Directors-General of the Ordnance Survey

Name	Dates	Notes
Colonel Edward Williams	1791-1798	
Major General William Mudge	1798-1820	
Major General Thomas Colby	1820-1847	
Colonel Lewis Alexander Hall	1847-1854	
Major General Sir Henry James	1854-1875	
Major General John Cameron	1875-1878	
Colonel Alexander Ross Clarke	1878	*
Major General Anthony C. Cooke	1878-1883	
Colonel Richard H. Stotherd	1883-1886	
Colonel Sir Charles William Wilson	1886-1894	
Colonel John Farquharson	1894-1899	
Colonel Sir Duncan A. Johnston	1899-1905	
Colonel R.C. Hellard	1905-1908	
Colonel Samuel Charles Norton Grant	1908-1911	
Colonel Sir Charles Frederick Close	1911-1922	
Brigadier Evan MacLean Jack	1922-1930	
Brigadier Harold St John Loyd Winterbotham		
	1930-1934	
Major-General Malcolm Neynoe MacLeod	1935-1943	
Major-General Geoffrey Cheetham	1943-1949	
Major-General Reginald Llewelyn Brown	1949-1953	
Major-General John Christopher Temple Willis		
	1953-1957	
Major-General L.F. de Vic Carey	1957-1961	
Major-General A.H. Dowson	1961-1965	
Major-General R.C.A. Edge	1965-1969	
Major-General Brian St-G. Irwin	1969-1977	*
Walter P. Smith	1977-1985	
Peter McMaster	1985-1991	
Professor David Rhind	1992-1998	
Geoffrey Robinson	1998-1999	
David Willey	1999-2000	*
Vanessa Lawrence	2000-	

Notes

- * Col A.R. Clarke was acting head for a short period in 1878 following Cameron's unexpected death.
- * Major-General Irwin's appointment was originally a military one, but it was changed to a civil one in 1974. Since then the post has been a civil appointment.
- * Mr Willey was Acting Director-General following Mr Robinson's resignation.

The title was originally 'Superintendent'; it was changed to Director-General sometime between 1857 and 1875, although plain 'Director' was used more often between the 1860s and the 1890s, and was changed to Director General and Chief Executive sometime between 1985 and 1991.