VOTES & PROCEEDINGS 0F THE FIFTEENTH PARLIAMENT

No. 25

Fourth Sitting of the Eighth Meeting Thursday, 15th April 2004

10.00 a.m.

- 1. The House met in accordance with the resolution made on Tuesday, 13th April 2004.
- 2. The Hon. Terangi Adam, M.P., Deputy Speaker of Parliament, took the Chair and read Prayers.

3. **Election of Speaker**

The Chair called for nominations to fill the vacancy in the Office of Speaker of Parliament.

There being no nominations forthcoming, the Chair, upon request from various Members, suspended the sitting for one hour and to resume when the bell rings.

Resumed.

4. The Chair again called for nominations for Speaker. There being no nominations forthcoming, the election of Speaker was deferred to the next sitting day.

5. Motion Fixing the Date for the Next Sitting

His Excellency President Rene Harris, M.P., moved that Parliament at its rising do adjourn until next Thursday, 22nd April 2004 at 10.00 a.m.

The Hon. Derog Gioura, M.P., (Minister Assisting the President) seconded.

6. **Motion of Amendment**

Dr. Keke (Yaren) moved to amend the motion -

"That Parliament at its rising do adjourn until next Tuesday, 20th April 2004 at 10 a.m."

Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) seconded.

Question put and negatived.

7. **Division of the House Called for**

Mr. Ribauw (Ubenide) and Dr. Keke (Yaren) called for division. The House divided.

AYES		NOES	
Dr. Keke	Mr. Ribauw	Mr. Harris	Mr. Clodumar
Mr. Adeang	Mr. Jeremiah	Mr. Gioura	Mr. Namaduk
Mr. Stephen	Mr. Waqa	Mr. Botelanga	Mr. Kun
Mr. Akua	Mr. Scotty	Mr. Ekwona	Mr. Detenamo
Mr. Thoma	-		
Total - 9		Total - 8	

10tai - 9

The question on the motion of amendment was resolved in the affirmative. Then the House at fifty minutes past eleven o'clock a.m. adjourned until Tuesday, 20th April 2004 at 10.00 a.m.

Members Present

All Members were present at some time during the sitting.

John Garabwan **Deputy Clerk of Parliament**