

Chairmen of Commerzbank board of managing directors

This position has not always been occupied by just one person, but has been alternated between various board members, which explains the overlaps in the list. After the Second World War, nine regional branch groups were established in 1947/48, amalgamated in 1952 to form three main administrative centres in Hamburg, Düsseldorf and Frankfurt. The process of centralisation in Frankfurt am Main began in 1970.

1870 – 1871	Pierre Isaac Plate	Hamburg
1870 – 1871	Gustav Halberstadt	Hamburg
1872 – 1874	Sally Werner	Hamburg
1874 – 1891	Ernest Müller	Hamburg
1891 – 1901	Georg Wellge	Hamburg
1902 – 1908	Wilhelm Heintze	Hamburg
1902 – 1926	Gustav Pilster	Berlin
1908 – 1931	Ferdinand Lincke	Hamburg
1926 – 1936	Carl Harter	Berlin
1931 – 1934	Friedrich Reinhart	Berlin
1934 – 1943	Dr. Paul Marx	Berlin
1934 – 1945	Eugen Bandel	Berlin
1934 – 1945	Dr. Joseph Schilling	Berlin
1952 – 1958	Fritz Höfermann	Düsseldorf
1952 – 1958	Wilhelm Nuber	Frankfurt
1952 – 1958	Robert Gebhardt	Hamburg
1958 – 1961	Dr. Hanns Deuss	Düsseldorf
1961 – 1969	Will Marx	Hamburg
1961 – 1973	Ernst Rieche	Frankfurt
1961 – 1976	Paul Lichtenberg	Düsseldorf/Frankfurt
1976 – 1980	Robert Dhom	Frankfurt
1981	Paul Lichtenberg*	Frankfurt
1981 – 1991	Dr. Walter Seipp**	Frankfurt
1991 – 2001	Dr. h.c. Martin Kohlhaussen	Frankfurt
2001 – 2008	Klaus-Peter Müller	Frankfurt
2008 – 2016	Martin Blessing***	Frankfurt
2016 –	Martin Zielke****	Frankfurt

 ^{*} Appointed to the Board from January to May 1981

^{**} Chief Executive Officer

^{***} Since 7 May 2009 Chief Executive Officer

^{****} Chief Executive Officer