

# PRELIMINARY DRAW INFORMATION

# **AFRICA**



### **BASIC CONDITIONS**

Member Associations (MAs):

Participating Member Associations (PMAs):

**Oualification Slots:** 

\*Including host South Africa

Stage 1	Stage 2	Stage 3
_	55 55	
	<b>35 5 5</b>	<b>→</b>
	55 55	
	55 55	

PARTICIPATING MEMBER ASSOCIATIONS

- 1. Cameroon
- 2. Nigeria
- 3. Côte d'Ivoire
- 4. Morocco
- 5. Ghana
- 6. Tunisia
- 7. Egypt
- 8. Guinea
- 9. Senegal
- 10. Mali
- 11. Angola
- 12. Togo
- 13. Zambia
- 14. South Africa
- 15. Cape Verde Islands
- 16. Congo DR
- 17. Algeria
- 18. Burkina Faso

19. Benin

**53** 

53\*

5+1\*

- 20. Mozambique
- 21. Libya
- 22. Ethiopia
- 23. Congo
- 24. Zimbabwe
- 25. Uganda
- 26. Botswana
- 27. Equatorial Guinea
- 28. Tanzania
- 29. Gabon
- 30. Malawi
- 31. Sudan
- 32. Burundi
- 33. Liberia
- 34. Rwanda
- 35. Eritrea
- 36. Namibia

- 37. Gambia
- 38. Mauritania
- 39. Kenya
- 40. Chad
- 41. Lesotho 42. Mauritius
- 43. Niger
- 44. Swaziland
- 45. Seychelles
- 46. Sierra Leone
- 47. Madagascar
- 48. Comoros
- 49. Central African Republic
- 50. Guinea-Bissau
- 51. Somalia
- 52. Djibouti
- 53. São Tomé e Príncipe

As per the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of July 2007

## **PRELIMINARY COMPETITION**

### **STAGE ONE**

- The 10 lowest ranked PMAs (FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of July 2007) contested Stage One.
- The teams were paired into 5 home-and-away series.



### PRELIMINARY DRAW INFORMATION

# **AFRICA**



- The winners of each series advance to Round Two.
- Update: After São Tomé e Príncipe and Central African Republic withdrew from the competition, Swaziland and Seychelles received a bye for the second stage, as the two next best-ranked teams (as per the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of July 2007).

### **STAGE TWO**

- The 3 Stage One series winners will then join the 45 remaining PMAs (incl. South Africa) in Stage Two.
- The 48 teams will then be grouped into 12 round-robin, home-and-away groups of 4 teams.
- The group winners and 8 best runners-up will advance to Stage Three.

### **STAGE THREE**

- The 12 Stage Two group winners and 8 best Stage Two group runners-up will contest Stage Three
- The 20 teams will then be grouped into 5 round-robin, home-and-away groups of 4 teams.
- **1** The 5 group winners from Stage Three qualify for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™.
- **③** South Africa to participate in the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ as host.

South Africa will participate in the Preliminary Competition of the FIFA World  $Cup^{TM}$  as the competition also serves as the qualifying competition for the Africa Cup of Nations. If qualified for Stage Three, South Africa will play in its group. The points it obtains will count towards the Africa Cup of Nations but not for the FIFA World  $Cup^{TM}$ .

### **PRELIMINARY DRAW**

### **STAGE TO BE DRAWN**

• Stage Two will be drawn at the Preliminary Draw in Durban, South Africa.

### **DRAW FORMAT**

- The 48 Stage Two teams (45 remaining PMAs and 3 Stage One winners) will be allocated to 4 pots of 12 teams based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of of July 2007. The top 12 teams will be placed in Pot A; the next 12 best teams will be placed in Pot B; and so on.
- The teams will be drawn into 12 groups of 4 teams.
- The draw starts with Pot D and ends with Pot A.
- The teams in Pod D are placed in position 4 of each group; the teams in Pot C in position 3; the teams from Pot B in position 2; and the teams from Pot A in position 1.
- Groups are filled starting with Group 1 and ending with Group 12.