## PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

GOVERIMENT ANNOUNCES AWARDS FOR SPORT , PERSONS

New Delhi: Shravana 23,

August 14, 1

....2

The Ministry of Human Resource Development (Departmen of Youth Affairs & Sports) has announced the following awards for sportpersons on the eve of Independence Day today:

### 1. RAJIV GANDHI KHEL RATNA AWARD.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, instituted in  $\lambda$ , is given for the most spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson in year. The award carries a cash amount of Rs.1 lake besides a Scroll of honour and a plaque. For the yea 1994-95, the Award was given to Ms.K.Malleswari renowned Weightlifter.

For the year 1995-96, the Award is to be given to Ms. N.Kunjurani, Weightlifter, and for the year 1996-97 the Award is to be given to Shri Leader Peas, Tennis player.

#### 2. DRONACHARYA AWARD

Dronacharya Award, instituted in 1985, honour eminent coaches who have sucessfully traine sportspersons or teams and enabled them to achiev outstanding results in international events during the three years preceeding the Awards. This Award is also given to those coaches who have made a life-time contribution towards the promotion of sports standards in the country.

For the year 1996, Dronacharya Award to be given to the following coaches :

- 1. Shri Pal Singh Sandhu, Weightlifting
- 2. Shri Wilson Jones, Billiards & Snookers.

The Award carries a cash prize of Rs.75,000/- a statuette of Dronacharya and a scroll.

#### 3. ARJUNA AWARD

Arjuna Award was instituted in the year 1961 to honour outstanding sportspersons. The Awards are also a symbol of recognition of their contribution in the field of sports. The Awards are given every year to outstanding sportspersons for consistently excellent performance at the National and International levels and for showing the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and sense of discipline.

....31

ii) The following sportspersons have been selected for the honour of Arjuna Award for the year 1996:-

Shri Ajit Bhaduria, Athletics 1. Ms.Padmini Thomas ,Athletics 2. 3. Shri Raj Kumar Sangwan, Boxing Shri Anthony Maria Irudayan, Carrom 4. 5. Shri Javagal Srinath, Cricket Shri Amit K.Luthra, Golf 6. Shri A.B.Subbaiah, Hockey 7. 8. Shri Ashish Kumar Ballal, Hockey Ms.Poonam Chopra, Judo 9. Shri Shriram Bhavsar, Kabaddi 10. Ms.Neeta M.Dadwe, Kabaddi 11. Shri Surender Singh Waldia, Rowing 12. Shri Moraad A.Khan, Shooting 13. Shri V.Kutraleeshwaran, Swimming 14. Shri Gaurav Nandu Natekar, Tennis 15. 16. Late Lt.Commander Kelly S.Rao , Ya\_ching (Posthumously)

b) In the Physically handicapped category, the following have been selected for the Arjuna Award -

...4/-

Shri Sandeep Singh Dhillon, Badminton.
Shri Kalle Gowda, Athletics and Cricket

iii) The Award carries a cash prize of Rs.50,000/-, a bronze statued of Arjunc and a scroll.

# 4. MAULANA ABUL KALAM AZAD TROPHY

The Association of India Universities(AIU) makes recommendations to the Department every year for award of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy to the University winning Ist position in the inter-university tournament. For the year 1995-96, the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy is to be awarded to the Punjab University, Chandigarh which has won the Ist position, by the President of India in a glittering function likely to be held on 29th August, 1997. Apart from the main trophy, the University is also to be given a cash prize of Rs.50,000/- and a Replica of the Trophy. The cash prize is to be utilised by the University for the purchase of sports equipment.

....5/ -

The 2nd and 3rd positions have been won by the Delhi University, Delhi and Guru Nanak University, Amritsar respectively. These Universities will be given cash prize; of Rs.25,000/- and Rs.10,000/- respectively to be utilised for the purchase of sports equipment.

N.B.:- In connection with conferment of the above Awards, all the Awardees are requested to contact immediately Sh.S.K.Panda, Director(Sports) in R.No.530, 'C' Wing, Department of Youth Affairs & Sports, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi (Phone -3384072) or Shri Sanjeev Dubey, Dy.Secretary (Sports) in R.No.524, 'C' wing, Deptt. of Youth Affairs & Sports, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi (Phone.3381185).

VJ/MN/NSR 337/5 14/8/97 1810HRS.