

Crossbench hereditary peers' by-election, March 2019: result

In the by-election following the death of Viscount Slim, 28 valid votes were cast. All excepted hereditary peers belonging to the Crossbench group, 31 in total, were eligible to vote.

On the first count, of the 14 candidates, 8 received one or more first-preference votes. There were no transfers of votes. The votes for the final two candidates were:

Lord Meston 4 votes Lord Ravensdale 18 votes

The successful candidate was therefore **Lord Ravensdale**.

Overleaf are details of the votes cast for each candidate. The left-hand column lists all candidates. The next column shows the number of first-preference votes for each candidate. As there were no transfers of votes there were no subsequent counts required. The penultimate row shows the total number of votes. The last row shows the number of votes required for a candidate to be elected—i.e. half the total (rounded up if necessary).

Note on the voting system

- The election was conducted using the alternative vote system (also known as preferential voting).
- Under this system, voters rank in order as many candidates as they wish.
- Initially only first-preference votes are counted.
- If the vote for any one candidate equals or exceeds the votes for all the other candidates combined, that candidate is elected.
- Otherwise the votes for the candidate or candidates with fewest votes (or, in the
 event of a tie, fewest first-preference votes) are transferred to whichever of the
 continuing candidates is marked by that voter as their next available preference, and
 the votes thus transferred are added to the first-preference votes of those
 candidates. The process is repeated until one candidate has as many votes as all the
 other remaining candidates combined.
- Any paper on which no further preference is marked is set aside as non-transferable.

The poll was supervised and the count was conducted by Electoral Reform Services. Lord Hope of Craighead acted as scrutineer.

27 March 2019

Ed Ollard
Clerk of the Parliaments

Distribution of votes

	First-preference votes
Albemarle, E.	I
Aldington, L.	I
De Ramsey, L.	I
Dormer, L.	I
Effingham, E.	0
Glenconner, L.	I
Hampton, L.	0
Hankey, L.	I
Meston, L.	4
Mountgarret, V. (Mountgarret, L.)	0
Powerscourt, V. (Powerscourt, L.)	0
Ravensdale, L.	18
Southampton, L.	0
Spens, L.	0
VOTES EXCLUDED AT EACH STAGE	N/A
TOTAL CONTINUING VOTES AT EACH STAGE	N/A
VOTES NEEDED IN ORDER TO BE ELECTED	14