Earlier recipients of National Women Bio-scientists Award

Awardees for the year 2012

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. NIL

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Saman Habib, Principal Scientist & Head, Division of Molecular & Structural Biology, CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Jankipuram Extension, Sitapur Road, Lucknow -226021
- 2. Dr. Nandini Chatterjee Singh, Additional Professor, National Brain Research Centre, NH-8, Nainwal Mode, Manesar 122 050.

Awardees for the year 2010

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Dr. Madhuri Behari, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi.

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Premila Abraham, Department of Biochemistry, Christian Medical College, Bagayam, Vellore-632002, Tamil Nadu.
- 2. Dr. Sneha Sudha Komath, School of Life Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi-110067.

Awardees for the year 2009

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Prof. Suniti Solomon, Director, MD,FMAMS, DMS(Brown University), Director, YRG Centre for AIDS Research and Education, Voluntary Health Services, Rajiv Gandhi Salai, Taramani, Chennai-600113.

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. (Mrs.) Rita Singh, Scientist 'E', Defence Laboratory, Defence Research & Development Organization, Jodhpur 342 011.
- 2. Dr. Suparna Mukherji, Professor, Centre for Environmental Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.

Awardees for the year 2008

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Prof. Vijaylakshmi Ravindranath, Director, National Brain Research Centre, Manesar.

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Sharmila Avadhut Bapat, NCCS, Pune.
- 2. Dr. Subha Tole, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

Awardees for the year 2007

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Mitali Mukerji, IGIB, New Delhi
- 2. Dr. Sangita Mukhopadhyay, CDFD, Hyderabad
- 3. Dr. Sujata Sharma, AIIMS, New Delhi

Awardees for the year 2006

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Dr. (Mrs.) Manju Sharma, Former Secretary, DBT

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Ramanathan Sowdhamini, NCBS, Bangalore
- 2. Dr. Gagandeep Kang, CMC, Vellore

Awardees for the year 2005

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Dr. Radha Rama Devi, CDFD, Hyderabad

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Suparna Sengupta, RGCB, Thiruvananthapuram
- 2. Dr. Kusum Arunachalam, NERIST, Nirjuli

Awardees for the year 2004

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Dr. Veronica Rodrigues, TIFR, Mumbai

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. T. Das, Bose Institute, Kolkata
- 2. Dr. Ruby John Anto, RGCB, Thiruvananthapuram

Special Award for a Woman Scientist for Awareness Generation in Biotechnology

1. Dr. Deepti Dileep Deobagkar, Bioinformatics Centre, University of Pune

Awardees for the year 2003

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Prof. M. S. Shaila, IISc, Bangalore

Special Award for 'Year of water'

As the year 2003 is the 'Year of water', the Department has awarded a <u>special award</u> to <u>Dr. Indrani Karunasagar</u>, <u>College of Fisheries</u>, <u>University of Agricultural Sciences</u>, <u>Mangalore</u> under the Senior category, for her outstanding work.

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Anita Pandey, GBPHIED, Almora
- 2. Dr. Rukhsana Chowdhury, IICB, Kolkatta

Awardees for the year 2002

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Dr. Dipika Mohanty, Institute of Immunohaematology, Mumbai & Prof. Sipra Guha Mukherjee, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (Joint Award)

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Subhra Chakraborty, National Center for Plant Genome Research, New Delhi
- 2. Dr. S.Nagini, Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar

Special Award for 50th Anniversary of DNA double helix discovery

As the year 2003 is the 50th anniversary of the DNA double helix discovery, the Department has awarded a special award to Dr. Chandrima Saha, NII, New Delhi.

Awardees for the year 2001

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Prof. Kasturi Datta, JNU, New Delhi
- 2. Prof. G. Lakshmi Sita, IISc, Bangalore

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Anuradha Lohia, Bose Institute, Kolkata
- 2. Dr. (Mrs.) Suchitra Banerjee, CIMAP, Lucknow
- 3. Dr. (Mrs.) Sudha Nair, M.S. Swaminathan Res. Foundation, Chennai

Awardees for the year 2000

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Prof. Mehtab S.Bamji, Dangoria Charitable Trust, Hyderabad

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Sunita Grover, NDRI, Karnal
- 2. Dr. M. Lakshmi, MSSRF, Chennai

Awardees for the year 1999

National Senior Woman Bioscientists Award

1. Dr. Asha Mathur, KGMC, Lucknow

National Young Woman Bioscientists Award

- 1. Dr. Malathi Lakshmikumaran, TERI, New Delhi
- 2. Dr. Jaya Tyagi, AIIMS, New Delhi