5th Annual Verde River Runoff

March 18th in Camp Verde

The 5th Annual Verde River Runoff is just around the corner. Snow has been good up the hill so we hope for good river levels. This is 5 and 10-mile kayak, canoe and stand-up boarder race and fun run. This popular event draws novice and seasoned paddlers alike.  They select from multiple entry categories to challenge every type of boater with trained safety personnel stationed at hazard locations.  The race and fun run is a competitive event as well as a family-friendly celebration of nature and boating during prime season for river running in the Verde Valley.  The course will wind its way through mostly Forest Service lands set against the picturesque backdrop of the red rocks. The 10-mile race starts at White Bridge and the 5-mile at the River Access at Clear Creek.  Both races end at Beasley Flats.  The river has a nice current with Class I-II rapids making this an adventure for all.  Join us for the after-party and awards ceremony held in conjunction with the Camp Verde Spring Heritage Pecan & Wine Festival.  Besides being a lot of fun, proceeds go to conservation efforts for the threatened Verde River and outdoor recreation in the Verde Valley.

Register here!



See a gallery of pics by Critical Eye Photography by Doug Von Gausig

2016 Verde River Runoff Winners


Men’s Solo Kayak:

1st   Jeff Johnson   1 hr45min
2nd Jim Delehany  1hr46min

Women’s Solo Kayak:

1st  Alyson Bottke     2hr15:03min
2nd  Jeanmarie Haney  2hr15:07min

Tandem Canoe:

1st   Michael and Tony Shaw   2hr3min
2nd  Jodie Allen and Jean Keller  2hr6min

Stand-up Paddleboard:

1st Mason Lacy    2hr2min
2nd  Gary Lacy  2hr9min


Men’s Inflatable Kayak:

1st Wes Johnson  2hr33min

Tandem Kayak:

1st  Joyce Anderson and Robert Moxon   2hr21min
2nd  Ross and Brian Teske   2hr31min

Tandem Inflatable Kayak:

1st  Kelly and Ricardo Valles  2hr27min
2nd  Richard and Rick Cobban  3hr6min

Men’s Solo Canoe:

1st  Harry Sweet  2hr12min



1st  Theresa Rose  1hr21min


Inflatable Kayak:

1st Lorene Georgionni   1hr30min


1st  Paulene Milner  1hr28min