Irving Kristol Award & Annual Dinner

The 2018 Irving Kristol Award recipient is Boris Johnson

Boris Johnson was elected Member of Parliament for Uxbridge and South Ruislip in May 2015. He recently served as Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs but stood down in July 2018. Before this, he was Mayor of London for eight years. He was elected to this position with the largest personal mandate in British political history.

Before serving as Mayor, he was editor of the Spectator, Member of Parliament for Henley on Thames, shadow Minister for the Arts, and shadow Minister for Higher Education.

Johnson has won several awards for journalism, both as editor and columnist. He still writes a weekly column for the Daily Telegraph. He is also the author of many books, notably The Churchill Factor: How One Man Made History (Riverhead Books, 2014), Johnson's Life of London: The People Who Made the City That Made the World (Riverhead Books, 2011), Have I Got Views for You (Harper Perennial, 2006), and The Dream of Rome (HarperCollins, 2006).

The Irving Kristol Award is the highest honor conferred by the American Enterprise Institute. AEI gives the award annually to an individual who has made exceptional intellectual and practical contributions to improve government policy, social welfare, or political understanding.


Join the conversation


Listen to the podcast about Boris Johnson

Get the best from AEI each morning

The latest from AEI experts delivered to your inbox at 6 a.m. ET


Sort By:

Refine Content:


Additional Keywords:

Refine Results
Refine Content