Showing posts with label Recipe Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Recipe Review. Show all posts

Monday, March 18, 2013

{Menu Plan Monday} + Recipe Reviews!

Chicken Cordon Bleu
 We have a house guest this week and he is making this for us! 
Yay for a night off cooking!

I haven't made this one in so long, mainly because I have been really trying to eat healthy! But we DO have a guest this week, so this one needs to be on the menu. It's been so cold and windy and comfort food like this is just what the doctor ordered ;)

377 Calories, 10.6g fat, 23.9g protein, 43g carbs, 4.8g fiber, 650mg sodium
* I will be using fresh mozzarella instead of burrata cheese since I couldn't find it anywhere ;)
415 Calories, 17.1g fat, 13.5g protein, 51.4g carbs, 4.8g fiber, 593mg sodium

Basic Beef Stew, crispy bread
Again -this is guest worthy and I can't wait to share it!
Serving size: 1 cup - 303 Calories, 9.8g fat, 26.8 Carbs , Fiber 2.3g, 494mg sodium




Recipe Reviews: 

Turkey Meatloaf - Tim 7/10, Julie 9/10 - healthy and tasty, can't beat that! Ease to make -8.5/10
SO easy! But the cooking time (in loaf form) is 1hr 15 min. I did not read that ahead of time, so I was crunched for time and just spread it into a 9x13 pan and it cooked in about 35 min ;) It's a GO!

Broccoli and Cheese Twice Baked Potatoes  Tim - 8.5/10, Julie 9/10, Ease to make 9/10 - While I used these as a side dish, you could easily add chicken, bacon or ham and make it a main dish! They were SO yummy and lower calorie because it mixed cauliflower into the filling and you couldn't even tell! It's a GO!

Irish Soda Bread - Tim 7/10, Julie 8/10, Ease to make 9.5/10 - SUCH an easy bread to make! It's kind of a mix between a biscuit and sourdough consistency. It tastes and looks so great for a quick bread! It's a GO!

Baked Chicken Parmesan - Tim 8.5/10, Julie 9/10, Ease to make 8.5/10 - I really loved her technique in making this. You brush a bit of melted butter onto the raw chicken breast and then dip it into bread crumbs and parmesan and then pop it in the oven to bake it. It was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside - not to mention - easy and healthy! It's a GO!

Croque Madame Sandwich - Tim -10/10, Julie 9.5/10, Ease to make 8.5/10. Oh my! This was amazing! You need to find the correct and nice cheese though to make it right! Tim and I were both surprised how filling and satisfying it was! We kept saying how fantastic it was after every bite.
It's a GO!

Penne with Asparagus and Balsamic Butter - Tim 8/10, Julie 9/10, Ease to Make 9/10. I added grilled chicken to make it more of a meal, but this was easy and so buttery and tasty! Lip smacking good in my humble opinion ;) It's a GO!

Orange and Soy Glazed Salmon - Tim 7/10, Julie 7.5/10, Ease to Make 8/10 - This was just meh to me. It had good flavors, but didn't really stand out to me as a keeper.  NO GO.

For more great menu plans go to orgjunkie

Monday, January 28, 2013

Menu Plan Monday~Jan 28, 2013

I didn't get to a few meals from the past few weeks, so I'm trying them out this week! Hope your New Year is starting out well and you are enjoying some good meals! If you have any new healthy recipes for me to try, pass them on :)

Light Chicken Pot Pie
(1 cups): Calories 482; Fat 19 g; Sodium 795 mg; Carbohydrate 47 g; Fiber 5 g; Protein 31 g
Minestrone Soup
Serving Size1 1/2 cups • Old Points: 4 • Points+: 5Calories: 215.7
 • Fat: 0.7 g  Protein: 8.7 g  Carb: 42.0 g  Fiber: 6.7 g   
Easy Whole Baked Chicken


Greek Chicken Bread Salad

Serves 4- 325 calories, 14.2g fat, 18 carb, 19g fiber, 254mg sodium

Chicken Fajita's and Guacamole


New Recipe Review: 

Grilled Salmon Salad Ease to Make 8/10; Taste: Tim 7/10, Julie 8.5/10 - Tim loved the taste, but didn't think it was quite filling enough. I thought it was light, yet filling. The dressing was a pureed cucumber, yogurt, and dill dressing - so fresh! It would make a perfect spring or summer salad! It's a GO!

Cheddar Chicken Chowder  Ease to Make 7/10; Taste: Tim 7.5/10, Julie 8/10 It's a GO!

Broccoli Cheese Soup  Ease to Make 8/10; Taste: Tim: 6/10  Julie 7/10, It was creamy and had lots of flavor, but couldn't really stand on it's own as a meal.  It's a NO GO.

I'm linked up with Orgjunkie

Monday, January 21, 2013

Menu Plan Monday~ A Month of Soups and Salads, Wk. 4

I have really enjoyed these past 3 weeks of trying out so many new soups and salads. It's been stretching for me to find and try new recipes.

I have enjoyed eating lighter and have actually lost almost 7lbs just by planning my meals, calorie tracking, and exercising consistently in the New Year! Woohoo! Now, don't cheer for me just yet though. FIVE of those pounds were ones I had gained in my time home in the States, haha! But I'm glad I was able to lose it quickly and get back on the DOWNWARD spiral again! I'm thankful for some friends that I check in with every night on facebook about my exercise, eating, and water intake. It's such a help!

BUT I am not sure Tim has the same positive sentiments about the soup and salad month :) He said to me the other day, "If I don't have something besides soup or salad soon, I'm gonna lose it. I just want some chicken Fajitas!"  Hahah! Let's just say not all of the recipes have been as satisfying(read filling) for him as they have been for me ;) So he's glad this is the last week!

But all of that said, there have been plenty of recipes that we will use again for entrees, others for lunches, side dishes, and appetizers! So it's been a worthwhile endeavor.

Well, here's the last week of soups and salads...

Crock Pot Minestrone Soup

 Serving Size1 1/2 cups • Old Points: 4 • Points+: 5Calories: 215.7 • Fat: 0.7 g  Protein: 8.7 g  Carb: 42.0 g  Fiber: 6.7 g   
317 Calories, Fat 14.6g,  Protein 37g,  Carbs, 8.1 grams,  Fiber 2g, Sodium 392 mg


Broccoli Cheese Soup
1lb. broccoli
1/2 lb. butter
1c. flour
1qt. chicken stock
1qt. half & half
1t. salt
1/4 t. White pepper
*I'm going to add some shredded carrot for color and variety

Cut broccoli into small pieces: steam in 1/2 c. water (which you will not drain). Melt butter; add flour. Cook 2-3 min. Add chicken stock (use whisk) & bring to boil. On low heat add broccoli, milk, salt & pepper. Heat but do not allow to boil. Serves 8-10.

* I got this recipe from my sweet mother in law. She mentioned that you could also blend it to make it creamy if you wanted. 

New Recipe Reviews:

Classic Chicken Noodle Soup Ease to make- 8/10 Taste -Tim- 8/10, Julie-7.5/10 It had a really nice flavor. I didn't use all fresh herbs. I just couldn't find them all, so I ended up using several dried and it was fine. I didn't like the noodles. I think I would have preferred brown rice. But I would make this again. It's a GO!

Chicken BLT Salad Ease to make- 9/10- very easy to make, Taste- Tim 8/10, Julie 8.5/10 - so tasty, fresh and filling! Even Tim said this salad was a MEAL ;) Its a GO!

Creamy Tortilla Soup Ease to Make 7.5/10,  Taste -Tim 7/10, Julie 6.5/10 -excellent flavor, but I think I made it wrong! The tortillas never "melted" into the soup fully, so it was kind of chunky. Maybe it's because I couldn't find corn tortillas and just used flour instead. I'm sure if Shanna had made it for me, it would have been amazing! But even so, Tim said it wasn't filling enough on it's own. But you may still want to try it. For us it's a NO GO.

Basic Beef Stew with Carrots and Mushrooms Ease to make 8/10, Taste -Tim 9/10, Julie- 9/10 -WOW! This stew was absolutely amazing! You need to try it. I feel like some stews are so bland and blah, but this was bursting with such rich flavors! It's a GO GO GO!

Creamy Light Potato Soup Ease to Make 6/10 - it seemed like it took me forever with all of the chopping, cooking, creaming etc., Taste - Tim- 6/10, Julie- 7/10 - It seemed too creamy. I would have liked it more chunky. The flavor was good, but nothing to write home about. NO GO.

Cranberry Avocado Salad with Candied Spiced Almonds Ease to Make- 7/10, Tim- 7/10, Julie 8.5/10 - Tim again didn't think this was filling enough. He said if I added chicken it might be ;) But he and I both agreed that the flavors were amazing together! Those spiced pecans were so good just on their own! They had a great sweet and spicy thing going that paired perfectly with the homemade dressing, the cranberries and avocados. I'll definitely do this one again. It's a GO!

I'm linked with orgjunkie

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Guest Post at "Carissa Miss"

I had the wonderful opportunity to write a review of Mexican Stuffed Peppers for Carissa Miss's blog.  I tried the recipe first on this menu plan. Carissa is an avid meal planner and has many DYI ideas. You'll no doubt enjoy checking out her blog!

And let me tell you, those stuffed peppers were SO amazing. I'm definitely going to make them again! You should read the review and then go make them - like now :)

Monday, January 07, 2013

Menu Plan Monday~ A Month of Soups and Salads, wk 2

Monday ~ French Onion Soup
Servings: 6 • Serving Size1-1/2 cups • Old Points: 6.5 • Points+: 8
Calories: 312.8 • Fat: 11 g  Protein: 17.9 g  Carb: 31.6 g  Fiber: 3.3 g  
Tuesday ~ Shrimp, Avocado, and Grapefruit Salad
4 Servings- 291 Calories,  17.7g fat, 15.5g carbs, 6g fiber
Wednesday ~ Creamy, Comforting Tortilla Soup

I got this recipe from my friend Shanna's food blog,  Food Loves Writing. Everything she does is amazing! Her recipes taste fantastic and her writing is beautiful and real. You should definitely check her out if you haven't before
*I'll also be making my own vegetable broth for this.

Thursday ~ Cranberry Avocado Salad with Candied Spiced Almonds
*I'll actually be substituting pecans for the sliced almonds because I couldn't find any ;)

Friday ~ Basic Beef Stew with Carrots and Mushrooms
Serving size: 1 cup - 303 Calories, 9.8g fat, 26.8 Carbs , Fiber 2.3g

Review of New Recipes: 

Honeyed Winter Salad - Ease to make- 8/10, Julie- 9/10, Tim- 8.5/10, It's a GO!

I will definitely be making this salad again!  Tim and I were both surprised with how tasty and filling this was! The grilled veggies were tender, but had a bit of crisp. And they had a sweet and salty thing going on with the salt/pepper and honey combo. So good!


I'm linked up with Orgjunkie

Monday, October 15, 2012

Menu Plan Monday + 3 Recipe Reviews!

Monday~ White Chicken Chili (406 calories a bowl)
This is one of Tim and my favorite recipes for Autumn. 
The cayenne with heat you up on a chilly night!

Tuesday~ Beef Tacos, using the last bit of beef from this crockpot shredded beef tacos! I think that lasted for like 8 meals for us!

Wednesday~ Rosemary Chicken Salad Sandwiches  (360 calories per serving)

Thursday~ Apple Rosemary Onion and Crockpot Chicken

Friday~  Bacon, onion, red pepper, egg and cheese breakfast burritos


New Recipe Review: 

Bang Bang Shrimp~ Tim 8/10, Julie 9/10, Ease to make 7/10 ~ This was so amazing! It was flavorful, crispy, with just the right about of spice! The sauce was such a nice compliment. I didn't have chili paste, so I just used mayo, rice vinegar, and sweet chili sauce - but it was tasty! I will totally be doing this one again! It's a GO!

Broccoli Chicken Stir Fry~ Tim 7/10, Julie 7.5/10, Ease to make 7/10 ~ Good oriental flavor; the broccoli was crispy, and it was simple to make. It's a GO!

Turkey Bagel Burgers~ Tim 7.5/10, Julie 8/10, Ease to make 8/10 ~ These were SO yummy! They burgers were very flavorful (which is saying something for a turkey burger!) and I LOVED having it on a bagel. Such a great texture and marriage to the burger. I don't think I've made anything from Pioneer Woman's Blog that I haven't loved ;) It's a GO!

Find great more menu plans at orgjunkie

Monday, September 03, 2012

Menu Plan Monday {4 New Recipes}

Monday~  Mexican Stuffed Peppers with Quinoa and Black Beans

Tuesday~ Pear Salad with Walnuts and Feta

Wednesday~ Creamy Tomato Soup and grilled cheese

Thursday~ Easy Beef Enchiladas (I'll be using my left over beef from my crockpot recipe)

Friday~ Chicken Caesar Salad


Recipe Reviews: 

Roasted Brussel Sprouts ~ Tim 8/10 (he actually said, " I never thought I liked brussel sprouts, but I like them this way!" Julie 7.5/10, Ease to make 9/10 - So easy! It's a GO!

Linguini with Turkey Meatballs and Roasted Peppers ~ Tim 8/10, Julie 8/10, Ease to make 8/10. This was a solid dish and tasty! I overcooked the meatballs a bit because I was nervous about being sure they were done, so they were a bit tough. But I can fix that next time! It's a GO!

Roasted Tomato BLT Sandwiches ~ Tim 8/10, Julie 9/10, 9.5/10 -Oh -my -word! These were so yummy! It probably sounds silly because it is JUST a BLT, but with that roasted tomato in there - it just brought it to a whole other level! You have got to try it. So easy and tasty! It's a GO!

Shredded Beef Tacos ~ Tim 7.5/10, Julie 7/10, Ease to make 8/10. This was really tasty and easy, but  I'm not sure it was worth the time or money. It's a more expensive cut of meat that I would rather have as a pot roast or something like that instead of shred up into tacos. But that being said, it made a TON of meat. We ate it two days in a row and then I froze three zip lock bags that I will pull out to put into Mexican dishes. So it was worth the money in the end. I'm not sure I would make it again though. NO GO.

Find more great menu plans on Orgjunkie

Monday, August 13, 2012

Menu Plan Monday + 1st Highland Games!

We went to our first Highland Games event last weekend and had so much fun! Here are a few pictures. It was a gorgeous day for it!
Girls and I ready to head into the games
Caber Toss - very cool!

All the important people walking out to get the games started
The pipe band
Watching the pipe band go by!
Look at those gorgeous clouds and green grass :0)
The girls were waving, "Hi Daddy!" as we went by him on the tea cups :) It was their first time. So fun!
And on tap for food in the Baylor house this week...

Monday~ Grilled Chicken, Bacon, and Shredded Cheddar on spinach greens

Tuesday~ Quinoa and Black Beans (153 calories for 1/10 of the recipe)
- I swear I will make it this week! The problem is that I bought dried black beans to save money and keep forgetting to soak them in water the night before! I need to just do a bunch and then freeze them. Why is it so hard to remember?!
Wednesday~ Grilled Salmon with Citrus Salsa Verde (236 calories)
* I'm just going to use the regular cheapest cut of salmon with the skin on and remove the skin before cooking instead of the center cut squares Giada calls for. And I am using honey instead of Agave Nectar. I'm also just going to use a sauté pan since I don't have a grill :)

Thursday~ Lentil Salad (222 calories for 1 cup) - ok. ok. I haven't made this one either even though I think I have posted it twice. I'm not super excited about it, but I have all of the ingredients and just need to try it!

Friday~ Beefy Chuckwagon Soup (317 calories for 1/6 of the soup), bread

Recipe Reviews: 
Curry Chicken Sandwiches~ Tim -7.5/10, Julie 8/10, Ease to Make 8/10. This was so easy to make and light, crunchy, sweet and savory all at the same time! I LOVED all of the fruit, nuts etc in with the chicken. It gave it a nice kick and was filling :) It's a GO!

I'm linked up with orgjunkie

Monday, August 06, 2012

Menu Plan Monday~ August 6, 2012

Monday~  Curry Salad Sandwiches, fruit


Tuesday~ Pizza, salad - we've tried 3 or 4 different recipe and we we like this one the best so far. It's crispy and yet still chewy. YUM! A Big shout out to our friend James :)

Wednesday~ Spaghetti with meatballs and salad

Thursday~ Crispy Chicken Salad

Friday~ Quinoa and Black Beans


Recipe Reviews

Spicy Honey-Brushed Chicken Thighs  Tim and Julie- 8.5/10, Ease to make- 8/10. Easy to make and very tasty! It's a GO!

Easy Taco Salad Tim -7/10, Julie 7.5/10, Ease to make 9/10. It was so easy to make but a bit bland. I would add green chiles, jalepeno peppers, and black beens. With changes, It's a GO!

Chicken Stir Fry Tim-8/10, Julie 8.5, Ease to make 9/10. It was so easy to make and yummy too! I might add something to give it a bit more zing. Danielle, do you have any suggestions with your stir fry expertise? It's a GO!


I'm linked up with Orgjunkie

Monday, June 18, 2012

Menu Plan Monday + 4 Recipe Reviews!

Monday~ Homemade Pizza

 *We've been using this new dough recipe and love it! You mix it by hand and put it in the fridge for up to 3 days to rest an pull it out when you want to use it. You don't have to let it rise at a warm temp at all and when you use it, you only have to stretch it across the pan with your hands - no rolling pin needed! Perfect for a crispy yet chewy thin crust :) We divide it into 4 balls (in medium sized ziplock bags) and put two of them immediately in the freezer for the next weekend.

Tuesday~ Lemon Chicken Rice Soup (275 Calories a serving), bread


Wednesday~ Baked Ziti (331.9 calories per 1/8th of 9x13 pan), salad
Thursday~ Fajitas

Friday~ Grilled chicken over salad, bread

Recipe Review: 

Crusted Honey Mustard Chicken - We are going to try this one again and then rate it because I kind of overcooked it while I was chasing two little ones! But Tim said the taste was really good and would liked to try it again! And its was easy to make :) It's a GO!

Twice Baked Butternut Squash- Tim- 7/10 (but only as a side, not a main dish ;), Julie- 7/10 - I just didn't love it and it was a lot of work! Ease to make 4/10. No Go. X

Warm Pasta Salad with Pecan and Spinach -Tim 4/10, Julie- 4/10, Ease to Make 9/10. It was easy to make, but not worth making. It all smelled so good and looked good, but fell flat. We just didn't like it enough to make it again. No Go. X

Tuna Melt on Rye - Tim - 8/10, Julie- 8.5/10, Ease to make 9/10 - so easy to make and delicious and light! Great for dinner or lunch with guests.  It's a GO!

For more great ideas check out orgjunkie

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Menu Plan Monday~ May 28/12

Monday~  Baked Chicken, salad

Tuesday~  Chicken Burrito Bowl


Wednesday~ Grilled Chicken Cobb Salad


Thursday~ Baby Spinach Omelette and fruit


Friday~  Homemade Pizza - Tim's going to try a new dough recipe from a friend that sits for almost 24 hours before you kneed it! I'll pass it on when I get it :)

Last week's New Recipe Review:

Bruschetta Chicken -Tim 9/10, Julie 9.5/10, Ease to make 9/10 - this was so easy and packed with flavor. I made my own sun dried tomato dressing that I marinated the chicken in and then we used on our salad. What a light and tasty meal! I didn't feel like I was dieting at all :) We are definitely doing this one again!

Stuffed Pepper Soup - Tim 10/10, Julie 9/10, Ease to make 8/10. This was a light and flavourful soup. It simmers for about 30 min, so I feel like the pepper, onions, tomatoes, and garlic flavors really melded together well. So tasty and low fat too :)

Coconut Chicken Salad - Tim 7/10,  Julie 7/10, Ease to make 7/10 - I like the idea of coconut chicken over salad with honey mustard dressing, but I didn't particularly like this coconut chicken recipe. I like the one I have made in the past. As well, the honey mustard was a vinaigrette and I just didn't love the taste - too acidic or something. So I don't think we'll make this exact recipe again. I think I'll use my other chicken recipe and search for a good honey mustard dressing recipe.


For more great recipe ideas go to, orgjunkie

Monday, May 21, 2012

Menu Plan Monday~ May 21/12 + Recipe Review

Well, getting back into the swing of things after vacation with family has been a little tough at points, but good. We are feeling settled back into life and thankful for the wonderful community around us that gives us so much support and the strength to make it until we can(Lord wiling) be with family for the holidays.

Update on Weight Loss Goal- I made a goal last week to get back on track with weight loss by counting the calories of everything I put in my mouth (and stay within limits) for 14 days straight and work out 5x per week (Jillian MIchael's) to prove to myself again that it works if I am strict with myself.
*I have done well with exercising - 5x this past week and I have tracked my calories every day. But I have gone a bit over my limits several days. It's kind of frustrating, but a helpful reminder of calorie counts etc.
*I am remembering how careful I have to be in planning and choosing low calorie, filling, nutritious meals/snacks so I don't waste calories or feel hungry. So the first week was a really good step towards getting back on track, but not exactly what I had hoped. I am going to extend my goal another week and start my tracking again from today and try not to go over my allotted limit of calories! Phew - why is this so hard?! ANY tips that you have found helpful for you would be greatly appreciated :)

Here's my meal plan with a couple of repeats that we didn't get to because of left overs and social gatherings.

Monday~ Spicy Chicken Quesadillas (372 calories a serving) , homemade salsa

Tuesday~ Coconut Chicken Salad with Warm Honey Mustard Vinaigrette (397 calories)


Wednesday~ Grilled Bruschetta Chicken (200 calories), and salad
* I couldn't find "sun dried tomato dressing" here, so I am making my own from this recipe.

Thursday~ Stuffed Pepper Soup (261 calories for 1 1/3 cups soup and 1/2 cup rice if desired)  


Friday~ Chicken Asparagus and Red Roasted Peppers (190 calories per serving without rice)

You can find more great recipe ideas at  orgjunkie

Review of Last Week's New Recipes: 
* Light Chicken Salad - Yum! Tim-9/10, Julie- 9/10, Ease to make- 8/10. We ate it on croissants the first day and then over salad greens the next and added carrots, cucumbers and celery to it. So tasty and light!
* Turkey Meatball Sandwiches - Tim- 6/10, Julie 7/10, Ease to make- 8/10. I think this one is probably just a preference thing. Tim prefers beef meatballs and I just didn't love the sauce-maybe it was the cloves. But I did really like the taste of the meatballs themselves!
* Homemade Pizza -Tim- 10/10, Julie 9/10, Ease to make- 6/10 -this is mainly because the whole process took 3 hours. But oh wow! It was worth it. Tim actually took this one on and I was very impressed! He said it might become an every saturday thing - um, that would be awesome! The dough recipe itself was simple and SO tasty!  I would highly recommend it! I don't have a kitchen aid mixer with a dough hook here, but I do have a hand mixer with two attachable little dough hooks and it worked fine! As well, we couldn't find a pizza stone, so we just used a good rectangle cookie sheet and it worked great :) I also used this homemade sauce recipe which we really liked on the pizza.

Here are a few pics!
We are some lucky girls!




Oh yum! The problem for me of course was not eating too much! Next time I  am making a
BIG SALAD to go along with it :)