CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

Terms of Governors and Commissioners since 1911

Hiram			John Eshleman	H.D. Loveland	Alex Gordon
Johnson 1911-1917			Elected 11-4-1910	Elected 11-4-1910	Elected 11-4-1910
	Max Thelen App'd 3-15-1912	E.O. Edgerton App'd 3-15-1912	Term began 1-1-1911	Term began 1-1-1911	Term began 1-1-1911
			President 1911-14		
	App'd 1-4-1915 President 1915-17	Edgerton re-app'd 1-4-1915	Frank Devlin App'd 1-4-1915	App'd 1-4-1915	App'd 1-4-1915
			Resigned 1-1-1917		
William Stephens			Alex Gordon Re-app'd 1-1-1917		Frank Devlin Re-app'd 1-1-1917
1917-1923	Resigned 6-16- 1918	President 1918-20			
	H.D. Loveland Re-app'd 1-1-1919		Irving Martin App'd 1-1-1919	H.W. Brundige App'd 1-1-1919	-
	Ne-app u 1-1-1919				President until resigned 1-1921
	Re-app'd 1-1-1921	C.H. Rowell		President mid-1921 - 1922	H.S. Benedict
	Died 6-11-1922	App'd 2-2-1921 Resigned 1-1-1923		Resigned 1-1-1923	App'd 5-2-1921
Friend	H.W. Brundige	E. Shore		J.T. Whittlesey	Clyde L. Seavey
Richardson 1923-1927	Re-app'd 1-5-1923	App'd 1-5-1923		App'd 1-5-1923	App'd 1-5-1923 President 1923-24
	President 1925-26	Resigned 6-30-1925	Ezra W. Decoto	G.D. Squires	-
		Leon Whitsell	App'd 1-13-1925	App'd 1-13-1925	
		App'd 7-28-1925		Died 1-31-1926 Thomas Louttit	
C.C. Young	Brundige	Whitsell	President 1927	App'd 7-14-1926	
1927-1931	Re-app'd 1-1-1927 Died 7-16-1927	Re-app'd 1-1-1927			
	William J. Carr App'd 8-2-1927				
		President 1928			
				President 1929	Seavey Re-app'd 1-1-1929
	Resigned 12-31-1930				President 1930
James Rolph	F.S. Stevenot App'd 1-1-1931		William J. Carr Re-app'd 1-1-1931	M.B. Harris App'd 1-1-1931	8-10-1934
1931-1934					
	Wallace L. Ware	Re-app'd 1-1-1933			
Frank	App'd 1-1-1933	President	-		
Merriam 1934-1939		8-1934 to 1935			Frank R. Devlin
					App'd 10-9-1934 Re-app'd 1-1-1935
				President 1936	
	President 1937 until		Ray L. Riley	Ray C. Wakefield	-
	resigned 7-31-1938	_	App'd 1-9-1937	App'd 1-2-1937	
0	C.C. Baker App'd 12-12-1938			President 8-1938-1939	
Culbert Olsen	Baker Re-app'd 1-1-1939	Justus F. Craemer App'd by Governor	Describert 4040		
1939-1943	President 1941	Merriam 1-1-1939	President 1940	Designed 2 04 4044	Francis Havennan
	President 1941			Resigned 3-21-1941 R. Sachse	App'd 1-1-1941
		President 1942		App'd 5-1-1941	
		Fiesident 1342	Fred W. Clark		Dragidant 4042
Earl Warren	Died 1-30-1944		Fred W. Clark App'd 1-1-1943	Re-app'd 1-1-1943	Freshuent 1943
1943-1953	Ira H. Rowell App'd 2-18-1944				Resigned 1-3-1945
	Re-app'd 1-1-1945	Re-app'd 1-1-1945		Resigned 10-31-1945	L.H. Anderson App'd 1-4-1945
				Harold P. Huls App'd 11-9-1945	Re-app'd 1-1-1929 President 1930 until resigned 8-10-1934 Frank R. Devlin App'd 10-9-1934 Re-app'd 1-1-1935 Franck Havenner App'd 1-1-1941 President 1943 Resigned 1-3-1945 L.H. Anderson
				President mid-1946 to 1947	R.E. Mittelstaedt
			Resigned 1-15-1947		
			Kenneth Potter		
			App'd 2-5-1947		President 1948
			Re-app'd 1-1-1949	Re-app'd 1-1-1949	until he retired 4-30-1954
	Peter E. Mitchell	Re-app'd 1-2-195			
	App'd 1-17-1951				
Goodwin				Resigned 9-30-1953	Re-app'd 1-1-1953
Knight 1953-1959	President mid-1954 to			Vacant	Retired
	mid-1958				4-30-1954 Ray Untereiner
			Rex Hardy	Matthew Dooley	App'd 9-8-1954
		Retired	App'd 5-26-1955	App'd 1-24-1955	
		10-31-1956 C. Lyn Fox			

1958				Resigned 2-28-1958			1958
1958			President mid-1958 to mid-	Theodore Jenner			1958
1959	Edmund G.		1959	App'd 3-29-1958		Everett McKeage	1959
1960	"Pat" Brown					App'd 2-16-1959 President until	1960
1961	1959- 1967			Frederick B. Holoboff App'd 1-31-1961	George Grover App'd 1-26-1961	mid-1962	1961
1962				App u 1-51-1901	President mid-1962 to mid-		1962
1963		Re-app'd 1-1-1963	William M. Bennett	-	1963		1963
1964			App'd 1-1-63 President mid-1963 to mid-	President mid-1964 to mid-			1964
1965			1964	1966		A.W. Gatov 2-10-1965	1965
1966		President mid-1966 to mid-1968				Oath of Office	1966
1967	Ronald Reagan			William Symons, Jr. App'd 1-16-1967	Fred P. Morrissey App'd 1-16-1967		1967
1968	1967-1975			President mid-1968 to mid- 1970			1968
1969		John Malagein, Jr	T here M a a a		Resigned 8-31-1969		1969
1969 1970		John Vukasin, Jr. App'd 1-6-1969 President mid-1970 to	Thomas Moran App'd 1-13-1969		Vernon Sturgeon App'd 9- 2-1969		1969 1970
1971		mid-1972				David W. Holmes	1971
1972					President mid-1972 to mid-	App'd 2-10-1971	1972
1973				Re-app'd 1-1-1973	1975 Re-app'd 1-1-1973		1973
1974		Resigned 10-22-1974					1974
1974		Robert McDavid App'd 10-22-1974					1974
1975	Edmund G. "Jerry"	Leonard Ross App'd 1-20-1975				President mid-1975 to 1976	1975
1976	Brown		Robert Batinovich App'd 3-25-1975				1976
1977	1975-1983	Resigned 4-14-1977	President 1977-78			Richard Gravelle App'd 1-26-1977	1977
1977 1078		Claire Dedrick App'd 7-1-1977	Posigned				1977
1978 1979			Resigned 1-16-1979 Vernon Sturgeon	Leonard Grimes, Jr. App'd	John E. Bryson		1978
1980			Re-app'd 1-24-1979	1-26-1979	App'd 1-24-1979 President 1979 until		1980
1981		Priscilla Grew	Victor Calvo	-	resigned 12-31-1982		1981
1982		App'd 3-25-1981	App'd 2-19-1981	President 1982 until			1982
1983	George Deukmejian-			resigned 9-7-1984	William Bagley App'd 5-4-1983	Donald Vial App'd 12-21-1982	1983
1984	1983-1991			Frederick Duda App'd 11-27-1984	App a 5-4-1965	President 9-1984 to 1986	1984
1985				Re-app'd 1-1-1985	Re-app'd 1-1-1985		1985
1986					Resigned 4-7-1986		1986
1986 1987		G. Mitchell Wilk App'd 12-16-1986			Stanley Hulett App'd 5-6-1986 President 1987-88		1986 1987
1988			John B. Ohanian		Freshent 1307-00		1987
1989		President 1989-90	App'd 3-4-1987			Patricia Eckert	1989
1990						App'd 3-13-1989	1990
1991	Pete	Resigned		Norman Shumway App'd 2-	Daniel Fessler App'd 2-	President 1991	1991
1992 1993	Wilson 1991-1999	10-4-1991 Vacant P. Gregory Conlon	Jessie J. Knight, Jr.	12-1991	12-1991 President 1992 thru 4-1996		1992 1993
1995		App'd 2-11-1993	App'd 8-23-1993				1993
1995				Resigned 2-23-1995			1995
1995		-		Henry M. Duque App'd 4-3-		Josiah L. Neeper App'd 9-	1995
1996		President 5-1996 – 12-97		1995	Biohand A Dilas	20-1995	1996
1997 1998				Re-app'd 1-2-1997	Richard A.Bilas App'd 1-2-1997 Resigned 3-8-02		1997 1998
1999	Gray	Carl Wood	Joel Hyatt	-	President 2-1-1998 to 3-1-2000		1999
2000	Davis 1999-2003	App'd 6-21-1999	App'd 6-10-99 Resigned 12-17-99	-	-	-	2000
2000			Loretta Lynch	-			2000
2001			App'd 1-5-00 President March 2000			Geoffrey Brown	2001
2001			to Dec 31, 2002			App'd 1/18/2001	2001
2002					Michael R. Peevey		2002
2003	Davis			Susan Kennedy	App'd 3-10-2002 Michael R. Peevey		2003
2003	reelected Arnold			Appt 1/1/2003 Resigned12/2005	Reapp'd 1-1-2003 President 1-2003		2003
2004	Schwar- zenegger Nov 2003						2004
2004	(Davis was	John Bohn	Dian Grueneich				2004
	(Davis was recalled)	App'd 5/2/2005	App'd 1/1/2005	Paphello Change			2005
2006				Rachelle Chong Appt 1/11/2006			
2007						Timothy Alan Simon App'd 2/15/2007	2007
2008					Reapp'd 12/08		
2009							
2010				Nancy E. Ryan App'd 1/27/10			
				-γρα 1/2// IV			

2011	Edmund G. Brown Jr. 2011-	Mike Florio App'd 1/25/11	Catherine J.K. Sandoval App'd 1/25/11	Mark J. Ferron App'd 3/22/11			
2012						Carla Peterman App't 12/21/2012	
2013							
2014				Michael Picker App'd 1/29/14	-		
2015				Michael Picker Reapp'd 1-1-2015 President 1-1-2015	Liane M. Randolph 1-1-2015 App'd		
2016		Clifford Rechtschaffen App'd 12/28/16	Martha Guzman Aceves App'd 12/28/16				

Prior to mid-1946, the CPUC was called the California Railroad Commission. Updated: January 2017 Commissioners are appointed by the Governor for six-year terms, except those appointed to fill a vacated position.