Legislative Terms of Office

Legislative terms of office are set by Article III, § 6 of the South Dakota Constitution which states in part:

... The terms of office of the members of the Legislature shall be two years.

...No person may serve more than four consecutive terms or a total of eight consecutive years in the senate and more than four consecutive terms or a total of eight consecutive years in the house of representatives. However, this restriction does not apply to partial terms to which a legislator may be appointed.

Legislator Listing by Current Term of Office

(As of August 8, 2018)

4th Term

Elected in 2010, reelected in 2012, 2014 and 2016. Ineligible to run for the same seat in 2018. (* indicates also served a partial term-Governor appointed)

Senators

Jason Frerichs Deb Peters Billie H. Sutton Larry Tidemann

Representatives

Kristin Conzet * Spencer Hawley Tona Rozum Burt E. Tulson

3rd Term

Elected in 2012, reelected in 2014 and 2016, eligible to run in 2018. Ineligible to run for the same seat in 2020.

Senators Bob Ewing Phil Jensen Jeff Monroe Ernie Otten Deb Soholt Jim White

Representatives

| Julie Bartling | Herman Otten |
|--------------------|-----------------|
| Blaine B. Campbell | Lee Qualm |
| Mary Duvall | Nancy Rasmussen |
| Leslie Heinemann | Ray Ring |
| Timothy R. Johns | Tim Rounds |
| Dan Kaiser | Kyle Schoenfish |
| Isaac Latterell | Karen Soli |
| Elizabeth May | Mike Stevens |
| G. Mark Mickelson | |

2nd Term

Elected in 2014, reelected in 2016, eligible to run in 2018 and 2020. Ineligible to run for the same seat in 2022. (* indicates also served a partial term-Governor appointed)

| <u>Senators</u> | <u>Representatives</u> | |
|------------------|------------------------|------------------|
| Gary Cammack | David Anderson * | Thomas Holmes |
| R. Blake Curd * | Arch Beal | Jean Hunhoff |
| Brock Greenfield | Shawn Bordeaux | Sam Marty |
| Terri Haverly | Thomas Brunner | Steven McCleerey |
| Troy Heinert | Lynne DiSanto | Kent Peterson |
| Arthur Rusch | Lana Greenfield | Mark Willadsen * |
| Alan Solano * | Steven Haugaard | Larry Zikmund |

<u>1st Term</u>

Elected in 2016, eligible to run in 2018, 2020 and 2022. Ineligible to run for the same seat in 2024. (* indicates also served a partial term-Governor appointed)

| <u>Senators</u> | <u>Representatives</u> | | |
|----------------------|--|-----------------------|--|
| Jim Bolin | Dan Ahlers | John Lake | |
| Justin Cronin | Hugh Bartels | Oren Lesmeister | |
| Craig Kennedy | Lance Carson | Steve Livermont | |
| Kevin Killer | Roger D. Chase | David Lust ** | |
| Joshua Klumb | Michael Clark | John Mills | |
| Jack Kolbeck | Drew Dennert | Sue Peterson | |
| Kris Langer | Julie Frye-Mueller | Tom Pischke | |
| Ryan Maher | Bob Glanzer | Tim Reed | |
| Stace Nelson | Tim Goodwin | Larry Rhoden | |
| Reynold Nesiba | Spencer Gosch | Jamie Smith | |
| Al Novstrup | Taffy Howard | Wayne H. Steinhauer * | |
| Jeffrey D. Partridge | Greg Jamison | Charles M. Turbiville | |
| Lance Russell | Kevin Jensen | Susan Wismer | |
| Jim Stalzer | David Johnson | Nancy York | |
| Neal Tapio | Chris Karr | | |
| John Wiik | Jason Kettwig | | |
| Jordan Youngberg | **David Lust was appointed to serve the full | | |
| | 2017-18 term. He served a partial term in 2016 | | |
| | and is eligible to run in 2018, 2020 and 2022. | | |

Partial Term

Appointed by the Governor in 2017 or 2018, eligible to run for the same seat in 2018, 2020, 2022 and 2024. Ineligible to run for the same seat in 2026.

Senators

Margaret Sutton

Representatives

Doug Barthel, Scyller Borglum, Michael Diedrich, Rebecca Reimer, and Marli Wiese