FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Professional Hockey Writers Association, Carolina chapter April 25, 2013

FAULK, DWYER WIN WRITERS' AWARDS

Two members of the Carolina Hurricanes were honored in voting by the Carolina chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association on Thursday. **Justin Faulk** was named the team's Most Valuable Player, while **Patrick Dwyer** won the Josef Vasicek Award for cooperation with the local media.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association vote on the NHL's first and second All-Star teams as well as the Hart, Norris, Calder, Selke and Masterton trophies. The Carolina chapter earlier this month nominated **Dan Ellis** for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, which honors sportsmanship, perseverance and dedication to the game of hockey.

Past winners	MVP	Josef Vasicek Award
2012	Eric Staal	Jay Harrison
2011	Cam Ward	Jussi Jokinen
2010	Jussi Jokinen	Eric Staal
2009	Cam Ward	Tuomo Ruutu
2008	Eric Staal	Cam Ward
2007	Ray Whitney	Mike Commodore
2006	Eric Staal	Aaron Ward
2004	Sean Hill	Kevyn Adams
2003	Ron Francis	Kevyn Adams
2002	Ron Francis	Arturs Irbe
2001	Arturs Irbe	Glen Wesley

Contact: Chip Alexander, News & Observer, 919-812-7176