## **AERA NEWS**

**American Educational Research Association** 

www.aera.net

1430 K St., NW, Suite 1200, Washington DC 20005

(202) 238-3200

For Immediate Release

## AERA Honors 31 New Fellows for Outstanding Education Research Accomplishments

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 3, 2011 – The American Educational Research Association (AERA) announces the selection of 31 scholars to be AERA Fellows in recognition of their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

The AERA Fellows are known both nationally and internationally for their outstanding contributions to education research. Through the Fellows Program, the Association aims to convey its commitment to excellence in research and to underscore to new scholars the importance of sustained research contributions in the field.

In announcing the new Fellows, AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine applauded these education researchers for their substantive and sustaining scholarship. "The Class of 2011 Fellows continues this professional society's strong commitment to sound and rigorous research on education and learning that advances knowledge and thereby serves the public good."

These Fellows will be inducted on Saturday, April 9, 2011, during AERA's 92nd Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. It is the Association's expectation that Fellows will be visibly engaged in important AERA programs and activities and that they will serve as models and mentors to the next generation of scholars long into the future for the field.

The Fellows designation is a high honor of the Association. Nominated by peers, selected by the Fellows Program Committee, and approved by the AERA Council, the new AERA Fellows are:

Michael Apple, University of Wisconsin, Madison W. Steven Barnett, Rutgers University Muriel Bebeau, University of Minnesota Estela Bensimon, University of Southern California David Bloome, The University of Ohio Dominic Brewer, University of Southern California Cheryl Craig, University of Houston Christopher Dede, Harvard University Mary Futrell, The George Washington University Patricia Gandara, University of California, Los Angeles David Hansen, Teachers College, Columbia University Elfrieda Hiebert, University of California, Berkeley Sylvia Hurtado, University of California, Los Angeles Jonathan Jansen, University of the Free State Mary Kennedy, Michigan State University Carol Lee, Northwestern University Henry Levin, Teachers College, Columbia University Barbara Means, SRI International Anna Neumann, Teachers College, Columbia University Sonia Nieto, University of Massachusetts, Amherst Michael Olivas, University of Houston Randall Penfield, University of Miami Robert Pianta, University of Virginia Viviane Robinson, University of Auckland Karen Seashore Louis, University of Minnesota Walter Secada, University of Miami William Tate, Washington University in St. Louis John Tippeconnic, Arizona State University Theo Wubbels, Utrecht University Steven Yussen, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Bruno Zumbo, University of British Columbia

The AERA Fellows Program inducted 67 scholars in 2010, 44 scholars in 2009, and initially launched with 360 Inaugural Fellows in 2008.

The call for nominations for 2012 Fellows will open in summer 2011. For details and a complete list of fellows, please visit the AERA Web site, <u>www.aera.net</u>

-AERA-

To reach AERA Communications, call (202)238-3200; Helaine Patterson (hpatterson@aera.net) or Lucy Cunningham (lcunningham@aera.net).

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the national interdisciplinary research association for approximately 25,000 scholars who undertake research in education. Founded in 1916, AERA aims to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.