IEEE INTERNET AWARD

RECIPIENTS

2013 - DAVID MILLS

Adjunct Professor, University of Delaware, Newark, DE, USA

"For significant leadership and sustained contributions in the research, development, standardization, and deployment of quality time synchronization capabilities for the Internet."

2012 - MARK HANDLEY
Professor of Networked Systems,
Department of Computer Science,
University College London,
London, United Kingdom

"For contributions to Internet multicast, telephony, congestion control and the shaping of open Internet standards and open-source systems in all these areas."

2011 - JUN MURAI

Dean and Professor, Faculty of
Environment and Information
Studies, Keio University,
Kanagawa, Japan

"For his leadership in the development and deployment of the global Internet, especially across the Asia-Pacific region."

2010 – STEPHEN DEERING Cisco Fellow (Retired) West Vancouver, BC, Canada "For foundational contributions to the development of IP Multicast and IP version 6."

2009 – LIXIA ZHANG Professor, Computer Science Dept. Univ of California at Los Angele Los Angeles, CA, USA "For contributions toward an understanding of the complex interactions between Internet components and the developer of the Internet architecture."

2008 - MICHAEL BRESCIA BBN Technologies Senior Scientist, Arlington, MA, USA "For pioneering work in the development of the first Internet routers"

AND

VIRGINIA TRAVERS
BBN Technologies, Principal
Investigator, Arlington, MA, USA

AND

ROBERT HINDEN Nokia Chief Internet Technologist, and Chief Technical Officer Palo Alto, CA, USA

2007 - NOT AWARDED

2006 - SCOTT SHENKER - Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA

"For contributions towards an understanding of resource sharing on the Internet."

RECIPIENTS

2005 – SALLY FLOYD
Senior Scientist
ICSI Center for Internet Research
Berkeley, CA, USA

"For contributions to the Internet architecture, particularly in the areas of congestion control, traffic modeling, and active queue management."

2004 – RAYMOND TOMLINSON Principal Engineer BBN Technologies Cambridge, MA, USA "For their key roles in the conceptualization, first implementation, and standardization of networked email."

AND

DAVID H. CROCKER Principal Brandenburg Consulting Sunnyvale, CA, USA

2003 - PAUL V. MOCKAPETRIS Nominium, Redwood City, CA, USA

2002 - STEPHEN D. CROCKER CEO, Longitude Systems, Inc. Chantilly, Virginia, USA

2001 - LOUIS H. POUZIN
Professor, Technology
THESEUS
Sopia, Antopolis, France

"For the design and initial implementation of the domain name system in collaboration with the late Jon Postel."

"For leadership in creation of key elements in open evolution of Internet protocols: Network Working Group, Request for Comments process and layered protocol approaches."

"For his pioneering development and effective advocacy of datagram networking, the technology that enabled the rapid, inexpensive, decentralized expansion of the Internet."

IEEE INTERNET AWARD RECIPIENTS

2000 - PAUL BARAN

Chairman of the Board, Com21,

Inc.

Atherton, CA, USA

AND

DONALD W. DAVIES Private Consultant Middlesex, United Kingdom

AND

LEONARD KLEINROCK Professor, University of California Los Angeles, CA, USA

AND

LAWRENCE ROBERTS Founder, Chairman & CTO Caspian Networks, Inc. Palo Alto, CA, USA "For their early, preeminent contributions in conceiving, analyzing and demonstrating packet switching networks, the foundation technology of the Internet."