advertisement
Business & Industry News
August 30, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 2:48pm EDT

More Business & Industry News
August 30, 2018

The 'Invisible Hand' Doesn't Control Markets

Aug. 28, 2018 — New socioeconomic research has found that a market disruptor has turned the 'invisible hand' theory on its ... read more

Many Young Adults Lack Financial Literacy, Economic Stability, Study Finds

Aug. 24, 2018 — Many young people lack financial literacy and money-management skills, indicating an urgent need for educational programs to help them enter adulthood better equipped to handle their financial ... read more

Being the Market Leader Is Not Everything

Aug. 24, 2018 — Building customer relationships and strengthening the brand are key to a company's financial success -- more so than being the market leader, a recent study ... read more

Irony Is the New Black

Aug. 22, 2018 — Consuming brands ironically is a way to secretly signal our identity or beliefs to people who know us, according to new ... read more

CEOs Paid Less Than Peers More Likely to Engage in Layoffs, Research Finds

Aug. 21, 2018 — CEOs who are paid less than their peers are four times more likely to engage in layoffs, according to new ... read more

Aug. 20, 2018 — An open plan design, with no partitions between desks ('open bench' configuration), may be healthier than other types of workstation arrangement for office workers, suggests ... read more

Collaborate, but Only Intermittently, Says New Study

Aug. 13, 2018 — Technologies and organizations should be redesigned to intermittently isolate people from each other's work for best collective performance in solving complex ... read more

Aug. 13, 2018 — Ethics Unwrapped, a video-based behavioral ethics curriculum adopted by educational institutions around the world, effectively increases student understanding of ethics and human behavior, according ... read more

Men Are Still More Likely Than Women to Be Perceived as Leaders, Study Finds

Aug. 9, 2018 — Women hold just 26 percent of executive-level positions in S&P 500 companies -- and sadly that is no accident, according to a new ... read more

Families With College Kids More Likely to Lose Their Home During Recessions

Aug. 7, 2018 — In times of economic difficulties, having to pay a child through college could be a major reason for a family to lose their home, according to a new study by U.S. ... read more

Early Mediation Leads to Better Outcomes

Aug. 7, 2018 — The sooner a case is referred to mediation the better, according to the first empirical analysis of mediation in Singapore's ... read more

Drug Prices Not Always Aligned With Value, Researchers Say

Aug. 6, 2018 — In many countries, health care reimbursements for drugs are directly related to their value or net health benefits in treating disease. But a new study shows that's not the case in the United ... read more

Analysis Chronicles Changes in US Investment

Aug. 3, 2018 — A new analysis examines how changes in innovation within firms and a shortage of human capital in the United States in the fields of software and IT have driven US multinational companies to ... read more

Lead or Follow: What Sets Leaders Apart?

Aug. 3, 2018 — Leaders are more willing to take responsibility for making decisions that affect the welfare of others. In a new study, researchers identified the cognitive and neurobiological processes that ... read more

Innovation and Speculation Drive Stock Market Bubble Activity, According to New Study

Aug. 1, 2018 — A group of data scientists conducted an in-depth analysis of major innovations and stock market bubbles from 1825 through 2000 and came away with novel takeaways of their own as they found some very ... read more

States Boost Renewable Energy and Development When Utilities Adopt Renewable Standards

July 23, 2018 — States that require utilities to increase renewable energy see expansion of renewable energy facilities and generation -- including wind and other renewable sources, but especially solar -- according ... read more

Are You Prone to Feeling Guilty? Then You're Probably More Trustworthy, Study Shows

July 19, 2018 — New research finds that when it comes to predicting who is most likely to act in a trustworthy manner, one of the most important factors is the anticipation of ... read more

July 18, 2018 — Climate lobbying is big business. A new analysis shows that between 2000 and 2016, lobbyists spent more than two billion dollars on influencing relevant legislation in the US Congress. ... read more

An Immigrant Workforce Leads to Innovation, According to New Research

July 16, 2018 — New federal restrictions on the temporary H-1B visa, which allows high-skilled foreign workers to be employed by U.S. companies, have increased debate on the economic impacts of the program, but ... read more

Email Incivility Has a Ripple Effect on Households

July 16, 2018 — The negative repercussions of email incivility extend beyond the workplace, and can even negatively affect a domestic partner's attitude toward their own work, says a new ... read more

Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Friday, April 27, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Friday, April 6, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Friday, March 23, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Friday, March 9, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018