

W Suburbs

Waugh's Pocket Apparently named after a pioneer farmer, possibly T.R. Waugh, who was a Councillor on the Cairns Divisional Board in 1889.

Westcourt The original land was a large dairy farm which was subdivided in 1886. The area was generally known as west Cairns. A later proposal to call the area Westgate was varied after the tragic Westgate Bridge failure in Melbourne in

1970.

White Rock White Rock was originally a railway station named after a nearby rock feature. First subdivided in 1948, and named after the mountain behind the suburb.

Also known as Jirriwanday, in the Yidinyji Language.

Whitfield Derived from Mount Whitfield, which was named on the 17th October 1873, by

George Elphinstone Dalrymple (1826-1876) an explorer, public servant and politician. 'Whitfield' was after Edwin Whitfield a storekeeper and merchant of Cardwell who was a friend of Dalrymple's. Officially named by Queensland Place Names Board on 1st September 1973. Boundaries amended by the

Minister for Natural Resources 23rd February 2001.

Woopen Creek No information found.

Wooroonooran Wooroonooran range is an alias for Bellenden Ker Range.

Woree The area was originally known as Four Mile – the distance from the centre of

Cairns. Until June 1909 the railway station was known as Pryns Station after William Pryn who owned a hotel in this location on the banks of Gordon Creek. Re-named by the Railway Department circa 1914 from an Aboriginal name meaning 'piccaninny' or child. The likely spelling should have been Wurree the

Aboriginal word for child who likes to dabble in shallow water.

Wright's Creek Named after the Wright Brothers who brought 1000 head of cattle down to the

creek for agistment in 1878.