Next CLS Testing Window

Fall 2018 Testing Window

September 17 - October 31, 2018

App Deadline:
Friday, September 7, 2018

See More Dates

CLS Certification
Recognized by ACC

The CLS certification is now recognized by the American College of Cardiology as qualifying criteria to become an Associate of the American College of Cardiology (AACC), a distinguished designation honoring those with advanced training and education in the field of Cardiology.

More Information

CLS Certification Featured on Today's Dietitian

Learn more about this certification and why RDNs should pursue it.

More Information

The Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology

The Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology (ACCL) is an independent certifying organization that has developed standards and an examination in the field of Clinical Lipidology for the growing number of healthcare professionals who are involved in lipid management.

ACCL provides recognition and distinction in the field of Clinical Lipidology for healthcare professionals who successfully credential and complete a written examination. Certification by the ACCL provides benefits to both the practitioner and the profession by:

  • Improving the quality of patient care
  • Setting benchmarks of clinical competency for lipid specialists
  • Encouraging ongoing learning and improvement required for professional excellence over a lifetime of practice
  • Helping healthcare professionals achieve recognition of their specialized training and qualifications
  • Enhancing the credibility of the healthcare professionals and the specialty of Clinical Lipidology in the medical community

To learn more about our exams including eligibility and requirements, click on one of the Certification Pathways below:

CLS Renewal of Certification (ROC)

The ACCL requires that all CLS participate in ROC every 10 years to maintain active status. Those certified in 2007 have been provided with a 1 year extension to apply. If you were certified in 2007or 2008, the application deadline to apply is October 1, 2018.

More Information

Lipid Competency Certificate

The LCC program is open to anyone with a general involvement in the field of lipidology and lipid management. Benchmark your professional competency in the field of clinical lipidology and sharpen your skills.

Learn More

Clinical Lipid Specialist

The CLS program certifies licensed healthcare Professionals and validates their professional credentials to provide specialized care to patients with dyslipidemia and related cardiometabolic conditions.

Learn More

Making a Difference in Lipid Management

See how others are engaging in the professional development opportunities derived from becoming a Clinical Lipid Specialist (CLS).

Deborah S. Croy, DNP, RN, CLS

Deborah S. Croy, DNP, RN, CLS
Bland County Medical Clinic
Bastian, VA

The Clinical Lipid Specialist (CLS) designation has been invaluable to me in many ways. First and foremost, while studying for the examination, my knowledge of the treatment of complex disorders increased more

Randy W. Burden, PharmD, PhC, CLS

Randy W. Burden, PharmD, PhC, CLS
Presbyterian Medical Group
Belen, NM

Healthcare providers with disease-specific expertise will enhance goal-directed care. In this Lipid Spin Article, Dr. Randy Burden explains how the process of becoming an accredited patient-centered medical home has helped improve patient more