

WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION

34, chemin des Colombettes, P.O. Box 18, CH-1211 Geneva 20 (Switzerland)

‡ (41-22) 338 91 11 – Facsimile (International Trademark Registry): (41-22) 740 14 29

e-mail: intreg.mail@wipo.int – Internet: http://www.wipo.int

MADRID AGREEMENT CONCERNING THE INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION OF MARKS AND PROTOCOL RELATING TO THAT AGREEMENT

Accession by the Kingdom of Bhutan

- 1. On May 4, 2000, the Kingdom of Bhutan deposited with the Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) its instruments of accession to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks of April 14, 1891, as revised at Stockholm on July 14, 1967, and amended on September 28, 1979 ("the Madrid Agreement") and to the Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks ("the Madrid Protocol"), adopted at Madrid on June 27, 1989. The Madrid Agreement and the Madrid Protocol will enter into force, with respect to the Kingdom of Bhutan, on August 4, 2000.
- 2. The instrument of accession to the Madrid Agreement was accompanied by the following declaration:
- under Article 3bis(1) of the Madrid Agreement, protection resulting from an international registration shall extend to the Kingdom of Bhutan only at the express request of the proprietor of the mark.
- 3. The accession of Bhutan to the Madrid Agreement and the Protocol brings the number of members of the Madrid Union to 65 (20 party to the Madrid Agreement only, 13 party to the Protocol only and 32 party to both the Agreement and the Protocol). They are Albania, Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam and Yugoslavia.
- 4. Information on the dates on which these States became party to the Madrid Agreement and the Protocol as well as declarations made under these two treaties is available under the heading "status of ratifications" on the Madrid System page on WIPO's website at the following address: http://www.wipo.int/eng/main.htm.