

Educational Policy & Curriculum Committee (EPCC)

Committee Charge

The Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee (EPCC) has responsibility for the oversight and conduct of the four-year MD curriculum (including both preclerkship curricula – Pathways and HST) and educational policies for the MD program at Harvard Medical School.

Committee Selection

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest, a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend at least 2/3 of committee meetings. Faculty member nominees are vetted by the EPCC and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote. Student members of the EPCC are selected through a separate student-driven nomination process.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Educational Policy & Curriculum Committee: Faculty are qualified to serve on the EPCC if they have been very involved, usually in leadership positions, in the medical student education program at HMS. Faculty who serve in major teaching roles in courses and clerkships, who serve as formal mentors and advisors to large numbers of medical students, or who serve as core assessment faculty are encouraged to apply.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1 year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year), or may be renewed for a second 3-year term. To maintain continuity and stability within standing committees, and to leverage valued expertise acquired through longer service, service may be extended beyond two 3-year terms for a proportion of the committee at the discretion of the Dean and with approval of the Faculty Council. Other committee members serve based on their current administrative title.

Committee Members AY 2020-2021

Chairperson: Dr. Edward M. Hundert

Ex Officio: Ms. Jane Neill Dr. Jennifer Potter Dr. Anthony D'Amico Dr. Robert Mayer Ms. Michele Cohn Ms. Carolyn Wood Ms. Terese Galuszka Dr. Regina Mitchell Ms. Elaine Martin Ms. Monica Parker-James Dr. Barbara Cockrill Dr. Sang Park Mr. David Bozzi Ms. Julia Connolly

Updated January 2021



Committee Members:	Dr. Randall King (2022) Dr. Katherine O'Donnell (2023) Dr. Fernando Rodriguez-Villa (2021)	Dr. Leigh Simmons (2022) Dr. Douglas Smink (2023)
Other Committee Members:	Dr. Meredith Atkins Dr. Bernard Chang Dr. John Dalrymple Dr. Sara Fazio Dr. Susan Farrell Dr. Wolfram Goessling Dr. David Hirsh	Dr. Jeffrey Katz Dr. Daniel Kuritzkes Dr. Eli Miloslavsky Dr. Richard Mitchell Dr. Andrea Reid Dr. Fidencio Saldaña Dr. Richard Schwartzstein
Student Representatives:	Grace Cavanaugh (HMS 2024) <i>-alternate: Aisha Oshilaja (HMS 2024)</i> Rhea Malik (HMS 2023) Carlos Dos Santos (HMS 2023) Sarina Madhavan (HMS 2022)	Julia Hiserodt (HMS 2021) <i>-alternate: Rachel Acker (HMS 2021)</i> Adam Berger (HST/MD-PhD) <i>-alternate: Nicole Gilette (</i> HST/MD-PhD)
Also invited:	PCE Directors not otherwise voting members	