

The IET Achievement Medals have been awarded to individuals since 1987 and to individuals in specific engineering sectors since 2007.

2020

Professor Sean Gong
Professor Margaret Lucas
Dr Paul Needham
Professor Molly Stevens
Dr Mallik Tatipamula

IET Achievement Medal for Vision Engineering
IET Achievement Medal for Ultrasonic Technology
Viscount Nuffield Silver Medal for Manufacturing
IET Achievement Medal for Biomedical Engineering
IET Achievement Medal for Telecommunications

2019

Dr Michael Burrows IET Achievement Medal for Computer Engineering
Terrie Smith IET Achievement Medal for Financial Technology
Dr Richard Soref IET Achievement Medal for Silicon Photonics
Aruna Sundararajan IET Achievement Medal for Telecommunications

2018

Dr Paul Gosling IET Achievement Medal for Sonar Engineering

Professor Adrian Hilton IET Achievement Medal for Computer Vision Engineering

Professor Nabeel Riza IET Achievement Medal for Photonics

Professor Alex Yakovlev IET Achievement Medal for Wireless Communications

2017

Dr William Drury

Kevin T Foster

Professor Hugh Griffiths

Professor Gareth Hankins

Professor Andreas F Molisch

IET Achievement Medal for Broadband Innovation

IET Achievement Medal for Radar Engineering

Viscount Nuffield Silver Medal for Manufacturing

IET Achievement Medal for Wireless Communications

2016

Dr Michael Aldred IET Achievement Medal in the field of Robotics
Professor Moeness G Amin
Dr John A Frangos IET Achievement Medal for Radar and Signal Processing
IET Achievement Medal for Bioengineering
Viscount Nuffield Silver Medal for Manufacturing

Professor Andy Neely
Professor Mark Williams

IET Achievement Medal for Bloengheering
Viscount Nuffield Silver Medal for Manufacturing
IET Achievement Medal for Forensic Engineering

2015

Rachel Hurst Viscount Nuffield Silver Medal for Manufacturing

Professor David Hutchins
Dr R T Logan Jr
Dr R Sham
IET Achievement Medal

2014

Dr Alfonso Farina

Keith Hayler

Professor Bahram Jalali

Professor Barrie Mecrow

Professor Alan Murray

IET Achievement Medal

IET Achievement Medal

IET Achievement Medal

IET Achievement Medal

2013

Professor Barry Evans Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Information and

Communications

Richard Sadler Professor Graham T Reed Christopher Hadfield Professor Christopher James Coales Medal for Achievement in Transport Crompton Medal for Achievement in Energy Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement in any field of Engineering and Technology 2012

Paul Kane Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Information and

Communications

Dr Robert Pleming

Professor Ramesh Agarwal

Dr Meyya Meyyappan

Coales Medal for Achievement in Transport Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control

Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement in any field of Engineering

and Technology

2011

Professor T Rappaport Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement in Engineering and

Technology

Professor C Christopoulos Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Information and

Communications

Adrian Newey Coales Medal for Achievement in Transport

John Armitt Sarah Guppy Medal for Achievement in the Built Environment

2010

Professor Ron Hui Crompton Medal for Achievement in Power

Professor Erol Gelenbe Oliver Lodge Medal for Achievement in Information Technology

Dr Keith Ward

Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement in Engineering and

Technology

Professor Vincent Poor Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Communications

Dr Christopher Jones Coales Medal for Achievement in Transport

2009

Harbans Bajai Crompton Medal for Achievement in Power

Professor Anthony Finkelstein Oliver Lodge Medal for Achievement in Information Technology

Professor Petros Ioannou Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control

Robert Shanks Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement in Engineering and

Technology

Professor Chai Keong Toh

William Wright

Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Communications

Coales Medal for Achievement in Transport

2008

Professor Michael J Grimble Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control

Professor Lajos Hanzo Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement in Engineering and

Technology

David Ogden Oliver Lodge Medal for Achievement in Information Technology

John G P Scott Crompton Medal for Achievement in Power

Brijendra K Syngal Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Communications

2007

Professor Ralph Benjamin Oliver Lodge Medal for Achievement in IT

Professor Simon Kingsley Ambrose Fleming Medal for Achievement in Communications

Jim Morrison IET Achievement Medal

Professor Ian Postlethwaite Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control

Dr Ashitey Trebi-Ollennu Sir Monty Finniston Award for Outstanding Technical Contribution

2006 2005

Professor John Billingsley
Professor Antonios Constantinides

Dr Anthony Hooley
Professor Peter Stoica

Eur Ing Professor lickho Song Dr Asad Madni

Dr Pavel Belov Professor V Radhakrishnan Professor Brian Davies



2004

Professor Kevin Warwick Mr Christoper T Bartlett Professor Bernard Weiss Professor Ljubo Vlacic Dr Alain Bossavit

2003

Professor Yong Yan Dr Greg Yurek Professor S Ravi Silva Professor John O'Reilly Dr Fulvio Gini

2002

Mr N Azarmi Professor J Kittler Mr P J Walker Dr L T Falkingham

2001

Dr Ian K Proudler Professor Michael Laughton

2000

Eurlng Professor D W Clarke Professor N R Jennings Professor I Alexsander Professor S Williamson Dr B P Kibble

1999

Dr G F Turnbull Dr S G Goodhart Professor P T Kirstein Dr B J Cory Professor Gordon Jones

1998

Professor C J Harris Dr M P Henry Mr M Jackson Mr S Parsons Sir Martin Wood Dr H Khatib Professor J E Allen

1997

Dr J McWha Professor K J Hunt Mr T Preston Dr J M M Neilson

1996

Mr I Barron Dr M Lynch Mr R Schild Prof D J Tedford Mr M Bertioli

1995

Prof D Michie
Dr J Pendlebury
Prof D J Allan
Dr C J Carpenter

1994

Dr J M Taylor Mr J R Thompson Dr J D Ainsworth T Morgan Mr P M Clifford

1993

Mr M Thomas Mr D G Jefferies Professor B Mellitt Professor P N T Wells

1992

Professor A G J MacFarlane Mr N E Martensson Professor E R Laithwaite Professor C W Trowbridge

1991

Mr R Wilmott
Dr J G Doherty
Eurlng G Orawski
Professor F A Benson

1990

Dr J Parnaby Mr F W T Davenport P Hammond

1989

Dr R G Bennetts Dr R J Harding Dr M J Jackson, Dr R Hawley, Dr A C Lynch joint award 1988

Professor H H Rosenbrock Professor J D Rhodes Mr A Gavrilovic Professor J F Eastham 1987

Mr B W Oakley Professor A B J Reece Professor J M Meek, Professor J D Craggs, Professor H Edels – joint award