# **SINGAPORE GOVERNMENT STATEMENT**

#### **GENERAL ELECTION**

## 1. NOMINATION DAY

Nomination Day will be on Wednesday, 27 April 2011.

# 2. <u>NOMINATION CENTRES</u>

The Nomination Centres are as follows:

	Place of nomination (Nomination Centres)	Electoral Divisions
1.	Admiralty Secondary School Woodlands Crescent Singapore 737916	Nee Soon Sembawang
2.	Bedok View Secondary School Bedok South Avenue 3 Singapore 469293	East Coast Pasir Ris-Punggol Punggol East
3.	Deyi Secondary School Ang Mo Kio Street 42 Singapore 569277	Ang Mo Kio Aljunied Bishan-Toa Payoh Sengkang West
4.	Dunman Secondary School Tampines Street 45 Singapore 529093	Hougang Tampines
5.	Greenridge Secondary School Bukit Panjang Ring Road	Bukit Panjang Holland-Bukit Timah

7. Singapore Chinese Girls' School Dunearn Road Singapore 309437

Singapore 679938

6. Jurong Junior College

Corporation Road

Singapore 649809

Moulmein-Kallang Radin Mas Tanjong Pagar Whampoa

Jurong

Pioneer

West Coast Yuhua Place of nomination (Nomination Centres)

Electoral Divisions

8. South View Primary School Choa Chu Kang Central Singapore 689762 Chua Chu Kang Hong Kah North

9. Tao Nan School Marine Crescent Singapore 449761 Joo Chiat Marine Parade Mountbatten Potong Pasir

## 3. RETURNING OFFICER

For the General Election, the Prime Minister has appointed Mr Yam Ah Mee, Chief Executive Director of the People's Association, as the Returning Officer.

The Returning Officer has declared that Saturday, 7 May 2011 is Polling Day. Polling Day is a public holiday.

#### 4. <u>DEPOSIT BY CANDIDATE</u>

According to the Parliamentary Elections Act, the deposit per candidate is 8% of the total allowances payable to an MP in the preceding year and rounded to the nearest \$500.00. The deposit for a candidate shall, therefore, be \$16,000.

# 5. MALAY COMMUNITY AND INDIAN AND OTHER MINORITY COMMUNITIES COMMITTEES

The Parliamentary Elections (Malay Community Committee) Regulations, 1988 and the Parliamentary Elections (Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee) Regulations, 1988 stipulate that every applicant shall ensure his application for the Certificate of the Malay Community Committee or Certificate of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee under regulation 9 is received by the Committee not later than 2 clear days before the day of Nomination.

Nomination Day is 27 April 2011. Therefore, all applications must be submitted to the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link Singapore 187949, not later than 1.00 pm on Saturday, 23 April 2011.

Members of the Malay Community Committee are:

- (1) Tuan Abu Bakar Maidin (Chairman)
- (2) Tuan Imram Bin Mohamed
- (3) Tuan Maarof Bin Haji Salleh
- (4) Tuan Shafawi Bin Ahmad
- (5) Tuan Wan Hussin Bin Haji Zoohri

Members of the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee are:

- (1) Mr Gopinath Pillai (Chairman)
- (2) Mr Gerard Francis De Silva
- (3) Mr Kaisavapany s/o Krishnasamy
- (4) Mr Kirpa Ram Vij s/o Devi Dial
- (5) Mr Rangareddy Jayachandran

### 6. POLITICAL DONATION CERTIFICATE

Every candidate shall submit, together with his duplicate sets of nomination paper and other necessary documents, a Political Donation Certificate (in duplicate) issued by the Registrar of Political Donations under section 18(4) of the Political Donations Act. Application for the Certificate shall be made by submitting, in person or through an authorised representative, a pre-election donation report (Form 3) and a pre-election declaration (Form 4) to the Registrar of Political Donations at his office at the Elections Department, 11 Prinsep Link, Singapore 187949 not later than 1.00 pm on 23 April 2011.

For more information on the application for the Political Donation Certificate, please visit the website of the Elections Department at <a href="https://www.elections.gov.sg">www.elections.gov.sg</a>.

PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE 19 April 2011