11.02 hrs.

Title: References made to the passing away of Shri L. Balaraman (Member of Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh Lok Sabha) on 26 February, 2002; Shri K. Narayana Rao (Member of Fourth and fifth Lok Sabha) on 3rd March; Shri Surendra Jha Suman (Member of Sixth Lok Sabha) on 5th March and Shri Shankar Lal Sharma (Member of Eighth Lok Sabha) on 30th March, respectively.

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: Hon. Members, I rise to inform the House of the sad demise of four of our former colleagues, namely, Shri L. Balaraman, Shri K. Narayana Rao, Shri Surendra Jha Suman and Shri Shankar Lal Sharma.

Shri L. Balaraman was a Member of Eighth, Ninth and Eleventh Lok Sabha from 1984 to 1991 and during 1996-97 representing Vandavasi Parliamentary Constituency of Tamil Nadu.

An active parliamentarian, Shri Balaraman was a Member of various Parliamentary and Consultative Committees.

Earlier, Shri Balaraman was a Member of Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 1967 to 1971 and 1980 to 1984 and Tamil Nadu Legislative Council from 1972 to 1978. He also served as a Member of the various Committees of the State Legislature.

An agriculturist by profession, Shri Balaraman took special interest in farming, rural development and Panchayati Raj System. He was Chairman of Panchayat Council, Kaniyambadi, District North Arcot, Tamil Nadu from 1961 to 1965 and during 1970-71.

A widely travelled person, Shri Balaraman was a delegate to the World Peace Council Conference in Denmark in 1986.

A well known social and political worker, Shri Balaraman worked relentlessly for the uplift of the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes and other backward classes. He also took keen interest in improving the educational facilities in rural areas.

Shri L. Balaraman passed away on 26 February, 2002 at Vellore, Tamil Nadu at the age of 70.

Shri K. Narayana Rao was a Member of Fourth and Fifth Lok Sabha from 1967 to 1977 representing Bobbili Parliamentary Constituency of Andhra Pradesh.

An advocate by profession, Shri Rao held various important positions in Law Commission before entering politics. He also served as Vice-President, Indian Society of International Law, New Delhi.

An active Parliamentarian, Shri Rao was Chairman of Joint committee on Offices of Profit during 1967-68 and Member of Committee on Public Undertakings during 1976-77.

An able administrator, Shri Rao was Member of Andhra Pradesh State Transport Authority.

Shri Rao, who had special interest in legal matters, published several research papers on Constitutional Law, International Law and the United Nations Charter. He was co-author of 'Delegated Legislation in India' and 'Disciplinary Proceedings against Government Servants'. He also published a pamphlet on the Fifteenth and Sixteenth Constitutional Amendments and penned several articles in Telugu.

Shri K. Narayana Rao passed away on 3 March, 2002 at Srikakulam, Andhra Pradesh at the age of 73.

Shri Surendra Jha Suman was a Member of Sixth Lok Sabha from 1977 to 1979 representing Darbhanga Parliamentary Constituency of Bihar.

An able Parliamentarian, Shri Suman was a Member of the Committee on Official Language during 1977-78 and the Committee on Absence of Members from the Sittings of the House during 1978.

Earlier, Shri Suman was a Member of Bihar Legislative Assembly from 1972 to 1975. He was also a Member of Darbhanga Municipality for ten years.

A man of letters, Shri Suman was a journalist, teacher and writer. He authored about forty books in Maithili and was also the Editor of various publications and books in Maithili, Sanskrit and Hindi. He served the Governing Bodies of various literary and academic institutions in different capacities in his State. He was also the recipient of Sahitya Akademy Award in 1971.

Shri Surendra Jha Suman passed away on 5 March, 2002 at Darbhanga, Bihar at the age of 89.

Shri Shankar Lal Sharma was a Member of Eighth Lok Sabha during 1988-89 representing Pali Parliamentary Constituency of Rajasthan.

Earlier, Shri Sharma was a Member of Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha from 1957 to 1962 and 1967 to 1980 representing Rajapur, Jaitaran and Pali Assembly Constituencies of Rajasthan.

Shri Sharma was also a Member of Commission for Other Backward Classes of Rajasthan.

Shri Shankar Lal Sharma passed away on 30 March, 2002 at Pali, Rajasthan at the age of 79.

We deeply mourn the loss of these friends and I am sure the House would join me in conveying our condolences to the bereaved families.

The House may now stand in silence for a short while as a mark of respect to the memory of the departed souls.

11.10hrs.

(The Members then stood in silence for a short while.)

MR. DEPUTY-SPEAKER: Matters under Rule 377 listed for the day will be treated as laid on the Table of the House.