

Election of the Lord Speaker: result

In the election of the Lord Speaker held on 28 June 2006 a total of 581 valid votes, including 122 postal votes, were cast. There was 1 spoilt ballot paper. A total of 702 Members of the House were eligible to vote.

After 7 transfers of votes, the voting for the final 2 candidates was as follows:

Baroness Hayman 263 Lord Grenfell 236

The successful candidate was therefore Baroness Hayman.

Overleaf are details of the votes cast for each candidate at each stage of the count. The left-hand column lists all 9 candidates. The next column shows the number of first-preference votes for each candidate. Subsequent columns (which are numbered) show the number of votes for each candidate after each transfer of votes from excluded candidates. An \mathbf{X} in a column shows that the candidate concerned was excluded at that stage. The penultimate row shows the total number of votes at each stage, i.e. after excluding any votes which could not be transferred because no further preference was marked. The last row shows the number of votes required at that stage for a candidate to be elected, i.e. half the total.

A note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the alternative vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- If the vote for any one candidate equals or exceeds the votes of all the other candidates combined, that candidate is elected.
- Otherwise the votes for the candidate or candidates with fewest votes are transferred to
 whichever of the continuing candidates is marked by that voter as their next available
 preference, and the votes thus transferred are added to the first-preference votes of those
 candidates. The process is repeated until one candidate has as many votes as all the other
 remaining candidates combined.
- Any paper on which no further preference is marked is set aside as non-transferable.

The poll was supervised and the count was conducted by Electoral Reform Services. Lord Carey of Clifton and Lord Weatherill acted as scrutineers at the count.

4 July 2006

PAUL HAYTER

Clerk of the Parliaments

Result of House of Lords Speakership election, 28 June 2006

1st-pre	1st-preference		Votes after transfers					
Candidate	votes	1	2	3	4	5	6	7
Lord Boston of Faversham	22	22	22	X				
Lord Elton	52	57	58	60	65	X		
Baroness Fookes	12	X						
Lord Grenfell	103	103	106	109	129	147	170	236
Baroness Hayman	201	201	209	215	229	236	248	263
Countess of Mar	55	56	59	64	66	79	X	
Lord Redesdale	17	17	X					
Lord Richard	45	46	46	46	X			
Viscount Ullswater	74	78	79	83	84	103	135	X
Votes excluded at each stage		1	1	2	4	8	12	54
Total continuing votes at each stage	581	580	579	577	573	565	553	499
Votes needed in order to be elected	291	290	290	289	287	283	277	250