IEEE JACK A. MORTON AWARD RECIPIENTS

Beginning with the year 2000 presentation, the Jack A. Morton Award will be renamed the <u>IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award</u>.

| 1999 - CHARLES H. HENRY Lucent Technologies, Bell Laboratories Murray Hill, NJ | "For fundamental contributions to the understanding of the optical properties of quantum wells and semiconductor lasers." |
|---|--|
| 1998 - ISAMU AKASAKI Meijo University Nagoya, Japan and SHUJI NAKAMURA Nichia Chemical Industries, Ltd. Tokushima, Japan | "For contributions in the field of group-III nitride materials and devices." |
| 1997 - CHENMING HU University of California Berkeley, CA | "For outstanding contributions to the physics and modeling of MOS device reliability." |
| 1996 - ROBERT W. DUTTON Stanford University Stanford, CA | "For seminal contributions to semiconductor process and device modeling." |
| 1995 - YOSHIO NISHI Hewlett-Packard Company Palo Alto, CA | "For contributions to the basic understanding and innovative development of MOS device technology." |
| 1994 - ROBERT E. KERWIN AT&T Warren, NJ and DONALD L. KLEIN IBM Corporation Hopewell Junction, NY and JOHN C. SARACE Rockwell International Anaheim, CA | "For pioneering work and the basic patent on the self-aligned silicon-gate process, a key element in fabrication of very large scale integrated circuits." |
| 1993 - TOSHIHISA TSUKADA Hitachi, Ltd. Tokyo, Japan | "For contributions to the discovery and development of Buried Heterostructure (BH) semiconductor lasers." |
| 1992 - TAKUO SUGANO University of Tokyo Tokyo, Japan | "For contributions to Metal-Insulator- Semiconductor Devices and Technology." |
| 1991 - TAK H. NING HWA N. YU IBM Corporation Yorktown Height, NY | "For contributions to the development of advanced bipolar and MOS devices." |

IEEE JACK A. MORTON AWARD RECIPIENTS

Beginning with the year 2000 presentation, the Jack A. Morton Award will be renamed the <u>IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award</u>.

| 1990 - GREGORY E. STILLMAN University of Illinois Urbana, IL and CHARLES M. WOLFE Washington University St. Louis, MO | "For the growth and characterization of ultra-high purity gallium arsenide and related compounds." |
|---|---|
| 1989 - CHIH-TANG SAH University of Illinois Urbana, IL | "For contributions to the understanding of semiconductor defects and the physics of MOS devices." |
| 1988 - FRANK STERN IBM Corp. Yorktown Heights, NY | "For contributions to the theory of injection lasers and two-dimensional electron gases." |
| 1987 - DENNIS D. BUSS and RICHARD A. CHAPMAN and MICHAEL A. KINCH Texas Instruments Dallas, TX | "For the demonstration and development of mercury cadmium telluride monolithically-integrated charge-coupled device focal plane arrays." |
| 1986 - HERBERT KROEMER University of California Santa Barbara, CA | "For pioneering the theory and device applications of semiconductor heterostructures." |
| 1985 - ROBERT D. BURNHAM and WILLIAM STREIFER Xerox Corp. Palo Alto, CA and DONALD R. SCIFRES Spectra Diode Laboratories San Jose, CA | "For contributions to electrically pumped distributed feedback lasers and high-power phased-locked laser arrays." |
| 1984 - HANS S. RUPPRECHT and JERRY M. WOODALL IBM Corp. Yorktown Heights, NY | "For pioneering work in gallium aluminum arsenide heterojunctions and high efficiency light emitting diodes and injection lasers prepared by liquid phase epitaxy." |
| 1983 - JUN-ICHI NISHIZAWA Tohoku University Sendai, Japan | "For invention and development of the class of static induction transistors (SIT) and for advances in optoelectronic devices." |
| 1982 - DOV FROHMAN-BENTCHKOWSKY INTEL Elec. Jerusalem, Israel | "For contributions to non-volatile semiconductor memories." |
| 1981 - NICK HOLONYAK, JR. University of Illinois Urbana, IL | "For pioneering work in quantum well lasers and contributions to visible semiconductor lasers and light-emitting diodes." |

IEEE JACK A. MORTON AWARD RECIPIENTS

Beginning with the year 2000 presentation, the Jack A. Morton Award will be renamed the <u>IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award</u>.

| 1980 - JAMES F. GIBBONS Stanford University Stanford, CA | "For pioneering contributions to the use of ion implantation in the fabrication of semiconductor devices." |
|--|--|
| 1979 - MARTIN P. LEPSELTER Bell Laboratories Murray Hill, NJ | "For invention of the beam-lead structure and metallurgy used in silicon integrated circuits." |
| 1978 - JURI MATISOO IBM Corp. Yorktown Heights, NY | "For pioneering the Josephson computer technology." |
| 1977 - MORGAN SPARKS Sandia Corp. Albuquerque, NM | "For contributions to solid-state device technology and the management of research and development." |
| 1976 - ROBERT N. HALL General Electric Co. Schenectady, NY | "For outstanding achievement in solid-state physics and chemistry and the invention and development of semiconductor devices." |