advertisement
Astronomy News
September 4, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:21am EDT

More Astronomy News
September 4, 2018

Aug. 16, 2018 — Hubble and other space and ground-based telescopes, astronomers have assembled one of the most comprehensive portraits yet of the universe's evolutionary ... read more

Aug. 16, 2018 — Scientists have uncovered a sprawling new galaxy cluster hiding in plain sight. The cluster, which sits a mere 2.4 billion light years from Earth, is made up of hundreds of individual galaxies and ... read more

Aug. 16, 2018 — Researchers have discovered the unusual evolution of the central star of a planetary nebula in our Milky Way galaxy. The finding sheds light on the future evolution, and more importantly, the ... read more

Aug. 15, 2018 — The Earth's building blocks seem to be built from 'pretty normal' ingredients, according to researchers working with the world's most powerful telescopes. Scientists have measured ... read more

Aug. 15, 2018 — Exoplanets can orbit close to their host star. When the host star is much hotter than our sun, then the exoplanet becomes as hot as a star. The hottest 'ultra-hot' planet was discovered ... read more

Aug. 14, 2018 — A team of astronomers has made a surprising discovery: 12.5 billion years ago, the most opaque place in the universe contained relatively little ... read more

Historic Space Weather Could Clarify What's Next

Aug. 13, 2018 — Scientists have discovered an underlying repeatable pattern in how space weather activity changes with the solar cycle - having analysed solar activity for the last half ... read more

Earth Mini-Moons: Potential for Exciting Scientific and Commercial Opportunities

Aug. 13, 2018 — The detection of 'mini-moons' -- small asteroids temporarily captured in orbit around Earth -- will vastly improve our scientific understanding of asteroids and the Earth-moon system. Small ... read more

Aug. 12, 2018 — Hours before the rise of the very star it will study, NASA's Parker Solar Probe launched from Florida Sunday to begin its journey to the Sun, where it will undertake a landmark mission. The ... read more

Aug. 9, 2018 — In a new study, astronomers show how gas expelled in the merger of two small galaxies can linger across vast distances for billions of years, where it may eventually feed gas to more massive galaxies ... read more

Aug. 9, 2018 — An unusual kind of star-planet hybrid atmosphere is emerging from studies of ultrahot planets orbiting close to other ... read more

Aug. 9, 2018 — A newly developed prototype flexible heat shield for spacecraft could reduce the cost of space travel and even aid future space missions to ... read more

Aug. 8, 2018 — A glittering host of galaxies populate this rich image taken with ESO's VLT Survey Telescope, a state-of-the-art 2.6-m telescope designed for surveying the sky in visible light. The features of ... read more

Aug. 7, 2018 — Chorus waves are electromagnetic waves. Converted to sound they sound like singing and chirping birds at dawn. They can cause polar lights above the Earth as well as damage to satellites. Now, a team ... read more

Aug. 7, 2018 — Forty-four planets in planetary systems beyond our own have been unveiled in one go, dwarfing the usual number of confirmations from extrasolar surveys, which is typically a dozen or less. The ... read more

Aug. 6, 2018 — Before NASA's Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS) started science operations on July 25, 2018, the planet hunter sent back a stunning sequence of serendipitous images showing the motion ... read more

Aug. 6, 2018 — Scientists believe the solar system was formed some 4.6 billion years ago when a cloud of gas and dust collapsed under gravity possibly triggered by a cataclysmic explosion from a nearby massive star ... read more

Aug. 3, 2018 — NASA has introduced the first U.S. astronauts who will fly on American-made, commercial spacecraft to and from the International Space Station -- an endeavor that will return astronaut launches to ... read more

Aug. 3, 2018 — Astronomers have detected a possible planetary-mass object with a surprisingly powerful magnetic field some 20 light-years from Earth. It can help scientists better understand magnetic processes on ... read more

Aug. 2, 2018 — Observations from the Gemini South and other telescopes in Chile played a critical role in understanding light echoes from a stellar eruption which occurred almost 200 years ago. Gemini spectroscopy ... read more

Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Friday, July 20, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018