

AFRICAN ZONE

BASIC CONDITIONS

Member Associations (MAs):	53
Participating Member Associations (PMAs):	52
Qualification Slots:	5

PARTICIPATING MEMBER ASSOCIATIONS

- Algeria
- Angola
- Benin
- Botswana
- Burkina Faso
- Burundi
- Cameroon
- Cape Verde Islands
- Central African Republic
- Chad
- Comoros
- Congo
- Congo DR
- Côte d'Ivoire
- Djibouti
- Egypt
- Equatorial Guinea

- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Gabon
- Gambia
- Ghana
- Guinea
- Guinea-Bissau
- Kenya
- Lesotho
- Liberia
- Libya
- Madagascar
- Malawi
- Mali
- Mauritius
- Morocco
- Mozambique
- Namibia

- Niger
- Nigeria
- Rwanda
- São Tomé e Principe
- Senegal
- Seychelles
- Sierra Leone
- Somalia
- South Africa
- Sudan
- Swaziland
- Tanzania
- Togo
- Tunisia
- Uganda
- Zambia
- Zimbabwe

NB:

Did not register for competition: Mauritania



AFRICAN ZONE

PRELIMINARY COMPETITION FORMAT & DRAW PROCEDURES

ROUND ONE

- The 24 lowest-ranked PMAs, PMA Rank 29 through to PMA Rank 52 (based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of July 2011), will contest Round One.
- The 24 teams will be paired into 12 home-and-away series.
- The matches are foreseen to be played in the period 11-15 November 2011.
- The 12 series winners advance to Round Two.

ALLOCATION TO POTS:

■ The 24 Round One teams will be allocated to two pots of 12 teams based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of July 2011. The top 12 teams will be placed in Pot 5; the remaining 12 teams will be placed in Pot 6.

Pot 5	Pot 6
1.	13.
2.	14.
3.	15.
4.	16.
5.	17.
6.	18.
7.	19.
8.	20.
9.	21.
10.	22.
11.	23.
12.	24.

DRAW PROCEDURE:

- The teams will be drawn into 12 home-and-away series for Round One.
- The draw starts with a ball from Pot 6. This team will play in Series 1 and will play at home in the first leg of the series. The draw continues with a ball from Pot 5. This team will complete the pairing of Series 1 and will play at home in the second leg of the series.
- The draw then continues accordingly by alternating between Pot 6 and Pot 5 to determine Series 2 through 12.
- The winner of Series 1 will be identified as "Winner 1"; the winner of Series 2, "Winner 2"; and so
 on.



AFRICAN ZONE

ROUND TWO

- The 12 Round One winners will then join the remaining 28 PMAs in Round Two.
- The 40 teams will be drawn into ten round-robin, home-and-away groups of four teams each.
- The matches are foreseen to be played in the period 1 June 2012 to 10 September 2013.
- The ten group winners advance to Round Three.

ALLOCATION TO POTS:

- The 40 Round Two teams will be allocated to four pots of ten teams based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of July 2011.
- The top ten teams will be placed in Pot 1; the ten next best teams will be placed in Pot 2; the next eight teams will be placed in Pot 3 along with Winner 1 and Winner 2 from Round One. Winner 3 through to Winner 12 from Round One will be placed in Pot 4.

Pot 1	Pot 2	Pot 3	Pot 4
1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9.	11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19.	21. 22. 23. 24. 25. 26. 27. 28. • Winner 1 • Winner 2	 Winner 3 Winner 4 Winner 5 Winner 6 Winner 7 Winner 8 Winner 9 Winner 10 Winner 11 Winner 12

DRAW PROCEDURE:

- The teams will be drawn into ten groups of four teams for Round Two.
- The teams in Pot 4 are placed in position 4 of each group; the teams in Pot 3 in position 3; the teams from Pot 2 in position 2; and the teams from Pot 1 in position 1.
- The draw starts with Pot 4 and ends with Pot 1.
- Groups are filled starting with Group A and ending with Group J.



AFRICAN ZONE

Group A 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group B 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group C 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group D 1. 2. 3. 4.
Group E 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group F 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group G 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group H 1. 2. 3. 4.
	Group I 1. 2. 3. 4.	Group J 1. 2. 3. 4.	

ROUND THREE

- The ten group winners from Round Two will contest Round Three.
- The ten teams will be paired into five home-and-away series.
- The matches are foreseen to be played in the periods 11-15 October and 15-19 November 2013.
- **③** The five teams that win their respective series qualify for the 2014 FIFA World Cup™.

DRAW PROCEDURE:

■ The draw date, location and procedure for Round Three will be confirmed by the end of Round Two by the Organising Committee for the 2014 FIFA World Cup BrazilTM.