

Waimakariri District Council

2019 Triennial Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT

The final result for the Waimakariri District Council elections held on Saturday 12th October is as follows.

Mayor		Votes Received
GORDON, Dan		6,615
WILLIAMS, Paul SANDERSON, Oliver BARNETT, Kirstyn BRINE, Robbie DOODY, Wendy BATE, Michael Joseph LEARY, Natalie Michelle	linking community with council Independent	3,903 3,041 1,911 1,822 1,016 726 371
WEBB, Jay INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS	Independent	277 52 185
Dan GORDON is declared elected.		
Oxford-Ohoka Ward (2 vacancies))	Votes Received
MEALINGS, Niki DOODY, Wendy		1,936 1,677

ROBSON, Thomas	1,569
FELSTEAD, Kevin	1,523
INFORMAL	6
BLANK VOTING PAPERS	148

Wendy DOODY and Niki MEALINGS are declared elected.

Rangiora-Ashley Ward (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
* GORDON, Dan (Withdrawn) WARD, Joan BARNETT, Kirstyn WILLIAMS, Paul BRINE, Robbie	linking community with council	5,037 4,380 4,342 4,323 3,674
FRASER, Peter ALLAN-JOHNS, Andrew GOLDSWORTHY, Jason WEBB, Jay STAPYLTON-SMITH, Miles	Independent Independent Independent Independent	2,196 1,839 1,750 1,259 1,061
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		21 206

Kirstyn BARNETT, Robbie BRINE, Joan WARD and Paul WILLIAMS are declared elected.

Kaiapoi-Woodend Ward (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
REDMOND, Philip BLACKIE, Al STEWART, Sandra ATKINSON, Neville	Independent	2,932 2,827 2,749 2,402
POWELL, Shona CAIRNS, Brent PINKHAM, Martin BATE, Michael Joseph LEARY, Natalie KEETLEY, Russell	Independent	2,179 2,102 2,094 1,515 1,469 1,336
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		27 295

Neville ATKINSON, AI BLACKIE, Philip REDMOND and Sandra STEWART are declared elected.

Woodend-Sefton Community Board (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
POWELL, Shona THOMPSON, Andrew PATERSON, Mark ARCHER, John ALLEN, Andrea		1,416 1,337 1,200 1,173 1,145
GRIGG, Nicola	Independent	716
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 200

Andrea ALLEN, John ARCHER, Mark PATERSON, Shona POWELL and Andrew THOMPSON are declared elected.

Kaiapoi-Tuahiwi Community Board (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
* STEWART, Sandra (Withdrawn) GREENGRASS, Chris * BLACKIE, AI (Withdrawn) * REDMOND, Philip (Withdrawn) WATSON, Jackie MEYER, John PINKHAM, Martin CAIRNS, Brent	Independent	2,115 2,079 2,069 2,064 1,788 1,626 1,563 1,555
MILLWARD, Cassandra KEETLEY, Russell HUISMAN, Daniel	Independent	1,205 1,160 742
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		8 170

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

Brent CAIRNS, Chris GREENGRASS, John MEYER, Martin PINKHAM and Jackie WATSON are declared elected.

Oxford Subdivision of Oxford-Ohoka Community Board (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
ROBSON, Thomas FARRELL, Shirley BROWN, Mark	Independent	1,267 1,263 1,010
COLEMAN, Phillip		763
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		0 71

Mark BROWN, Shirley FARRELL and Thomas ROBSON are declared elected.

Ashley Subdivision of Rangiora-Ashley Community Board (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
* BARNETT, Kirstyn (Withdrawn) WELLS, Andrew LUNDY, Duncan HARRIS, Morris	linking community with council	1,152 1,051 1,038 956
PRICKETT, Chris MILLER, Greg		683 549
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		7 206

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

Morris HARRIS, Duncan LUNDY and Andrew WELLS are declared elected.

Rangiora Subdivision of Rangiora-Ashley Community Board (5 vacancies)		Votes Received
GERARD, Jim LEWIS, Sarah * BRINE, Robbie (Withdrawn) FLEMING, Monique CLARKE, Murray GOLDSWORTHY, Jason		3,793 3,714 3,100 2,857 2,856 2,374
ALLAN-JOHNS, Andrew GALLOWAY, Keith STAPYLTON-SMITH, Miles	Independent Independent	2,195 1,781 1,417
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		5 473

(*Section 88A of the Local Electoral Act provides that if a person is declared to be elected as a member of the council, and that person is also declared to be elected as a member of a community board, that person must be treated as having vacated office as a member of the community board.)

Murray CLARKE, Monique FLEMING, Jim GERARD, Jason GOLDSWORTHY and Sarah LEWIS are declared elected.

Ohoka-Swannanoa Subdivision of Oxford-Ohoka Community Board (3 vacancies) Votes Received

HARPUR, Ray	1,067
NICHOLL, Doug	1,026
BARKLE, Sarah	1,014
LYNN, John	959

Sarah BARKLE, Ray HARPUR and Doug NICHOLL are declared elected.

The voter return was 46.46%, being 19,692 votes, excluding special votes.

Anthony Morton Electoral Officer Waimakariri District Council 17 October 2019