## PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA \*\*\*\*

191

## ARJUNA AWARDS FOR 19

New Delhi, <u>Vaisakha 10, 1899</u> APRIL 30, 1977

Ninetee n outstanding sportesmen and sportsmomen have been selected for Arjuna Awards for the year 1975. Their names are as follows:-

1. Athletics:	1. Shri Hari Chand
	2. Kumari V. Anusuya Bai
2. Badminton:	3. Shri Devinder Ahuja
3. Ball Badminton:	4. Shri L.A. Iqbal
4. Cricket:	5. Shri Sunil M. Gavaskar
5. Basketball:	6. Shri Hanuman Singh
6. Cycling:	7. Shri Amar Singh
7. Golf:	8. Shri S.K. Jamshed
8. Hockey (Men):	9. Shri B.P. Govinda
9. Hockey (Women):	10. KumariRupa Saini
10. Gymnastic:	11. Shri Mantu Debnath
11. Kho-Kho:	12. Kumari Usha Vasant Nagarkar
	13. Shri Srirang Janardhan Inamdar
12. Polo:	14. Major V.P. Singh
13. Volleyball:	15. Shri Ranvir Singh
	16. Kumari K.C. Elamma
14. Weightlifting:	17. Shri Dalbir Singh
15. Swimming:	18. Shri M.S. Rana
	19. Kumari Smita Desai
The selections have been	made by the Government of India

on the recommendation of the All-India Council of Sports.

So far, 165 awards have been given. These awards were instituted in 1961.

In 1965, a special team award was given to the successful Indian Everest Expedition Team of 20 members. SF/MLS