supreme Court bench, Justice Hughes served as a Kentucky Court of Appeals judge from 1997-1998 and a Jefferson County Circuit Court judge from 1999-2006. She was reappointed to the Court of Appeals in 2006 and later elected to the court, where she was serving when she was appointed to the Supreme Court.

After earning her bachelor's degree with highest honors from the University of Louisville, Justice Hughes graduated magna cum laude from the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, where she was named Outstanding Graduate of her law school class. Before serving as a judge, she practiced law for 15 years, concentrating on business and commercial litigation.

Justice Hughes is a past president of the Louis D. Brandeis Inn of Court. She is chairwoman of the Supreme Court's Civil Rules Committee and is the Supreme Court representative on the board of the Kentucky IOLTA Fund, which has awarded more than \$15 million in grants since 1988 to provide legal aid to those who cannot afford an attorney, local pro bono programs and other projects. She is past president of the alumni council for the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law and served as a trustee for the Kentucky Judicial Form Retirement System Board from 2000-2012. She is a past Louisville Bar Association Judge of the Year and was the U of L Law Alumni Fellow in 2009. She is a frequent lecturer for the Kentucky Circuit Judges College and is a 2007 graduate of Leadership Louisville.

Justice Hughes is a native of Princeton, Ky., and has three sons.

Supreme Court of Kentucky

The Supreme Court is the state court of last resort and the final interpreter of Kentucky law. Seven justices (bios) sit on the Supreme Court and all seven justices rule on appeals that come before the court. The justices are elected from seven appellate districts and serve eight-year terms. A chief justice, chosen for a four-year term by fellow justices, is the administrative head of the state's court system and is responsible for its operation. The Supreme Court may order a ruling or opinion to be published, which means that the ruling becomes the case law governing all similar cases in the future in Kentucky.

###