Waterford Ladies Football History 1990

1990 saw under age leagues being played along with championships. Ann Fitzpatrick won the Cidona award for ladies Gaelic football and was presented with her trophy at a function in the Clonmel Arms Hotel in January.

A County Board meeting in February decided to run the following competitions:
Under 14 League & Championship
Under 15 League
Under 16A & B Championship
Under 18 Champions
Junior League & Championship
Intermediate & Senior Championship

The league campaign was late starting, it didn't commence until the 8 April, and Waterford hammered Leitrim 5-12 to 0-0 in O'Connor Park, Tullamore. The following week Ballymacarbry travelled to London departing on a Friday playing a London selection on Sunday and returning home on Easter Monday. Round 2 of the league meant a trip to Abbeydorney on the 29 April where Kerry won easily 4-10 to 1-5 but the following Sunday Waterford scored a 4-9 to 1-2 victory over Cork at the Eire Og sports ground. In the Under 16 B final, Kill defeated Na Deise 4-5 to 3-1 and the following week both of these teams joined together to play Ballymacarbry in the Under 16 A final and scored 3-6 to 0-7 victory. Waterford then travelled to Dublin and scored an emphatic 6-11 to 1-2 at St Vincent's club grounds and the last game before the break for exams. On the 27 May was a 4-3 to 2-4 defeat by Laois at O'Moore Park, the game was played after a national hurling league game.

On the 30 June Waterford and Kerry drew in the Munster minor championship 4-4 each in Doneraile and then Waterford defeated Cork by a single point, 4-6 to 5-2 in a thriller at Donoughmore. On the 4 July, Wexford were dispatched 2-11 to 2-00 at Cappoquin and 11 days later Waterford were in Rochfortbridge, scoring a 2-4 to 0-1 victory over Westmeath.

The minor replay saw a good 6-14 to 3-4 victory over Kerry at Doneraile but Clare proved too strong in the Under 16 final at Monaleen winning 2-4 to 1-6 on a not to be forgotten day as the bus hit a pier on the way into the game. Clare went on to win the Under 16 All Ireland defeating Offaly in the final.

The teams also met in the Munster final at Cahir. Waterford weren't too happy at the failure of the referee to award what seemed a definite penalty in the last minute as Clare triumphed 2-5 to 0-9 and went on to record an Under 16 – a minor double, defeating Dublin in the All Ireland minor final.

Cork travelled to Ballymacarbry for the Munster semi-final and duly lost 2-13 to 0-8 to set up a 4th consecutive Munster senior final between Waterford and Kerry. This took place on the 29 August in Cappaquin and Kerry caused a bit of a stir before the game by failing to return the cup. Waterford went into the game confident but Kerry

backed by a powerful midfield combination of Catherine Liston and Mary Jo Curran were never troubled and fully deserved a 1-11 to 0-8 victory. Someone found a shield somewhere and this was presented to the Kerry captain to prevent an embarrassing situation. Waterford: (All Ballymacarbry except where stated): Patricia Butler, Regina Byrne, Martina O'Ryan, Ann Dunford, Noirin Walsh, Ann Fitzpatrick, Dolores Tyrrell, Catriona Casey, Mari O'Ryan 0-1, Aine Wall 0-2, Bernie Ryan 0-1, Colette Whyte (Kilrossanty), Fiona Crotty, Marie Crotty 0-4, Geraldine O'Ryan. Subs: June Whyte (Kilrossanty)

2 weeks later the same 2 teams met in the league final and this time Waterford played much better but Kerry still won at Askeaton (Limerick) 2-11 to 4-3. Aine Wall (2), June Whyte and Sinead Walsh who moved up to attack because of injury scored Waterford's goals. The game marked Mari O'Ryan's last appearance in a Waterford jersey and she also won an all Star award along with Aine Wall and Anne Fitzpatrick.

Kill defeated Sliabh Gcua on the 23rd September in the county junior final at Colligan and on the same day, Ballymacarbry began the Munster club championship campaign with a 5-15 to 0-5 victory over Abbeydorney in Cappamore. Na Deise 3-4 to 1-0 in the minor county final at Modeligo.

Another club final beckoned and it took place on the 14th October, goals by Aine Wall and Catriona Casey paved the way for a 2-8 to 1-2 victory over Fergus Rovers (Clare).

In the All Ireland sevens, Ballymacarbry again travelled with 2 teams and repeated the performances of the previous year winning both the cup and the plate. In the cup final they scored a 7-9 to 3-1 win over Glanworth and the B team defeated Gusserane (Wexford) by 10 points to claim the shield.

On Sunday the 18th November Ballymacarbry travelled to Rochfortbridge for a very tricky All Ireland club semi-final. Again the pitch was deemed unplayable and the game was moved a couple of miles to a new pitch at Tyrrellspass. The 'Bridge' had high hopes but on the day were literally blown away by a vintage Ballymacarbry performance scoring 2-13 to 1-1, Catriona Casey and Fiona Crotty notched the goals and the other principal score getters were Marie Crotty 0-5 and Geraldine O'Ryan 0-3.

This time the venue for the final was much nearer, Semple Stadium against Galway champions St Grellans but Ballymacarbry scored an easy 4-9 to 0-3 victory with Geraldine O'Ryan (2), Aine Wall and Mari O'Ryan scoring the goals. Ballymacarbry: Patricia Butler, Regina Byrne, Martina O'Ryan, Dolores Tyrrell, Noirin Walsh, Sinead Walsh, Ann Dunford, Marie Crotty (0-4), Ann Fitzpatrick, Aine Wall (1-0), Bernie Ryan, Mari O'Ryan (1-0), Fiona Crotty (0-2), Catriona Casey (1-0), Geraldine O'Ryan (2-0). Subs: Cleona Walsh, Deirdre Wall, Michelle Walsh, Marie Fitzpatrick, Natasha Galvin, Catriona O'Gorman, Claire Ryan. Thus Ballymacarbry became the first club to win 3 All Ireland club titles.

Honours:

Ballymacarbry Munster & All Ireland senior club champions
Ballymacarbry All Ireland 7 a side cup champions
Ballymacarbry All Ireland 7 a side plate champions
All Stars: Ann Fitzpatrick Ballymacarbry, (centre half back), Aine Wall Ballymacarbry, (right half forward), Mari O Ryan Ballymacarbry, (left half forward)