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The following commentary is intended to complement 
Battletome: Idoneth Deepkin. It is presented as a series of 
questions and answers; the questions are based on ones 
that have been asked by players, and the answers are 
provided by the rules writing team explain and how the 
rules are intended to be used. The commentaries help 
provide a default setting for your games, but players 
should always feel free to discuss the rules before a 
game, and change things as they see fit if they both want 
to do so (changes like this are usually referred to as 
‘house rules’).

Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes 
are made any changes from the previous version will 
be highlighted in magenta. Where the stated date has 
a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it has had a local 
update, only in that language, to clarify a translation 
issue or other minor correction.

Q: Forgotten Nightmares states that ‘Missile weapons can only 
be used to target an Idoneth Deepkin unit with this battle 
trait if it is the closest visible enemy unit.’ Can I ignore this 
restriction if the attacking unit has an ability that allows it to 
target a unit that is not visible? 
A: No.

Q: If a Hero uses the Cloud of Midnight in the enemy shooting 
phase and is the closest visible unit to an attacker, does this 
stop that attacker from shooting at any other Idoneth 
Deepkin units?
A: Yes.

Q: The rules say that Idoneth Deepkin armies have the ability to 
place two Etheric Vortexes. A Gloomtide Shipwreck is an Etheric 
Vortex that can be placed in two halves. Does this mean that 
the total number of Shipwreck halves that may be placed by an 
Idoneth Deepkin player is 4?
A: No, the total number of Shipwreck halves that may be 
placed is 2. The rules allow the Idoneth Deepkin player 
to set up 2 Etheric Vortex terrain features; as noted on 
its warscroll, if a Gloomtide Shipwreck model is split up, 
each half of the model is 1 terrain feature, and therefore 
each half counts as 1 of the 2 terrain features you can 
set up.

Q: If an Ionrach Royal Council has more than one Tidecaster or 
Soulscryer, do they all need to be within 3" of the Akhelian King 
in order to use the Give Them No Respite command ability?
A: No. You can use the command ability as long as at 
least 1 Tidecaster and 1 Soulscryer is within 3" of the 
Akhelian King.

Q: Does the Ionrach’s Emissary of the Deep Places command 
trait apply after your general is slain?
A: Yes.

Q: Does the Akhelian Corps’ Pulsing Rhythm of the Drums 
ability allow me to re-roll one of the dice in a charge roll, or 
must I re-roll both?
A: You must re-roll both.

Q: The Dormant Energies ability on the Eidolon of Mathlann, 
Aspect of the Sea warscroll says you can re-roll a casting roll, 
and that if you don’t re-roll a casting roll, you can heal D3 
wounds. Can you heal D3 wounds if you use a different ability 
or rule to re-roll the casting roll? 
A: No.

Q: Can I add 1 to save rolls for the Akhelian Leviadon because 
of its Void Drum ability?
A: No – the Leviadon is a Monster with a Wounds 
characteristic of 8 or more, and units containing such 
models never receive the cover save modifier (we instead 
reflected the effect of the Void Drum combined with the 
Leviadon’s thick shell by giving the model a very high 
save roll).

Q: Do Idoneth Deepkin units in an Order army or taken as 
allies in a Stormcast Eternals army gain access to an Enclave?
A: No. 
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